Old 9th June 2021, 18:41   #421

re: 7-seater Hyundai Alcazar launching in June 2021. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 16.30 lakhs

Originally Posted by AYP View Post
But I am sad to see the step motherly treatment being given to the 7 seater as it is being made available only in the entry level variants. In fact, if you want the automatic and the 7 seats combo, you have only 1 diesel Automatic option, no petrol at all.
Maybe they are afraid about the 7 seater Alcazar cannibalizing upper Creta variants? If there is a lot of price overlap between Alcazar and Creta variants, most people could pay the smaller increment and get the 7 seater car. Cant see any other logic to this.

Typical of Hyundai, the base variant might lose alloy wheels, touchscreen HU (or provide smaller screen without Android Auto/Carplay), Auto AC, Rear Wash/wiper, fog lamps, Projector headlamps (Halogen reflector instead). leather seats (can be remedied with seat covers).

Hope they give rear disc brakes on all variants considering added gross weight compared to Creta. Also no mention of 6+ airbags option on the official site.
TT-S is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th June 2021, 19:36   #422

re: 7-seater Hyundai Alcazar launching in June 2021. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 16.30 lakhs

Brochure of the Alcazar
File Type: pdf HYUNDAI ALCAZAR BROCHURE.pdf (4.26 MB, 3391 views)
Avinash_R is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 9th June 2021, 19:54   #423

Tried booking Starry Night Diesel AT (7 Seater) but unable to get OTP. Is someone tried booking and able to get through the OTP?

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 10th June 2021 at 10:21. Reason: Typo
Old 9th June 2021, 20:10   #424

I had not really been paying a lot of attention to the Alcazar so far, but it does seem like an interesting proposition. The 20-25 lac OTR price range is heating up now.

A few things that appeal to me in the Alcazar -
  • Not as bulky as Harrier/Hector - fits my use case of a city crossover
  • I feel that it looks much better than the Creta. The dark brown interiors look great
  • Naturally Aspirated Petrol Engine with a torque convertor gearbox - most reliable combination IMO. DCTs are prone to issues and turbos are pretty complex - may cost a lot in maintenance repairs.
  • Typically Hyundai - loaded with features. I like the Blind spot integration in the digital display cluster

The 6 seater version would be a great family car for the city and occasional highway runs.

Of course being a Hyundai, it will have typically high waiting periods, high-handedness by dealers (no outside insurance for example) and the evergreen question of safety ratings (not that any other car in this segment has a GNCAP rating)
Shreyas_H is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th June 2021, 20:59   #425

So no 7 seater in the Signature (O) AT variant! I'd give a pass for the XUV700.
car_monarch is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th June 2021, 21:02   #426

This car is sure gonna be a hit right from the word go.

Wondering why didn't they mention about the 360 degree camera or the Front Parking sensors in the “Key Features” list of the brochure or on their website?

I see they have “Blind View Monitor” in the key features but what about the 360 camera and Front Parking sensors?

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 10th June 2021 at 10:20. Reason: Typos
roxor87 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th June 2021, 22:59   #427

Alcazar 3rd row spotted. Looks pretty tight on space.

7-seater Hyundai Alcazar launching in June 2021. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 16.30 lakhs-425f535a85f44acbb23504722317e21c.jpeg

Link for the photo is not working now, still putting it here.
https://indianautosblog.com/hyundai-...rd-row-p323838
CEF_Beasts is online now   (9) Thanks
Old 10th June 2021, 09:21   #428

3rd row legroom on offer.

Name:  Alcazar 3rd row2.png
Views: 9308
Size:  309.8 KB

Last edited by CEF_Beasts : 10th June 2021 at 09:23.
CEF_Beasts is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 10th June 2021, 09:43   #429

I wonder how people book a car without actually seeing and feeling it. Without even a proper media drive, how can anyone put his/ her hard earned cash? I can never imagine doing it.
NotanF1driver is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 10th June 2021, 10:07   #430

Originally Posted by NotanF1driver View Post
I wonder how people book a car without actually seeing and feeling it. Without even a proper media drive, how can anyone put his/ her hard earned cash? I can never imagine doing it.
It's 100% refundable in case of any cancellations. If you don't like the car in person, just cancel it afterwards. It's good to book before launch if you are okay to even get the first lot. Otherwise the waiting period of these cars soars very high post launch (take Creta for example).

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 10th June 2021 at 10:20. Reason: Typo
udaikalra01 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 10th June 2021, 10:38   #431

Well, I have been looking through the Alcazar brochure and website. Must say it is growing on me. The interiors look chic. My main concern was around the engine options - I'd prefer a diesel but at least on paper the 1.5 L looks underpowered especially if I am looking to haul a family of 5/6 with luggage.

The other concern was around niggles in a new Hyundai. If it were a Tata or Mahindra we have the unwritten 18 month rule. Not sure if Hyundai should be subject to the same criteria. I understand it's based on the Creta but I still expect that there will be new components and parts. Any thoughts on niggles in a new Hyundai?
charade is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th June 2021, 12:25   #432
SRM

This is what Creta should have looked like in the first place!

Can't still get my head over why Hyundai wouldn't want me to buy a Petrol 7 seater top model? A family car will have preference for a 7 seater over a 6 seater on most occasions. If they got their variants right, this could be a real big threat to Hector as Hyundai as a brand is definitely more comforting for buyers in our market
SRM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th June 2021, 12:33   #433

Originally Posted by car_monarch View Post
So no 7 seater in the Signature (O) AT variant! I'd give a pass for the XUV700.
Quoting from what I wished for in XUV700 thread. There is no guaranty that Mahindra offers 7 seat layout in the top of the line variant.
Originally Posted by Guna View Post
If Mahindra is reading this thread, I have one suggestion: Please don't make the top of the line variant only a 6 seater with the captain seats for the second row. That is the trend we have seen and I think it is not logical. Person who is spending the highest amount will get all the features but one seat less! Agree that the captain seats are more comfortable but still there would be people who want to trade 'comfort' for 'added practicality' of having an additional seat or being able to collapse both the 2nd and 3rd rows to create a large cargo area.
Old 10th June 2021, 12:36   #434

The first impression from side profile is that it’s a MPV .
With loads of features and wide service network, it will be a direct competition to the current market leader of the segment i. e. Innova. The customer has a choice now between The durability of Innova Vs freshness of Alcazar.

The seven seater segment is surely heating up with upcoming Jeep Commander ( which will be good ten big ones above these two , I guess)
NitSat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th June 2021, 12:50   #435

I needed 7 seater automatic SUV and hence I booked safari immediately after the launch in Feb. By the time I was required to make final payment, Alcazar teasers started arriving and I found the proposition quite interesting. I was ready to evaluate Alcazar and defer my safari booking, however my family strongly opposed this thought as our upgrade was already delayed by an year. So went ahead with my booking and got delivery in April.

Looking at the variant break-up I am glad that I didn't wait for Alcazar as there is no top end automatic with 7 seat option in either petrol or diesel. Now I won't be feeling too bad for not waiting!

Last edited by varman742 : 10th June 2021 at 12:52.