Old 20th March 2020, 10:54   #16

Re: BMW launches new, cheaper "Sport" variant of the 330i

Truly a good news for petrol heads..that is a nice price point!! The vRS has really set out the cat amongst the pigeons.
The 330i Sport retains most of the desirables. Let us see what does Merc brings to the party!!
Old 20th March 2020, 14:26   #17
GTB

Originally Posted by lambodara View Post
Apple CarPlay !!? That’s present even in a Rs 5000 head unit these days ! That’s a cheap move.
Maybe because of CarPlay in BMW works wireless. I remember reading about CarPlay in newer BMW is free. Maybe it is only in the US and UK.

Source: AutoCar UK
BMW is set to announce today that it has reversed its controversial decision to charge Apple CarPlay users £85 per year.

Launched in 2018 with the brand’s latest ‘7.0’ operating system, customers received a year's free subscription to the service, which lets users synchronise their iPhone with the car’s infotainment system. After 12 months, owners were asked if they wanted to let the subscription lapse or pay £85 for another year’s access.

Now, a BMW spokesperson claims, the system will be free for the lifetime of the car on all models operating the latest infotainment system. Models that aren’t, such as the i3, i8 and runout examples of the 2 Series and 4 Series, will need to pay £235 for a lifetime subscription.

Customers who've already paid for a year’s or three year's subscription in models now not affected will be offered free unlimited subscription instead, it's claimed.

Apple claims it doesn't charge car manufacturers a fee to use CarPlay, but costs are incurred in integrating it with the car’s screen. Most manufacturers factor this into the list or lease price of the model, but BMW was the first to decide to pass that cost onto the customer and give them a choice.
Old 20th March 2020, 15:50   #18

I would take this over RS anyday unless I am looking for exclusivity. Should be good to wait till the discounts kick in which would sweeten the deal more.

As someone already said, it can be spruced up down the years to keep the interest in car and since it's a petrol engine, I don't see any issues keeping this car for 8-10 years.

Last edited by turbowhistle : 20th March 2020 at 16:18. Reason: Corrected typo
Old 20th March 2020, 16:54   #19

Any confirmation if that sweet sounding active exhaust of the Msport is also provided in this sport variant?
vvb8530 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2020, 17:17   #20

Originally Posted by vvb8530 View Post
Any confirmation if that sweet sounding active exhaust of the Msport is also provided in this sport variant?
Good question! Unless it is linked to the high end MFD in the M-Sport variant, they should have it in the Sport too.
BMW launches new, cheaper "Sport" variant of the 330i-screenshot_20200319063436.jpg  

BMW launches new, cheaper "Sport" variant of the 330i-screenshot_20200319063448.jpg  

itwasntme is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 20th March 2020, 17:48   #21

Great move by BMW. Two weeks back I booked the 320d luxury line. Initially, wanted to book the 330i, however, 55 lacs OTR was the best quote I could get - exceeding my budget by 5 lacs.

Yesterday, called the SA if I can change my selection, to my dismay, he told that the invoice is almost done.
Old 20th March 2020, 18:18   #22

Originally Posted by vvb8530 View Post
I believe it does. The Eco/Comfort/Sport/Sport Plus modes are not exclusive to the M Sport package, to the best of my knowledge.

On a side note, it looks like they silently dropped the 320D Sport. It's not showing up in their latest price list - https://www.bmw.in/content/dam/bmw/m...-March2020.pdf.
jfk1975 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2020, 20:08   #23
ais

The sports seats are my most coveted feature in the 3 Series. They make all the difference on twisty roads when we push the car hard- not an iota of fatigue even after hours of driving. I just did that from Panchkula to Mcleodganj.

As for the 18" M Sport alloys, I intend changing over to 17" in my F30 M Sport.

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 19th April 2020 at 08:50. Reason: Strictly no sale or similar related posts on the forum. Please use the Classifieds section. Thanks.
ais is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th March 2020, 21:56   #24

The 20d was not BS6 compliant. Friend just picked up a 320d Sport Delhi-registered for 39 OTR.
himanshu_j is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 21st March 2020, 10:13   #25

Originally Posted by himanshu_j View Post
The 20d was not BS6 compliant. Friend just picked up a 320d Sport Delhi-registered for 39 OTR.
That's a great deal I think even after factoring in the Sport variant, BS-IV & NCR taxes. In BLR, I was offered a 2019 BS-IV Luxury Line for ~49L OTR which is ~12L off the 2020 list price.

At least in BLR, all G20 BS-IV cars are now sold including demo cars . There may be some F30 BS-IV 3GTs left though on which discounts were 13L+.

Last edited by itwasntme : 21st March 2020 at 10:14.
Old 21st March 2020, 14:13   #26

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post

At least in BLR, all G20 BS-IV cars are now sold including demo cars . There may be some F30 BS-IV 3GTs left though on which discounts were 13L+.
Sorry but no, the last F30 3GT - white with black wheels has been sold and awaiting delivery from Electronic City
ajmat is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2020, 00:51   #27

G20 Cars are still available for sale in Bangalore, as of this afternoon. For details, please DM me.
Old 22nd March 2020, 11:25   #28

Looks like they have also brought back a base 530i Sport trim. It becomes the entry level 5 series. However, it is significantly stripped down when compared to the “Sportline” variant available at launch. The price has increased about 5.5 lakhs in the 2.5 years since launch (55.5 lakhs now). However, they have taken away the beautiful 18 inch allots (17 inch now), the sport seats (regular seats now in Sport trim, Sport seat reserved for M Sport version), the Dakota leather upholstery (only Sensatec now, with Dakota leather seat reserved for M Sport), also apparently the display key is gone as it is not mentioned in the spec sheet.

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 22nd March 2020 at 11:26.
84.monsoon is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2020, 11:40   #29

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
Looks like they have also brought back a base 530i Sport trim. It becomes the entry level 5 series. However, it is significantly stripped down when compared to the “Sportline” variant available at launch. The price has increased about 5.5 lakhs in the 2.5 years since launch (55.5 lakhs now). However, they have taken away the beautiful 18 inch allots (17 inch now), the sport seats (regular seats now in Sport trim, Sport seat reserved for M Sport version), the Dakota leather upholstery (only Sensatec now, with Dakota leather seat reserved for M Sport), also apparently the display key is gone as it is not mentioned in the spec sheet.
BMW meeting

"What shall we call this stripped down version?
"SPORT!! "
"Brilliant! What shall we remove to keep the costs down?"
"The SPORTS seats!"
"BRILLIANT. Let's do this. Any other sportsing things we can remove?"

:facepalm:
Mad Max is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2020, 15:56   #30

A couple of other interesting points:
  • The 530i gets the 2.0 litre petrol engine with 350NM
  • of torque, while the 330i gets the same engine with 400 NM of torque! This is an inversion in power specs from what one would expect.
  • They have removed adaptive dampers from the 530i Sport and reserved it for MSport. On the 3 series, you do not get dynamic dampers at all. This is sad, given it is a very useful feature when handling varying terrain that one often finds on upcountry roads - alternating smooth and rough patches.
All in all, the Sport versions are significantly stripped down and I would hesitate to buy them - imagine spending 60-65 lakhs on a car and getting art leather upholstery

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 22nd March 2020 at 16:19.