Old 8th May 2007, 12:32   #796

Originally Posted by amit View Post
Exactly my point!
Whats wrong in saying it uses drive by wire ? Previous maruti cars did not use it and they are just stating that. (OT Are they using it for the throttle ?)
Old 8th May 2007, 12:33   #797

Originally Posted by spadival View Post
Cars have become like the mobile phone market.. Cars are FMCG now.. Forget used cars, even brand new cars will see a drop in the price as the days go by.

Yup, I agree. My friend was in the market trying to sell his 2005 Honda city. There's a difference of almost 35K from the price quoted before & after the SX4 launch.

Like the Swift, the SX 4 is going to be a cash cow for Maruti. And just like what Swift did to the B segment. SX 4 will completely change the way we all look at C and even some C+ cars.

3 cheers to Maruti. I am sold.
Old 8th May 2007, 12:51   #798

I am impressed by the SX4 specs. I dont think any car south of a million bucks has a comparable specs.

Sample this,

Tyres : 205/60-R16 Tubeless Alloys (VXi)
Driver and Pasenger Airbags (VXi)
Seatbelt height adjustment & pre-tensioners (VXi)
ABS/EBD (VXi)
190 mm GC (VXi)
102 bhp
Climate control (VXi)
Driver seat height adjustment (VXi)
Keyless entry (VXi)
Electric ORVMs
Glass Printed Antenna

And all this for a cool 7.35 lacs x-showroom. Now only thing left is a test drive. I dont think FE will be an isue considering the track record of Maruti vehicles. Should have waited for 5 months to decide my car :(
Old 8th May 2007, 12:51   #799

Originally Posted by shobhit15 View Post
Why is the camera angle in 360 degree view on SX4 website is as if you are viewing it by sitting on the floor ?
Is it that Maruti thinks the best view is from there ?
I suspect it is because the car is too tall and has too much ground clearance to look good from a proper angle. It will probably look all right in person, but will look bad in a photo. Lets see how the pics in the advertisements are going to look like (I still haven't seen one yet).
Old 8th May 2007, 12:55   #800

appuchan - i think u mean zxi. the vxi is the base model.
Old 8th May 2007, 13:29   #801

Originally Posted by shobhit15 View Post
Why is the camera angle in 360 degree view on SX4 website is as if you are viewing it by sitting on the floor ?

Is it that Maruti thinks the best view is from there ?
Must have hired camera crew from Channel V/MTV/Zoom who are used to shooting people dancing and "live" events
Old 8th May 2007, 13:40   #802

IMHO, there should have even been an LXi variant. With front power windows and AC and steel wheels and 15" tubed tyres. Baas. And priced around 5.5 lakhs or lesser. Would have made the product more accessible to people like me. Or maybe I should just wait for a few years and pick mine up used and cheap :(.

@Mods : This thread is getting too big. How about seperating the post-launch posts into a new thread?

Last edited by sajo : 8th May 2007 at 13:41.
Old 8th May 2007, 14:28   #803

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
appuchan - i think u mean zxi. the vxi is the base model.
Yep. Sorry! Had a week little finger!
Old 8th May 2007, 16:03   #804

Nice Car! All I can say is that the Aveo, Verna, NHC, to some extent Corolla, Cedia, and lastly LOGAN would be hit hard...really hard.
Old 8th May 2007, 16:54   #805

Logan is already a goner.... if they dont decrease the prices drastically!
Heck its a cheap car in every sense of the word....
Old 8th May 2007, 21:16   #806

phew ..
the thread started with just a news that New baleno will be out in a month or two. Now looking at the responses in the thread, SX4 has surely created a wave.
Old 8th May 2007, 21:22   #807

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Yup. The humble Tata Safari too. No need for MUL to shout from the rooftops about this!!!
AFAIK, all common-rail motors have drive-by-wire accelerator control. And I think they're emphasising on this to catch the NHC. Honda's USP has always been technology, but with the 1.5, they are on the back foot here. And unlike Ford, MUL has the might to take the fight to Honda.

This is going to be fun.
Old 8th May 2007, 21:22   #808

Can anyone clarify whether the ABS on the SX4 Zxi is an all wheel ABS or not. . Did not get reply regarding the same in my earlier post..
Old 8th May 2007, 21:33   #809

After having driven the SX4 today. I can say Maruti has a winner on their hands - with great pricing. The feel is upmarket, definately a notch or two or three above its cousins in the stable. The only negative I felt was the unsure handling on bumy roads. It is definately a STRONG contender in it's segment, watch out OHC !!!! Swift did a lot for Maruti & seems like the SX4 will do a lot more !!!!!

Old 8th May 2007, 21:47   #810

yes abs is for all 4 wheels