Old 26th May 2020, 14:34   #136

Re: Skoda Karoq launched at Rs. 24.99 lakh

So much to all the talk about aggressive pricing and such. I think they would have sold more if they announced it as a limited run of 1500 units at 30 lakhs ex-showroom with that 2.0L petrol TSI engine.

Quite a disappointing end to all the hoopla and hype I feel.

On the other hand I thiink they have priced the Superb and the Rapid very reasonably given what's on offer. A strategy at work here?

Drive on,
Shibu

Last edited by shibujp : 26th May 2020 at 14:36.
shibujp is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th May 2020, 14:41   #137

I was looking for a replacement for my Octavia which will complete 4 years in November.

I had my eyes set on the Karoq but in no way am I spending 25 big ones on that thing. At about 22 Lakhs, I would have been interested but with a 1.5 Litre motor, the Karoq doesn’t justify the current price tag.
Ravi_chd is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th May 2020, 14:42   #138

This car makes the Jeep compass look VFM. Let's see how the market reacts to this pricing.
Mr. Nobody is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 26th May 2020, 14:47   #139

Seems overpriced (at least by 2 lakhs IMO) especially because of T-Roc's good pricing. Apart from 3 more airbags and electric driver's seat I can't see anything significant over the T-Roc. Skoda should have given the VarioFlex seats at this price
Here is the brochure:
File Type: pdf karoq-brochure.pdf (3.52 MB, 791 views)

Last edited by PetrolheadRup : 26th May 2020 at 15:12.
PetrolheadRup is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 26th May 2020, 14:59   #140

In my opinion, it is a pointless product, certainly not for the mass-compact SUV buyer. The Nissan Kicks (albeit with 4 airbags) comes at virtually half the cost, with the same power and performance specs. I see nothing special in the 1.5 DSG as compared to the Kicks engine frankly. Its only for hard core VW/Skoda fans and more of a halo product for those who would like an "almost Audi Q3".
fhdowntheline is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th May 2020, 15:00   #141

Originally Posted by Ravi_chd View Post
I was looking for a replacement for my Octavia which will complete 4 years in November.

I had my eyes set on the Karoq but in no way am I spending 25 big ones on that thing. At about 22 Lakhs, I would have been interested but with a 1.5 Litre motor, the Karoq doesn’t justify the current price tag.
You should forget Karoq (not really a replacement to Octavia at any price point, in my opinion) and consider the Superb. Better even, wait for the next gen Octavia (hopefully by the end of 2021 )

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 26th May 2020 at 15:07. Reason: Typos. Please proof read your posts before submitting. Thanks.
akash.1318 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th May 2020, 15:01   #142

Skoda declared terrific pricing for the Rapid and Superb but got it absolutely wrong in Karoq. How is it even possible, or is it just the function of Karoq being a CBU?
Old 26th May 2020, 15:10   #143

Karoq costs 31.4 Lakhs on-road in Bangalore. One can get Hyundai Tucson top end with AWD for 34, which is half a segment bigger. If I am not mistaken even Tiguan comfort-line was similarly priced. Karoq pricing is off by 3-4 lakhs IMO. It should have been just couple of lakhs more than the T-Roc.
Guna is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 26th May 2020, 15:20   #144

I'm really shocked at the pricing. I was expecting this to cover up sales from the Octavia but this is well above the Octavia pricing for a smaller car, smaller engine.

What's more it is priced identical to the last rupee as the Jeep compass Limited Plus 4x4 AT. The Jeep is 2.0L diesel with AWD, ZF9, rear independent suspension and has the sunroof, powered driver seats. Pretty much matches it in features and space as well.

The Karoq is smaller and only FWD with a rear torsion beam. It loses a lot of features vs the Octavia.

No Canton audio, no electric tail gate, no vario flex rear seats (that means the rear seats don't even recline). The passenger seat isn't powered (Octavia had that even in Onyx edition!). They have seriously cut features on the Karoq for the price.

It is mechanically same as the T-ROC with a tad more rear space but no ways worth 5L more than the VW.

Looking at the extra features and space vs the T-ROC my guess was it will be 2lakhs more maybe 3 if Skoda got greedy. But I never fathomed they would price it 5L above!

5L more gets you a superb!
Vid6639 is offline   (42) Thanks
Old 26th May 2020, 15:35   #145

Agree that the pricing is shockingly bad. On the same day, they have launched the Rapid at an unbelievably low price and the Karoq at the other end of the spectrum, with an illogically high price.

At least, Skoda pays more attention to the marketing materials and clarity of specs than VW. It is clear from the brochure that the Karoq has only a twist beam rear suspension - it is still unclear if the T-Roc has an independent suspension or not. From the brochure, VW claims it has, while most of here feel it would not have one.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 26th May 2020 at 16:08. Reason: Typos.
84.monsoon is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 26th May 2020, 16:13   #146

at this price point, I expected it to have varioflex seats and other bells and whistles that premium Karoq models in overseas provide. I can understand not having AWD, but now there seems to be little to differentiate from the competition which has better features and seemingly more value.
Old 26th May 2020, 16:36   #147

Psychotropic pricing indeed! 25 Lakhs for a milk trolley?

I'm really shocked at the pricing. I was expecting this to cover up sales from the Octavia but this is well above the Octavia pricing for a smaller car, smaller engine.
Suddenly, the Harrier Auto makes sense, if only Tata mentioned that it still existed!

Last edited by ajmat : 26th May 2020 at 16:52.
ajmat is offline   (28) Thanks
Old 26th May 2020, 16:54   #148

what is the equivalent term for a corporate/executive suicide bomber? because VAG has plenty of those in their Indian offices. They don't fathom the idea of letting their cars sell as much as they should actually do. Look at the VWs (especially the aged Polo; when the world around has such a nice newer one), the pricing of the Karoq. I'm sorry, but it cannot use the CBU as it's USP and price it 10 lacs above the other cars with a 1500cc engine! Common sense.
lemedico is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 26th May 2020, 17:04   #149

Did I see FCA share price inching up a notch?

Jeep would be thanking Skoda for making the overpriced Compass look value for money. This looks like Jazz-i20 story all over again, albeit in a different segment.
octane_100 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th May 2020, 17:26   #150

What horrendous pricing. Add a couple of more lakhs and you enter X1 territory considering the massive discounts that are offered all year around. Apart from few Skoda lovers, I don't see this one playing any role in our market apart from occupying floor space in Skoda showrooms.
drmohitg is offline   (1) Thanks