Old 28th August 2009, 15:06   #136

I think the most unsafe vehicles are the call centre cabs. These guys drive like maniacs and don't care about the passangers or anybdy for that matter. The drivers are not at all properly rested, the timings are odd. There have been so many incidents recorded in and around Gurgaon and Noida.
T_Girl is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2009, 15:59   #137

for me the most unsafe car in India by FAR is the Maruti Omni, where incase of an accident, you are the crumple zone

ac
Old 28th August 2009, 16:01   #138

Originally Posted by ac 427 View Post
for me the most unsafe car in India by FAR is the Maruti Omni, where incase of an accident, you are the crumple zone

ac
So maybe one should sit in the rear seat!
Old 28th August 2009, 16:05   #139

Originally Posted by Sawyer View Post
So maybe one should sit in the rear seat!
So you are suggesting a chauffeur-driven Omni perhaps. Which is anyway the case since these days, it is largely sold as a cab.
Old 28th August 2009, 20:20   #140

Without a doubt the Auto Rickshaw

The Auto Rickshaw is a regular one vehicle accident machine. Purely for the disruption and dislocation that these guys cause to all others this is by far the MOST dangerous vehicle on the road. these guys have no rules to follow, stop anywhere, turn anywhere, no wrong side no signal. For a few days in Pune there was a Rickshaw strike - believe me when I tell you that the traffic was the best I have ever seen!
Need4Spd is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2009, 20:38   #141

I think no car is unsafe if driven by sane / alert minds .It is the driver who makes a car safe or unsafe.But yes if to be involved in an accident i would say Maruti Omni is extremely unsafe.
Old 5th May 2014, 22:30   #142

Re: Most Unsafe Vehicles on Indian Roads!

Sighted on two different occasions on the E.M. Bypass Road, Kolkata:

Most Unsafe Vehicles on Indian Roads!-a2014-077.jpg

Most Unsafe Vehicles on Indian Roads!-a2014-101.jpg
Old 6th May 2014, 09:27   #143

I find the Force Traveler mini buses quite unsafe. Maybe its got to do with the way their drivers 'fly' these vehicles. Also, I think they are allowed to ply in city roads and the 9am-9pm restriction is not applicable to them (applicable to heavy vehicles).

I always maintain a safe distance whenever i see one.
Old 12th March 2024, 14:13   #144

Saw this milkman's "unique" bike today. Is it possible to figure out the make and model* or even its registration number?

It started with the first kick and moved away like any other bike.

Most Unsafe Vehicles on Indian Roads!-20240312_130507.jpg

Most Unsafe Vehicles on Indian Roads!-20240312_130514.jpg

(*could be a Yamaha Crux ??)

Last edited by anjan_c2007 : 12th March 2024 at 14:25.
Old 12th March 2024, 15:17   #145

Will mention just one vehicle type that is undoubtedly most unsafe on any road - not just Indian roads. It is the bicycle.

Any powered vehicle is relatively safer than a bicycle, be it two wheelers, three wheelers and so on.

A cyclist gets bullied by every other vehicle on the road. There is a huge risk of bicycles getting rear-ended by any powered vehicle.

Unless you are a specialist or have special survival skills riding a bicycle, its a bad idea to ride a cycle along with other traffic. The risk of ending up as an unfortunate statistic for a cyclist is pretty high.

This is the reason most countries have seperate cycle tracks or atleast, bicycles are allowed to ply on footpaths to keep the cyclist safe.

Providing dedicated cycle tracks may not be feasible on our roads due to various constraints. The rules should be ammended to allow cycling at slow speeds on footpaths like in other countries (of course footpaths have to be designed in a smooth manner as well )

Last edited by for_cars1 : 12th March 2024 at 15:28.
for_cars1 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th March 2024, 15:19   #146

Originally Posted by for_cars1 View Post
Providing dedicated cycle tracks may not be feasible on our roads due to various constraints. The rules should be ammended to allow cycling at slow speeds on footpaths like in other countries.
Brings us to the question, how many roads do we have that even have dedicated footpaths?
saket77 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th March 2024, 15:27   #147

Originally Posted by anjan_c2007 View Post
Saw this milkman's "unique" bike today. Is it possible to figure out the make and model* or even its registration number?

It started with the first kick and moved away like any other bike.

Attachment 2582180

Attachment 2582181

Most probably Bajaj Boxer.
Old 12th March 2024, 15:31   #148

Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
Brings us to the question, how many roads do we have that even have dedicated footpaths?
The current practice of traffic police is to deflate the tyres of bicycles if they find anyone riding on a footpath.
Atleast wherever there are decent footpaths, they should improve it a bit and allow cyclists to use the footpaths.

In fact in China, they allow even low powerd EV scooters to ply on footpaths, not just cycles.
for_cars1 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th March 2024, 19:36   #149

Originally Posted by amit View Post
What makes you think the government isn't doing anything about the citizens safety? Nowadays, the government has a rate card for deaths in different ways. Rs. 2 lakhs in a railway accident, Rs. 2 lakhs in riots, Rs. 1 lakh in road accident, Rs. 5 lakhs in bomb blasts and so on. Basically, the government is saying, " Looks citizens, we can't give you a better life or even a safe life. We can't guarantee that you will reach your home in the evening alive. We are throwing big money to your kith and kin after you die due to our negligence and disinterest in improving living conditions. Take the money and dont expect your lives to be any safer".

Welcome to India.

Not even big money, it’s laughable money. “Sorry your son/daughter that you spent 20-25 years raising died under a Bus on the way home from work because of a pothole. Here’s 1-2L though. Don’t spend it all at once haha”
Old 12th March 2024, 20:15   #150

Originally Posted by anjan_c2007 View Post
Saw this milkman's "unique" bike today. Is it possible to figure out the make and model*
Originally Posted by ToThePoint View Post
Most probably Bajaj Boxer.
Appears to be a jugaad. Forks & front mudguard from RX100 or RX135? Engine from Crux/YBR125? Petrol tank & frame from Boxer/CT100 (based on the tank lid & the side sub frame)?