Old 5th August 2019, 18:15   #61

re: Scoop! Jeep Wrangler to launch with 2.0L petrol engine - Now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh (ex-Delhi)

No, you are right. There is a difference if you have to buy something when you are convinced and the scenario where you are simply comparing with other options in which case you consider a lot of things. I think Germans have set Diesel benchmark very high. There is practically nil difference between Petrol/ Diesel or on the contrary, the kick from Diesel, especially from BMW, is even better than Petrol.

I read that V8 quote as well but am not sure if its a paid Auto talk or actual so will reserve my views till we get something here. I hope you must be in touch with Fiat guys privately, do update us when are they delivering your Jeep

Any confirmation on 2 Doors or will they launch only unlimited
The German diesels are truly enjoyable. I love the inline 6 diesel in the X5. Of course it would be great to have the 3 liter eco diesel that's in FCA's pipeline available for the Wrangler already.

The Wrangler isn't a vehicle that does well for cross shopping. In most parameters that it's price point rivals compete at, it does much worse - Fuel economy, aerodynamics, NVH levels, handling, comfort, interior space. I guess most people that would buy it are already convinced, or they wouldn't consider it at all.

But my point about fuel economy is that Americans who can only afford it at the American price (1/3rd our price) don't complain much about its fuel economy, and don't allow that figure to change their purchase decision. It seems funny to me that someone here who can afford the Indian price would complain about it. Even granting that gas here is more expensive (slightly).

Last edited by suneel : 5th August 2019 at 18:17.
suneel is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th August 2019, 23:47   #62

Re: 2018 Jeep Wrangler spotted in India

Saw the Jeep Wrangler in person today near to the Nashik Phata. Guys, I was just awestruck looking at that. The presence and the stance is just awesome.
Those huge wheel arches and the meaty tires along with those slats, just gives the jeep the much needed road presence and command.

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-img_20190807_121941145_hdr.jpg

Notice the tiny red jeep ?

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-img_20190807_121907855.jpg

I am a Jeep Scale model collector and today by looking at this masterpiece. I am just speechless.

Its another story that the driver doing the test, needs to be advised to drive sensibly on roads though and not to head onto incoming traffic lane.
Majumdarda is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 8th August 2019, 13:59   #63

re: Scoop! Jeep Wrangler to launch with 2.0L petrol engine - Now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh (ex-Delhi)

Got some information. They are launching only Unlimited in Petrol ( 4 Door) @ around 62 Lac. This is from a known contact but won't know for sure if Jeep has some other strategy. Given the recent launches of Trail variant of the compass, I guess, this information should be correct.
Turbanator is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 8th August 2019, 14:08   #64

Got some information. They are launching only Unlimited in Petrol ( 4 Door) @ around 62 Lac. This is from a known contact but won't know for sure if Jeep has some other strategy. Given the recent launches of Trail variant of the compass, I guess, this information should be correct.
That's great news! Thanks for the update. It's definitely a little cheaper than a lot of us were expecting.

Did you get any information on trims/variants, options?

I think it's strange that they extensively tested the two door here but woundn't launch it. Seems like a waste of resources.
Old 8th August 2019, 14:25   #65

Originally Posted by suneel View Post
It's definitely a little cheaper than a lot of us were expecting.
As per my contact, only One variant and prices are as told to Dealer principal (approximate). The old one was around 58 and they have not revised prices since launch in 2017. This one is going to be fully loaded including Car play and Remote starter

I was really hoping that they bring 2 Door, if I am not mistaken they had tested 2 Door at the time of launch of the previous generation but never launched.

Let's see if they can get some accessories as well and we can convert to something like
The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-whatsapp-image-20190808-2.17.31-pm.jpeg  

Last edited by Turbanator : 8th August 2019 at 14:28.
Turbanator is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th August 2019, 17:08   #66

To be revealed tomorrow (as per their YouTube channel)

Last edited by jailbird_fynix : 8th August 2019 at 17:10.
jailbird_fynix is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th August 2019, 19:20   #67

Jeep Wrangler now on sale in India at Rs 63.94 lakh (ex-Delhi)

Feature list on the new All New Wrangler will be - 8.4-inch infotainment with Apple Car Play & Android Auto, weather-proof Burton start, plenty of black leather, a 7.0-inch digital display in the instrument cluster and the latest U Connect and more.
The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-ebiflmaw4auhhzn.jpg

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-2.jpg

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-1.jpg

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-3.jpg

Source: Twitter( launch event)

Last edited by volkman10 : 9th August 2019 at 19:24.
volkman10 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 9th August 2019, 19:20   #68

Pics from the event -

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-screenshot_20190809191703059.jpeg

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-screenshot_20190809191412465.jpeg

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-screenshot_20190809191343844.jpeg

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-screenshot_20190809191338325.jpeg

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-screenshot_20190809190157501.jpeg

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-screenshot_20190809185951663.jpeg

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-screenshot_20190809185925867.jpeg

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-screenshot_20190809185904204.jpeg

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-screenshot_20190809185831579.jpeg

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-screenshot_20190809185708810.jpeg

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-screenshot_20190809185640744.jpeg

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-screenshot_20190809185627192.jpeg

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-screenshot_20190809185537836.jpeg

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-screenshot_20190809185521674.jpeg

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-screenshot_20190809185405586.jpeg
jailbird_fynix is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th August 2019, 19:27   #69

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Jeep Wrangler now on sale in India at Rs 63.94 lakh (ex-Delhi)
Did they announce pricing at the venue? Could not see on the webcast or missed.

Here's the brochure, they have updated the website promptly.
File Type: pdf All-New-Wrangler-Brochure.pdf (2.74 MB, 138 views)
Turbanator is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th August 2019, 19:33   #70

Did they announce pricing at the venue? Could not see on the webcast or missed.
Was a webcast . All mag. portals have the updates.

Old 9th August 2019, 19:42   #71

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Was a webcast . All mag. portals have the updates.
Yes, I did watch for a while but could not see the prices. Maybe they gave to the reporters. It's on a higher side considering the segment it operates overseas but few lakhs here or there should not be an issue for the guys who are looking for Exclusivity.

I don't think anyone is going to buy Jeep for Off-Roading here and has Okayish road manners so it just gives you the snob value.
Old 9th August 2019, 21:59   #72

It appears they have launched a specially configured vehicle for us, say Sahara with options or Moab without some but not Rubicon as originally was in the news. The specs sheet does not mention anything about locking differential and some other off-road stuff specific to Rubicon.

Will know for sure soon but if that’s the case then a lame effort to please guys who want something to show off, not that majority of owners would have bought it for Off-roading as a primary use but would have certainly helped to bring more customers.

Edit - Just googled - It has a Selec-Trac Full Time 4wd System - this appears to be standard on Moab Edition or exclusive option on Sahara but Not on Rubicon

The Sahara also has the exclusive option of a new Selec-Trac full-time four-wheel-drive system that allows drivers to put their Wrangler in a “set-it-and-forget-it” automatic mode that drives all the wheels, all the time. The system is not available on the Sport or Rubicon but is standard on the new limited-edition Moab trim

https://www.cars.com/articles/which-...1420728393641/

It will be a seller for all the soccer moms and dads out there that never wheel there Jeep. Not having to pull a lever and be able to have it adjust on the fly will be the selling point to them

https://jlwrangler.com/showthread.ph...4WD-Yea-or-Nay
The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-whatsapp-image-20190809-10.00.41-pm.jpeg  

Last edited by Turbanator : 9th August 2019 at 22:20.
Turbanator is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th August 2019, 22:50   #73

Will know for sure soon but if that’s the case then a lame effort to please guys who want something to show off, not that majority of owners would have bought it for Off-roading as a primary use but would have certainly helped to bring more customers.

Edit - Just googled - It has a Selec-Trac Full Time 4wd System - this appears to be standard on Moab Edition or exclusive option on Sahara but Not on Rubicon

The Sahara also has the exclusive option of a new Selec-Trac full-time four-wheel-drive system that allows drivers to put their Wrangler in a “set-it-and-forget-it” automatic mode that drives all the wheels, all the time. The system is not available on the Sport or Rubicon but is standard on the new limited-edition Moab trim

It will be a seller for all the soccer moms and dads out there that never wheel there Jeep. Not having to pull a lever and be able to have it adjust on the fly will be the selling point to them
It looks great! Can't wait to get my hands on one!

Would it have been perfect if India got a Rubicon? Yes, but this is the next best Wrangler spec we could have possibly hoped for. A Moab with dual top, Selec-Trac and all the other bells and whistles is literally the next most expensive and desirable Wrangler spec that exists. It's certainly better than a Sahara, Sport plus or Sport! If they had brought down a Sport and tried selling that at this price I would agree that it's a lame effort to shortchange Indian customers.

I also think that this claim that any Wrangler that isn't a Rubicon is only appealing to soccer moms and dads, or showoffs, is a little extreme. The Wrangler's offroad capabilities primarily boils down to the solid axles, the low range gear box and the geometry. Locking diffs are great for hardcore rock crawling but definitely not a necessity to offroad! And also an important point to note, every single Wrangler comes with a locking center differential (when in 4 Low mode the center locks)

Most Wranglers sold aren't Rubicons for the record, and I am sure a lot of them go off road. I think good tires + the Selec trac (which has 4 L mode BTW, not only full time 4WD) on a Moab are more than enough to wreck almost every other SUV on the market off road. Maybe the G Wagon would beat it cuz of it has all 3 lockers.

Anyway I intend to take my Wrangler offroad all the time. Going off-road is a central part of my lifestlye/day to day anyway so it's nothing new. I take my current car offroad all the time but often have to park way farther than I'd like because it can't go very far off tarmac xD

Here are some pics from the Bangalore launch
The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-whatsapp-image-20190809-10.08.29-pm.jpeg  

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-whatsapp-image-20190809-10.08.30-pm.jpeg  

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-whatsapp-image-20190809-9.25.11-am.jpeg  

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-whatsapp-image-20190809-9.25.13-am.jpeg  

The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh-whatsapp-image-20190809-9.25.12-am.jpeg  

Last edited by suneel : 9th August 2019 at 22:56.
suneel is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 10th August 2019, 07:51   #74

Originally Posted by suneel View Post
Can't wait to get my hands on one!
Congratulations.

this is the next best Wrangler spec we could have possibly hoped for. A Moab with dual top, Selec-Trac and all the other bells and whistles is literally the next most expensive and desirable Wrangler spec that exists.
Correct, minus a few things or as I said, additions to the Sahara. If I am not mistaken, Jeep was always giving leather seats and Hard/ Soft Top standard here in India.

I also think that this claim that any Wrangler that isn't a Rubicon is only appealing to soccer moms and dads, or showoffs, is a little extreme.
Well, soccer mom comments were from an online forum

To me, at this price point with the given features, it appears to please specific targeted audiences- guys with money & multiple cars looking for something that shows them different from the crowd. You might be different, and I am glad that you like the specs.

I was contemplating buying one, especially after all those images of Rubicon and would have loved the locking differentials besides the other advantages of Rubicon but for me, the fantasy is over.

I intend to take my Wrangler offroad all the time. Going off-road is a central part of my lifestlye/day to day anyway so it's nothing new.

Last edited by Turbanator : 10th August 2019 at 07:57.
Turbanator is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th August 2019, 09:28   #75

Re: The 2019 Jeep Wrangler, now launched at Rs 63.94 lakh

Why so much cynicism and negativity always ? :-)

Standard responses on wrangler threads: no one will use it for off roading; this is just a toy for rich kids; soccer moms (!) etc.

I’ve seen wranglers at terratiger events here in chennai - and that’s proper off roading by any measure ! And plenty of wrangler owners I know abuse and love their jeeps. They can afford it, let them do so ?!

Last edited by reihem : 11th August 2019 at 09:33.
reihem is offline   (3) Thanks