Old 5th November 2019, 15:50   #16

Re: Audi A4 facelift launched at Rs. 41.49 lakh

They should make the Dumb & Dumber movie sequel 3 on Audi India . No diesel, the smallest petrol engine in its class, the slowest transmission, FWD (no AWD or RWD), a facelift that was released years ago internationally, an on-road price of 45 lakhs and a competent sibling (Octavia) that is cheaper & faster. Forget the Octavia, I could buy a vastly superior Superb or Kodiaq and save money over this lame A4.
Couldn't agree more. The only reason you'd buy something like this is if you just really wanted a German badge.
Having said that, a friend of mine just bought one - he's a real pull-yourself-up-from-your-bootstraps story. He's come from nothing, worked hard, done well, and just bought this A4 with the 1.4L.
When I asked why he'd do that instead of say a Superb or Kodiaq, his answer actually made a lot of sense.
1. He's worked his butt off for the last 15 years, become the CEO of his media agency, and his dream car was an Audi, BMW or Merc.
2. ENTIRELY chauffeur driven, I mean like ALL the time.
3. More legroom than the Beemer 3er, nicer looking interiors too.
4. MASSIVE discounts.

Hard to argue with that. I guess not everyone's a petrolhead.
ghostrider is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 5th November 2019, 16:40   #17

That's the Jetta engine being offered in an Audi A4. Fact being, the Jetta too dint sell so well in its 1.4 TSI version.
And then for them to plonk it on an A4 and ask 5 million bucks for it.

If the Jetta was still on sale today, it might have been priced for around 18-20'ish. I feel very little would have differentiated the two except the technologically advanced interiors. Unless someone wanted that Audi logo to maintain their status, Jetta would have made a lot more sense, especially in these times of recession.
Old 5th November 2019, 21:32   #18
anb

Originally Posted by TusharK View Post
The engine is paired with a 7-speed automatic transmission.
Is it DQ200 gearbox?

Last edited by aah78 : 6th November 2019 at 01:50. Reason: Quote trimmed.
Old 5th November 2019, 21:41   #19

I can see Audi following the footsteps of VW in exploiting the term "Facelift".

Should we expect Skoda joining them soon?!

Last edited by aah78 : 5th November 2019 at 22:06. Reason: Invalid smileys removed.
Old 5th November 2019, 21:47   #20

Uff not again Audi. This is just a dumb move.
Moving away from Diesel so soon is not a welcome move Audi.
Recently Maruthi Suzuki found the demand and value for better Diesel engines and started testing the 1.6 Diesel in S-cross. MSIL would bring this 1.6 Diesel in Brezza, Ertiga and Ciaz down the line.
Old 5th November 2019, 22:29   #21

Originally Posted by Shashwat.75 View Post
I can see Audi following the footsteps of VW in exploiting the term "Facelift".

Should we expect Skoda joining them soon?!
Not entirely true. Depends from model to model. Have you seen the upcoming Q7 facelift ?! Especially the interior is TOTALLY updated.
Old 6th November 2019, 00:25   #22

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Not entirely true. Depends from model to model. Have you seen the upcoming Q7 facelift ?! Especially the interior is TOTALLY updated.
Sorry, I should have mentioned it for the Indian market
Old 7th November 2019, 18:58   #23

Originally Posted by vinit.merchant View Post
That's the Jetta engine being offered in an Audi A4. Fact being, the Jetta too dint sell so well in its 1.4 TSI version.
And then for them to plonk it on an A4 and ask 5 million bucks for it.

If the Jetta was still on sale today, it might have been priced for around 18-20'ish. I feel very little would have differentiated the two except the technologically advanced interiors.
Exactly. So in a nutshell, Paying for an A4 today is equal to buying 25 lacs worth of interior. Just like that.