Old 11th March 2020, 22:27   #301
Vmv

Re: The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs

Originally Posted by fusionbang View Post
My 2 cents - From the video, we can make out the boot door was not shut as expected. I have heard that the boot door needs to be closed with some force, which I din't see in this video.
Few more observations
If the walk around video is taken as per the sequence shown. Then in the 6.45 min the MID shows the boot door as opened.

End of story
The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-capture_202003112156221.png  

Vmv is offline   (32) Thanks
Old 11th March 2020, 22:46   #302

Is it possible to directly fit the redesigned ORVM (Outside Rear View Mirror) of the BS-6 model on to BS-4 model? I am sure BS-4 owners don't mind buying the redesigned ORVM as an accessory (of course at a reasonable cost) which offers better visibility on curvy roads OR during a right turn.
recshenoy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th March 2020, 13:04   #303

Originally Posted by recshenoy View Post
Is it possible to directly fit the redesigned ORVM (Outside Rear View Mirror) of the BS-6 model on to BS-4 model? I am sure BS-4 owners don't mind buying the redesigned ORVM as an accessory (of course at a reasonable cost) which offers better visibility on curvy roads OR during a right turn.
If mount points for the new mirror are same as old, it should fit. Also need to see if location of new mirror is same as old if not then length of electric cabling needs to be validated. Your SA should be a good starting point.
nsbhagwat is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th March 2020, 16:19   #304

Yesterday I had a short test drive of the XZA+ (yes the top end with Panoramic Sunroof) Red Dual ton variant at one of the dealers in Pune. The test drive also included me and my wife sitting in the back and the SA driving so that we could have the back seat experience. Some observations as below:

1. The red dual tone looks absolutely stunning. As such Harrier looks gorgeous in any color and red color augments the beauty. Since the vehicle was parked in very crowded area, couldn't spend much time exploring the external but the fit and finish seemed to be fine. The new alloys design looked much better than that in lower variants.

2. The attention grabber after getting inside was the panoramic sunroof. Till now I was of the view that I don't need a sunroof, but the short drive has changed my opinion. Now me and my wife are preferring our next car to be (even if we don't buy Harrier) with Panoramic sun roof only

3. My drive was for about 15 minutes:
- The engine noise was well insulated inside the cabin but probably not as silent as Seltos. Have not driven BS4 harrier so can't comment how much it has improved.
- I could find the comfortable seating position, however didn't try all the possible seating and steering position arrangements/configuration. My left knee was not rubbing against the lower portion of dashboard.
- The vehicle moved off from standstill position smoothly however noticed very slight jerk as I accelerated to move ahead. I am not used to drive automatics so not sure if it was due to my driving style or something else.
- Once on the move the gear shifts were smooth and didn't feel jerks. The braking was excellent and during the braking the gearshifts were not noticeable. Thus overall acceleration and stopping was seamless, except for the initial jerk.
- The vehicle handled the speed breakers and potholes very well and we didn't feel any bumps inside.
- There was enough power throughout the drive, on straight roads with mix of free roads and B2B traffic as well as when climbing flyovers. Didn't get an opportunity to drive uphill though.
- The vehicle was silent during the drive, there was some engine noise but it was not bothersome.
- I didn't drive on highways so can't comment on the ride quality and manners on highways.

4. During return, SA drove the vehicle back to the showroom. I and wife were sitting behind.
- We found suspension to be balanced when seated at rear and the ride was compliant. The SA drove at high speed during one stretch with twist and turns and we didn't notice any body roll and any lateral movement. So we were happy with the overall drive. Also observing from rear, the NVH was very well controlled.
- Because of the panoramic sunroof, lot of light was coming in and cabin was feeling airy. For most of the time the sun roof blinds were open (not the glass panel). During the last few minutes the SA closed the sun roof and we could see immediate difference in the overall feel of the cabin. The sun roof area is quite big and Tata claims that it is widest in the segment. Again didn't try all the operations on the Sun roof but it seemed well made.

Overall, came back satisfied with the first test drive. I shall have a longer TD to explore more before making final decision. Hopefully by then there will be feedback from the media drive. Also if TBHP mods are able to share initial impressions in the coming days, then it will help to make the right choice. If we decide to ahead it will definitely be the Red Dual Tone XZA+. Sad that Tata has discontinued the Orange colour though.
varman742 is offline   (34) Thanks
Old 12th March 2020, 17:28   #305

Have taken test drive of XZA+ at Thane Heritage Motors they had XZA+ 2 cars available one for display and another for test drive. Here is the image of car with open sunroof.
The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-tata-harrier-xza.jpeg  

desi_wananchi is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 12th March 2020, 22:13   #306

Is TeamBHP part of the media drives happening tomorrow?
octane_100 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th March 2020, 22:48   #307

The Media Drive would be to Panchgani. A few snippets from today. The morrow should bring in some breathtaking pics.
Source : Tata Harrier Insta.
The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-20200312_224235.jpg  

The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-20200312_191444.jpg  

The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-screenshot_20200312173441_instagram.jpg  

The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-screenshot_20200312173508_instagram.jpg  

uday.ere is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 13th March 2020, 06:35   #308

Did someone just share their first impressions?

Test driven #TataHarrier 2020 automatic. Key points: kryotech170 is quite peppy! Autobox is good! Torque surge is noticeable and lag well contained unlike automatic jeep compass! Welldone @TataMotors

Source: https://twitter.com/ShivangKrish/sta...64818596089856
sachinayak is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 13th March 2020, 09:05   #309

From the Media drive:

The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-es9k7wdwaaaw845.jpg

Name:  11.PNG
Views: 4425
Size:  617.3 KB

The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-es9kf5vuwaaanv.jpg

The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-es88adeuyaakvib.jpg

Some media personnel are not present:

Name:  13.PNG
Views: 4058
Size:  33.0 KB

Last edited by volkman10 : 13th March 2020 at 09:12.
volkman10 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 13th March 2020, 09:55   #310

Spotted couple of Grey Harriers today morning, one at Chandani chowk and another on NH48 bypass (heading towards Mumbai/Lonavala). Not sure if these were part of media drive or not, both had red number plates and driven sedately, one had only one person.
sukiwa is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th March 2020, 10:16   #311

Red looks great. Heard from autocar the media embargo is till monday.
Old 13th March 2020, 13:23   #312

Tata Harrier BS6 Brochure details, Variants and Features.
The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-smartselect_20200313131654_chrome.jpg

The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-smartselect_20200313131708_chrome.jpg

The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-smartselect_20200313131722_chrome.jpg

The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-20200313_131842.jpg

The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-smartselect_20200313131807_chrome.jpg
Venkatesh is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 13th March 2020, 13:41   #313

I feel this is an over-reaction:
Name:  14.PNG
Views: 3977
Size:  145.1 KB

Unless there is a closed indoor event with as large audience, I don't see how the media drive is more risky than the normal routine of anyone. You are driving in a vehicle away from crowded cities and through scenic places with hardly any human occupants! If anything it should be safer than the normal day of commuting and working in a crowded city.

If journalists do not exhibit mature thinking understanding balancing real risks with concern for safety of self and others, the whole nation and economy will come to a grinding halt.

Last edited by manson : 13th March 2020 at 15:58.
84.monsoon is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 13th March 2020, 14:02   #314

Ever since the AT announcement I had been wanting to check out the Harrier in person and clear the air between the mixed opinions everyone has on the fit and finish. Fortunately for me I got to check out the Harrier AT in its top trim at T2 whilst heading out of the city last week.

The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-img_20200303_164314_.jpg

I'm not an expert on fit and finish and can rarely draw a comparison between cars that I don't own but like most 15 - 20 Lac current day cars I found everything on the Harrier to be of good quality if not great.
The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-img_20200303_170352.jpg

The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-img_20200303_170357.jpg

The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-img_20200303_170834.jpg

The driver side door did take a third attempt to shut it right, but I would give Tata half a chance of me trying to be extra careful to not shut it too hard.

Going by their history the longevity of materials and engineering is dodgy and the brand will take a decade if not two to improve its overall reputation but if anything the Harrier felt like a good effort on Tata's part to get everything right.

In stark contrast to some of the earlier posts about Tata's lack of interest in marketing the Harrier I was particularly impressed with the entire communication I've had with their marketing team till date, highlighting the bits for quick reference:
The space taken up by the Harrier at T2 was the the spot preceding the MG Hector, I'm almost certain someone in the marketing campaign thought of it and wasn't just by chance.

The personnel manning the car were well informed about the car and reasonably enthusiastic on giving their inputs on the Harrier and registering my interest in the car.

The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-img_20200303_171018.jpg

A day or two later I was duly contacted by Tata's closest dealer representative who shared the pricing information and have since then called me a couple of times for scheduling a test drive which I hopefully should be able to make time for in the next few days.

Originally Posted by spkrnh View Post
Heard from autocar the media embargo is till monday.
Looks like these guys got their hands on a dealer demo car and have rendered the media drive embargo quite pointless:

Last edited by manson : 13th March 2020 at 16:10.
manson is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 13th March 2020, 16:19   #315

Here is another one
Palio_2005 is offline   (3) Thanks