Old 19th March 2020, 01:14   #1

BMW launches new, cheaper "Sport" variant of the 330i

Source - www.bmw.in

BMW had silently introduced a cheaper variant named SPORT in the BMW 530i recently, now the same is introduced in the latest BMW 330i.

The Ex-Showroom prices are

SPORT - 41,70,000
M SPORT - 48,50,000

This is quite a difference in price making it more affordable for petrolhead.

There are a few equipment changes, major ones dropped from the SPORT are
Virtual Cockpit, Parking Assistant, Apple CarPlay, Wireless Charging, Sport Seats, M Bodykit, M Steering, 17 Inch wheels instead of 18 inches.
anarchy_99 is offline   (31) Thanks
Old 19th March 2020, 01:18   #2

re: BMW launches new, cheaper "Sport" variant of the 330i

Not bad at all - looking at the Octavia vRS sales numbers must have got BMW thinking.

Around 6 Lakhs more than the vRS (of course discounts will start soon), and it is missing some nice to have features but the lure of RWD, nicer interiors, and a newer generation car is sure to lure many enthusiasts who missed out on the vRS.
lamborghini is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 19th March 2020, 01:47   #3

re: BMW launches new, cheaper "Sport" variant of the 330i

Apple CarPlay !!? That’s present even in a Rs 5000 head unit these days ! That’s a cheap move.
lambodara is offline   (27) Thanks
Old 19th March 2020, 06:39   #4

Very sneaky :-). No wonder BLR dealers were desperately trying to lock me into a ~6L discount on the 330i M-Sport ex-showroom price.

Good move by BMW to provide the essentials, i.e. the glorious engine + transmission + chassis combo. What they have deleted are the nice-to-haves rather than showstoppers.

IF they are forced to continue current discounts of ~6L (on ex-showroom BLR prices) even on this version which looks likely given the flatlining sales, then BLR OTR becomes ~44L which is identical to the RS245.

Good times for turbo petrol fanatics!

Attaching the new spec sheet & price list.
File Type: pdf BMW Models Price List-March2020.pdf (524.9 KB, 1140 views)
File Type: pdf 3 Series Specsheet-Petrol.pdf (748.7 KB, 1055 views)

Last edited by vb-saan : 19th March 2020 at 07:35. Reason: Merged as requested
itwasntme is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 19th March 2020, 09:18   #5

Re: BMW launches new, cheaper "Sport" variant of the 330i

This should have been available at launch itself, the 30i is the equivalent of the 20d, but thanks to the triumph of marketing, it was pitched as an alternative to the 30d( atleast in the 5 series).

This has a good option over the Octavia RS, not a difficult upgrade for someone shopping in this segment of the market. Rear wheel drive and its proportion still mean a lot to enthusiasts, with the modularity of the 3, you can replace the alloys, steering and gear knob in a few years and keep the car fresh.
avira_tk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th March 2020, 10:59   #6

Wow BMW. I was atleast hoping they would launch a 320i with the 190PS tune but never thought they would get the 30i in a slightly lower trim with the M bits missing and priced on par with 320d almost.

This is a perfect variant to the vRS and any enthusiast looking for a sub 50L sports sedan.
Vid6639 is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 19th March 2020, 11:15   #7

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
Very sneaky :-). No wonder BLR dealers were desperately trying to lock me into a ~6L discount on the 330i M-Sport ex-showroom price.

Good move by BMW to provide the essentials, i.e. the glorious engine + transmission + chassis combo. What they have deleted are the nice-to-haves rather than showstoppers.

IF they are forced to continue current discounts of ~6L (on ex-showroom BLR prices) even on this version which looks likely given the flatlining sales, then BLR OTR becomes ~44L which is identical to the RS245.

Good times for turbo petrol fanatics!

Attaching the new spec sheet & price list.
Has BMW discontinued the 320d Sport trim? This variant is missing from the price list. If yes, I guess they have replaced 320d Sport with 330i Sport.
Old 19th March 2020, 11:17   #8

The sports seats should be offered as an option. A sports sedan without those awesome seats takes away from the fun to some extent. Also how much would they really save on Apple car play? They anyways made it free for all sometime back. It isn't really a luxury feature anymore.
drmohitg is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 19th March 2020, 13:29   #9

Good move, but disappointed that they had the nerve to remove a simple and essential feature such as apple car play in a 41 lakh car.
Sandeep M is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th March 2020, 17:09   #10

Lack of Apple Carplay and leather seats in a car that costs 45Lakh is stupid to say the least.
devilwearsprada is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th March 2020, 17:54   #11

good feature list except for sport seats. Wish it came with sport seats even if in sensatec.
Old 20th March 2020, 07:50   #12

Good move by BMW India. The features missing in 330i Sport, when compared to 330i M Sport, are mostly nice to have rather than must have features - Details on BMW India site at https://www.bmw.in/content/dam/bmw/m...eet-Petrol.pdf.

The almost 7 Lac difference makes it a very good value proposition given that you are getting the same awesome Engine and Transmission combination.

P.S:- I picked up the 330i M Sport few days ago after booking it at end of February. Had they released the 330i Sport, it would have been a difficult choice to make for me.
jfk1975 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2020, 09:58   #13

Originally Posted by jfk1975 View Post

P.S:- I picked up the 330i M Sport few days ago after booking it at end of February. Had they released the 330i Sport, it would have been a difficult choice to make for me.
Congratulations on your purchase

If you don’t mind sharing what was the final OTR price you paid and discounts you managed to negotiate please? As another Bangalore member mentioned that he was offered a 6 lac discount on the M Sport he was looking at.
Old 20th March 2020, 10:37   #14

Originally Posted by SnS_12 View Post
If you don’t mind sharing what was the final OTR price you paid and discounts you managed to negotiate please? As another Bangalore member mentioned that he was offered a 6 lac discount on the M Sport he was looking at.
It is a bit nuanced. If you are looking for M Sport, you could get 5 Lacs off the on-road price for 2020 stock and about 6 Lacs off the on-road price for late 2019 stock. This is assuming that your local dealer has 330i M Sport in stock. If you are going to get one ordered from the factory for whatever reason (color choice of preference, for example), then you are unlikely to get discounts.

If you are a bit flexible, in that price range, the biggest discounts going around are on 2019 3 GT BS-IV Diesels. They are knocking off almost 13 Lacs off of those. All the best.
jfk1975 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2020, 10:39   #15

Originally Posted by SnS_12 View Post
Congratulations on your purchase

IF you are hellbent on buying a 330i regardless of the COVID-19 situation, please take the plunge. The BMW EU shutdown will slowly start to impact India once the available/in-transit CKD kits are exhausted.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/inter...factories.html (Coronavirus: BMW shuts European factories)

Last edited by itwasntme : 20th March 2020 at 10:46.