Old 16th January 2020, 15:56   #1

Amid slowdown, MPV segment grows by 35% in 2019

According to a media report, despite the slowdown in the automobile market, MPV sales grew by 35% to 2.2 lakhs units in 2019.

Amid slowdown, MPV segment grows by 35% in 2019-2019marutixl602.jpg

The share of MPVs in the market grew from 5% to 8%. The Maruti Suzuki Ertiga accounted for nearly 50% of the total MPV sales. Other MPVs that did well include the Maruti Suzuki XL6, Mahindra Marazzo, Renault Triber and the Toyota Innova.

The share of petrol variants has increased from 5% about 5-7 years ago to 35-38%. The Renault Triber, which is available only with a petrol engine, performed well and Maruti also saw a good demand for the CNG variant of the Ertiga.

The share of first time buyers has gone up from 16% to 37% over the last 7 years for the Eritga. This figure stood at 62% for Renault India.

The segment is expected to grow further fueled by new launches from Kia (Grand Carnival) and Toyota (Vellfire).

The report suggests that practicality, comfort and space, along with a good design and features offered are drawing customers towards the MPV segment.

Link to Team-BHP News

ChiragM is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 17th January 2020, 11:35   #2

Re: Amid slowdown, MPV segment grows by 35% in 2019

Main reason is the new Ertiga which is vastly improved over the old car.

2018 Ertiga sales average = 4700 / month.

2019 Ertiga sales average = 7700 / month. Mind you, this is in a damp market compared to 2018. Says a lot about how much improved the new model is.

Over & above, the XL6 did an average of 3000 / month from Aug - Dec 2019. Effectively, the Ertiga has doubled up to 10,000+ / month.

Then of course, we had new models like the Marazzo (sales off the mark though), and the innovative Triber which is off to a great start doing 5,000 - 6,000 / month.
GTO is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 17th January 2020, 11:46   #3

Old thread on the expected MPV sales boom:
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...-expected.html (MPVs are back! Sales zoom, 6 new launches expected)
SmartCat is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 17th January 2020, 11:50   #4

Renault Triber really did a good job and honestly I didn't expect it to be received so well despite the market slowdown. This might've boosted up Renault's hope and confidence pretty much.
SpideyBoy is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th January 2020, 11:58   #5

I expect this to be the next big segment in India. With large families (or small families with parents, in-laws, relatives etc.) good, practical MPVs will have a space. Kia’s Carnival is coming in at the right time I guess.
vb-saan is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 17th January 2020, 13:57   #6

Seeing the MPV growth, MG Motor India to reveal MPV concept at Auto Expo 2020.

Amid slowdown, MPV segment grows by 35% in 2019-20200117013808_mgvisionimpv.jpg

Last edited by volkman10 : 17th January 2020 at 13:59.
volkman10 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 07:09   #7

Originally Posted by vb-san View Post
I expect this to be the next big segment in India.
Agreed. I also feel that the MPV segment is only going to grow. Reasons:

- You get a lot of MPV for the price of a smaller SUV.

- Our large families.

- Indians love practicality.

- We don't care as much about style as other countries. Example, in USA, MPVs are having a tough time against SUVs due to their boring van-like design.

- Some truly nice cars, whatever the price point. The Ertiga, Marazzo, Innova, Carnival etc. are simply fantastic MPVs!
GTO is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 15:35   #8

If somehow marriage made sense to you, an MPV will make sense to you.

As a married man with kids, the practicality of an MPV (Ertiga, in my case) is a huge draw for me. From hanging out with old friends, to dinner with visting in-laws and parents, to picnics with kids and pets - an MPV is a car for all occasions.

Also, here is a challenge - find someone who owned an MPV, but moved on to a sedan. I am yet to come across one.
nishsingh is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 15:54   #9

Originally Posted by nishsingh View Post
Also, here is a challenge - find someone who owned an MPV, but moved on to a sedan. I am yet to come across one.

My cousin sold his old Ertiga and bought a new XL6. Despite him no longer needing the last row seats anymore. After owning MPV/3-row SUV, a sedan somehow seems like poor value for money.

Last edited by SmartCat : 20th January 2020 at 16:01.
SmartCat is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 16:12   #10

MPV segment is growing primarily because of blurring difference between an SUV and MPV, the latter will cost less and has better ride quality. Yes, SUV can do much better off-road, but majority of those SUV's will hardly see mud road/no roads. While on long drive, my family prefers Innova over the Endeavour, simply because the back seats in Innova are better place be.
PrideRed is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 17:04   #11

Originally Posted by SmartCat View Post

My cousin sold his old Ertiga and bought a new XL6. Despite him no longer needing the last row seats anymore. After owning MPV/3-row SUV, a sedan somehow seems like poor value for money.
Plus one to that. I myself am looking to sell my Polo GT and move to the XL6 purely for the space and practicality.
lionell is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 17:22   #12

Originally Posted by nishsingh View Post
If somehow marriage made sense to you, an MPV will make sense to you.
Ha Ha Ha Ha

Sir ji,

Pranam.

Thank you for making my day. And you are 200% correct. Very well put.
mohansrides is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 19:27   #13

MPV’s are true value for money and this market is going to boom.

MSIL is taking the foot steps of Renault again (kwid Rival S-Presso) to come up with Triber rival WagonR 7 seater.
ash22 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 22:32   #14

People with large families who're willing to spend ~2.5 million are IMO likely to buy 2 compact SUVs so they can travel together but in separate vehicles with individual preferences & in a semi-independent personal space.

Innova Crysta, despite having legendary brand & reliability is likely used as 4 seater for >90% of the time. So, IMO MPVs may only grow in the lower & mid segments. i.e. people spending upto 12-17L, BUT above that, cars like Marazzo too struggle to garner big numbers.

My 2c.
Old 21st January 2020, 12:02   #15

I bought an ertiga zxi+ 11 months ago, since only an MPV could satisfy my requirement at that budget. My parents are staying with my family (includes wife and 2 kids) and on most weekends we travel together either visiting relatives or to attend a family function and occasional temple visits and outings. Many times my sister and family or in-laws also joins us, and this necessitated the need for 7 seater. I do not wanted a car which is too large and also my budget was capped t 9.99 ex-showroom. At that time only marazzo, brv and ertiga satisfied my requirement and I settled for ertiga. Brv, tough was great car but I didn't like the looks and 3rd row seats comfort. I still feel there is still room for more cars in this segment and I sincerely wish if Hyundai had a model in this segment. I was looking for a change from maruti, but had to settle for ertiga mainly because the only other option was BRV, which some how I was not satisfied. In the US minivan was too common till 4-5 years ago and was kind of a must have for any family man/woman and they are extremely practical. I still wish if the MPV's in india had the sliding doors for the second raw, which will make the ingress and egress to 2nd and 3rd rows much more easier.