Old 7th February 2020, 10:37   #31

re: 2nd-Gen Hyundai Creta @ Auto Expo 2020. Edit: Launched at 9.99 lakhs

I personally like the new design, especially the new DRLs. The interiors on the other hand are a huge let down, was really hoping the striking dashboard design and aesthetic from the Chinese variant would make its way to India as well. This dashboard looks drab.
Old 7th February 2020, 11:07   #32

The front end looks like a slightly modified Venue although I like the rear section. But I strongly feel they should have come up with a better design considering the huge popularity and the outdated design of the current generation.
Old 7th February 2020, 11:21   #33

Originally Posted by Silverfire View Post
Current Creta owner and love this new design. The Chinese variants droopy tail looked odd, and Hyundai India has done well to replace that with a pretty distinctive and classy looking rear.
They played it safe by launching the car in Black. Lighter colors will definitely bring out the quirkiness of the design elements (especially the rear). But having said that, it does look a bit better than the ones shared earlier. Seeing it in person in lighter shade will definitely be the decider especially when most of the buyers would prefer a lighter shade (white/silver).
naveen.raju is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th February 2020, 11:32   #34

Difficult to tell from the lighting, but I hope the cabin isn't greige (as Hyundai calls their new color scheme). It looks atrociously bad in the Aura, would look worse in something two segments above. Why not choose something like a classy cream + black combo (black on frequent contact surfaces)?

Disclaimer: Never been a fan of Hyundai's trim color choices. Detest their brownish 'diluted Bournvita' beige in current cars too!
Chetan_Rao is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th February 2020, 11:45   #35

As expected, an ugly design and an eyesore from more angles than one. Their models are progressively getting more and more weird design wise. Also, the four spoke steering looks pretty weird and not cohesive at all. Would have preferred a well designed and clean three spoke steering wheel any day over this convoluted and fussy one.
Old 7th February 2020, 11:49   #36

The pictures are not doing justice is what I feel. The new Creta is looking so much like the Audi Q3. The front grill, rear tail-lights, rear profile including the C-pillar are all kind of aping Audi Q3

Overall I think i like the looks of the new Creta
Old 7th February 2020, 12:16   #37

Some how they failed to make an impression with this upgrade. May be because of the dull colour of the car. Alloys are good looking.Any way we can expect Hyundai to bring more features and to this car.
Old 7th February 2020, 13:41   #38

Ok I am sold on the front and it really looks nice. The front grill is awesome. Also notice the slight upward trend in the front profile.
The back isn't that good. Side view doesn't throw any surprises.

They haven't opened up the interiors on Creta on show for the public.
2nd-Gen Hyundai Creta @ Auto Expo 2020. Edit: Launched at 9.99 lakhs-p_20200207_124809.jpg  

2nd-Gen Hyundai Creta @ Auto Expo 2020. Edit: Launched at 9.99 lakhs-p_20200207_124945.jpg  

2nd-Gen Hyundai Creta @ Auto Expo 2020. Edit: Launched at 9.99 lakhs-p_20200207_124919.jpg  

2nd-Gen Hyundai Creta @ Auto Expo 2020. Edit: Launched at 9.99 lakhs-p_20200207_124835.jpg  

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 7th February 2020 at 14:34. Reason: Typos and punctuation.
piyush1.a is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th February 2020, 13:52   #39

They’ve chosen the most flattering colour for the reveal - black hides the weirdness of the front. The rear can’t be saved by anything though. It will likely become less ugly to the point of being acceptable over time, but never attractive IMHO.

I’d like to revisit and read everyone’s opinions once lighter colours can be seen and photographed clearly.

Having said that, why haven’t they revealed the interiors yet? It the new Creta still that far from launch?

Last edited by VeluM : 7th February 2020 at 13:54.
VeluM is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 7th February 2020, 13:58   #40

If the choice is between Seltos and this Creta, then my choice will always be Seltos which looks beautiful and new Creta simply doesn't have the appeal atleast in exterior styling. It's quite bewildering why they won't show the interior when the launch is just next month. However, if I am spending so much I wont buy either of these cars and simply extend budget a bit and get the face lifted Harrier which now has everything you desire in a genuine SUV. But, Creta will still sell a lot, the brand name has a lot of pull.
harry10 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 7th February 2020, 15:11   #41

Polarizing design as expected (from previous scoop images). Personally do not like the front grill, headlight. This would not be the car I park and look back to admire while walking away; Seltos has that, Harrier definitely has that trait. As others saying, it should have been a smaller Santa-fe/Tucson than bigger Venu. This design may grow on some, but definitely not one that age well. Hyundai for sure would price it competitive (means lesser than Seltos) by not giving true top end as before, to grab customers' interest.
Old 7th February 2020, 15:12   #42

Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
However, if I am spending so much I wont buy either of these cars and simply extend budget a bit and get the face lifted Harrier which now has everything you desire in a genuine SUV. But, Creta will still sell a lot, the brand name has a lot of pull.

This is so aptly described. There is no point buying Creta or Seltos in diesel auto top variant. Harrier AT is simply a step above with not so huge price difference. The only chink in the armor for some may be TATA's brand value and a very large foot print on Indian road and parking. Not easy in Metros !

Petrol - Seltos 1.4 Turbo petrol is still the one to buy below 20 lacs. I will advise buying manual and not DCT.
Roadster17 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th February 2020, 18:08   #43

I think there is a marked attempt by Hyundai to take the Creta upmarket with relation to the Seltos. Though I did not like the look of the ix25, the C shaped outline of the DRLs to me change the face of the car. I like the looks of the new Creta.

That said, it remains to be seen how other colors look like, what it looks without the dual tone C pillar etc.

I don't see any letup in sales of the Creta with the new model either. It's fundamentally got the customer's basic expectations sorted out and throws in a standout design to boot.

Drive on,
Shibu.
Old 7th February 2020, 19:14   #44

I think the weird design language is indicative of an underlying strategy to promote the premium (and more profitable) Seltos over VFM Creta.
Rajiv0909 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th February 2020, 21:11   #45

Seltos’s automatic gear stick is very modern and chunky looking. I was expecting new Creta to sport a similar stick, but it looks like age old unit. Hyundai should have put the automatic new gear stick.