Old 9th November 2024, 09:27   #3541

Re: The 5th-gen Honda City in India. EDIT: Review on page 62

Checked mileage in moderate city traffic over last few weeks. I am a sedate boring driver (99% of the time) and it returned a mileage figure of 15.2 kmpl. My daily route does not have crazy traffic and except for 3 signals traffic is always moving. I used to get around 13-14 kmpl normally but this time fuel was filled from JioBP pump. Not sure if fuel is the reason for increased mileage.
The 5th-gen Honda City in India. EDIT: Review on page 62-img_20241108_1844455232.jpg  

Latheesh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th November 2024, 11:14   #3542

Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post
Checked mileage in moderate city traffic over last few weeks. I am a sedate boring driver (99% of the time) and it returned a mileage figure of 15.2 kmpl. My daily route does not have crazy traffic and except for 3 signals traffic is always moving. I used to get around 13-14 kmpl normally but this time fuel was filled from JioBP pump. Not sure if fuel is the reason for increased mileage.
Is this regular fuel or high octane?
Old 11th November 2024, 00:05   #3543

Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
Is this regular fuel or high octane?
Regular. I'll fill again in few days and check the mileage to confirm.
Latheesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th November 2024, 14:53   #3544

Infractions: 0/1 (3)
Re: Our 2024 5th-Gen Honda City MT comes home!

Took the delivery on 15th afternoon from Iconic Honda Gurgaon. Delivery process was smooth, all details regarding paperwork were explained clearly. "reveal" ceremony was quick, the cake they arranged was too good, i don't eat cakes that much but it was so good that i decided to have it & take home . Felt a little sad also same time while leaving the old Freestyle in exchange, it served me well over 6 year and one lakh kms, have some really good memories with it, but it was aging quickly and now was the best for me to move up the ladder of big size car.

came back late in the night, took the car next day for Pooja. The 5th-gen Honda City in India. EDIT: Review on page 62-whatsapp-image-20241116-22.49.23.jpg

Really liking this white color very much, as much as I liked the golden brown, am happy wife pushed me for white. "White Honda City : Still the King of Sedans"

Went back to Gurgaon next day to drop off old car's RC & duplicate key (which I conveniently forgot first day to take) gave me a chance for a quick drive of 260 kms. On the highway tried the lane assist, lane departure, left side camera, rear camera, adaptive cruise, remote start.

Also was reading the manual and found out the power button on the unit also works as the mute button (this is what I saw in most videos people complaining that City doesn't have a mute button, it does people, read the manual).

Coming to the drive experience, oh my how i am liking the two-pedals driving, this is my first automatic car and as much as i was scared of the CVT being boring, it turns out am liking "D" drive mode and even liking more the "S(M)" drive mode (on Day 2 already did the redline in S(M3)).

3 days in 450ish kms done, this week will be mostly city drives home to office runs of 20-25kms, probably next week will take wife and kid for a drive again for some outing (if the famous winter NCR fog & AQI permit).

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 18th November 2024 at 15:07. Reason: Smileys = 2 per post. Please go by the rules of the forum.
MT1705 is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 18th November 2024, 15:16   #3545

Originally Posted by MT1705 View Post
Took the delivery on 15th afternoon from Iconic Honda Gurgaon.
Congratulations & welcome to the Honda tribe! And more importantly the sedan club which is a rarity these days. White does look tempting- good choice of color. Looking forward to your experiences.

See you around!
saket77 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th November 2024, 16:01   #3546

And more importantly the sedan club which is a rarity these days.
Thanks for the wishes. I was very much sure that I wanted a sedan from get go. Always have liked sedans (City specially was a target for me to own while growing up), but wife liked the "raised seating" and plus this is the trend everyone is following.

We started with the sub 4m "SUVs" which we felt were not a much of upgrade for us from a hatch in terms of size and space. Next up were the "Creta Class" SUVs, and somehow in between we went to check out XUV700 & Harrier and so the Creta class got kicked down as wife didn't like sitting inside feel, and Creta specifically not giving feeling of "big enough" in rear seat.

XUV & Harrier were a big stretch of budget. Requirement of space was the biggest ask for me, and for wife she needs to feel airy inside as she is claustrophobic. Went to have test drives of Slavia and Kushaq, she liked ride of Slavia better, same day we went to Honda to check out City & voila she immediately liked the backseat space and the big windows looking out.

Checked out Verna few days later, that was also one she liked. And then she said buy whatever you want looking from your driving perspective, but the choice has to be between City & Verna, and then a PS was added from her that she likes City better as "City to City hai na"

Even people at office were asking me why sedan have "SUV", the only reason I heard mostly was that since SUVs are the trend I should not "try out" and at the back of my mind i was thinking people really can't understand my thought process, i was the one using Windows Phone and driving a Ford in India when iOS / Android and Maruti / Hyundai were /are the rage in the market.
MT1705 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 19th November 2024, 15:03   #3547

During office commute in these 2 days, Android Auto is one feature that's irritating at best there is a specific stretch of 1-1.5kms on my way to office where it starts breaking up and the system disconnects. I knew this would happen, as i saw this earlier in my friend's city and also in another friend's new gen Safari, Android Auto disconnected at same place. Not sure if Apple Car play will be same, will try to check out with someone using iPhone.

My friend who got City, he was furious at first that his car gets disconnected, and then one day while going to office he was cursing, then i told him that its a standard Android Auto feature as i have seen it in Safari also and then he was relaxed hearing his car is not the faulty one, Sundar bhai needs to pull up some people's ear at Google
MT1705 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th November 2024, 17:55   #3548

I have 2021 City, wired Carplay has never disconnected for me with multiple phones and cables over the years.
attinder is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th November 2024, 19:08   #3549

During office commute in these 2 days, Android Auto is one feature that's irritating at best there is a specific stretch of 1-1.5kms on my way to office where it starts breaking up and the system disconnects.
This happens because of the RF interference where other services, such as toll systems, are interfering with the WiFi connection in your car. The issue is reduced in the most recent version of Android, but it is still present. I am using an Android Auto Wireless Dongle (AAWireless) and it has an option to change the WiFi Channels it use. I use one which is not the default Wifi channel for India region and the connections hardly drop now. Check if your Infotainment has this settings.

Originally Posted by attinder View Post
I have 2021 City, wired Carplay has never disconnected for me with multiple phones and cables over the years.
The issue is only in wireless mode. Wired Android Auto is stable.
sreerknair is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th November 2024, 20:59   #3550

Originally Posted by subhasis View Post
Thanks, Nikhil, for sharing your experience. I’m surprised that they seem to have changed their stance on third-party PDI within just a year. In fact, they gave me the misinformation that they have never allowed any customer to conduct a third-party PDI. Let’s see what explanation they come up with now.
Suspension niggles like that can be really frustrating but I’m glad they were able to resolve it and that your Amaze has been performing well.
I really appreciate your offer to talk to them together. It would be great to catch up and discuss things. Let’s definitely stay in touch!
Subhasis
Hi Subhasis,

Which variant and colour did you take home? I've made a booking for V, but am confused whether to go for MT or CVT. I won't be driving it much in the city, but am planning to keep it for a long time (read as - as I get older convenience will matter more).

Nikhil
Old 20th November 2024, 13:48   #3551

Originally Posted by sreerknair View Post
This happens because of the RF interference where other services, such as toll systems, are interfering with the WiFi connection in your car. The issue is reduced in the most recent version of Android, but it is still present. I am using an Android Auto Wireless Dongle (AAWireless) and it has an option to change the WiFi Channels it use. I use one which is not the default Wifi channel for India region and the connections hardly drop now. Check if your Infotainment has this settings.

The issue is only in wireless mode. Wired Android Auto is stable.
yes, and we tested with the iPhone same result, the more tech moves forward there are newer issues, the wired connectivity in the old cars with the Auxiliary cable or the tried and tested Bluetooth connectivity were always stable. But everyone in "car review world" tells how much not having wireless Android Auto / Apple Carplay makes a car bad, but none of them have ever shared this issue.

This is like the car reviewers have made people believe that any car which has 25 touch screens all around and inside lights is the best car to own instead of a car that drives well, gives comfort to passenger and has basic creature comforts.
MT1705 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th November 2024, 15:06   #3552

she liked ride of Slavia better, same day we went to Honda to check out City & voila she immediately liked the backseat space and the big windows looking out.
Totally agree with this. I too went with City mainly for the backseat and yes I too checked out Creta when I was in the hunt and found nothing special for the numbers it sells (of course in my opinion).

Enjoy your ownership!!
CarCraze is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th November 2024, 16:27   #3553

Went to have test drives of Slavia and Kushaq, she liked ride of Slavia better, same day we went to Honda to check out City & voila she immediately liked the backseat space and the big windows looking out.
Ha ha. Same experience. You make your family sit in the back seat of the sedans in market and every one will vote for the City hands-down.
Mumbaiker is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th November 2024, 21:03   #3554

Originally Posted by Mumbaiker View Post
Ha ha. Same experience. You make your family sit in the back seat of the sedans in market and every one will vote for the City hands-down.
I have a different view on this.

In City, while the backseat is good, the floor under the front seats have a slopping angle. I was not able to stretch my legs and had to keep the legs bent, which negated the comfort factor. This will be an issue during long drives. Even in the front seat, there is a slopping angle where you will place the feet.

In Verna, while there are no such slopes, but because it has too much thigh support, the legs will float in the air when stretched. So again, I was forced to bend the legs to keep it on the floor.

Only in Virtus/Slavia, I was able to stretch the legs without any issues. But unfortunately, the backrest angle was too upright for me.
Old 20th November 2024, 22:08   #3555

Have you or anyone here tried higher octane fuel? I only use the regular fuel given that it is RON91 which is the minimum recommended octane rating. Any change in the driving characteristics of the engine with higher RON petrol?

Yes, I always use XP95. You will notice a significant improvement in the engine performance. Car feels very smooth and agile to drive. The moment I shift to normal petrol, I hear the I-vtec grunt (which is also a music). I also briefly tried XP100 and finally settled with XP95 for the cost factor. I've been recommending XP95 to other car owners too.
Venkatr is offline   (1) Thanks