Old 20th July 2020, 21:42   #61

Re: Skoda Superb facelift launched at Rs. 29.99 lakh

Originally Posted by VPJ74 View Post
I just reread the specs of the Sportline version.

No storage behind front seats ???
No adjustable head rests for front seats ??!!

This is ridiculous. For a 35 L OTR car the absence of above 2 is mind boggling. Even 13 L City has these.

That's because the Sportline has the sports seat. Sport seats usually have the fixed headrests with extra side bolsters. The storage behind the seats is a sad miss though.

Skoda has actually equipped the Sportline like a proper sports version. The Sportline is targeting the younger crowd and the L&K for the more laid back crowd.
Turbohead is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 20th July 2020, 21:58   #62

Originally Posted by Turbohead View Post
That's because the Sportline has the sports seat. Sport seats usually have the fixed headrests with extra side bolsters. The storage behind the seats is a sad miss though.
Very correct. Nowadays, the ultra-cheapo cars & ultra expensive / sporty / those trying to appear sporty have this hideous integrated headrest feature.
itwasntme is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th July 2020, 22:09   #63

In my view, Superb is a business/ executive saloon. You can offer trims like AT/ Manual or Petrol/ Diesel but pretending to sell to a younger crowd as a sports car ! Foolish.

How many sports car enthusiasts will want to show off their Superb?

Does Ferrari come in a family estate version??
Old 20th July 2020, 23:52   #64

Actually, it does!!!

It’s called the Ferrari FF 4 door. Pic off of Google.

Skoda Superb facelift launched at Rs. 29.99 lakh-91f4d0c32f904c71b268476c4fb79238.jpeg
Shreyans_Jain is online now   (11) Thanks
Old 21st July 2020, 00:11   #65

In my view, Superb is a business/ executive saloon. You can offer trims like AT/ Manual or Petrol/ Diesel but pretending to sell to a younger crowd as a sports car ! Foolish.

How many sports car enthusiasts will want to show off their Superb?

Well why not? There are many who want a bigger car for family but still some performance/fun. Instead of the Camry, why not have a something bit more fun. Why should sporty mean small sedans or 2 door coupes.

BMW makes sporty 550i and all the germans make fast wagons. The estate wagon E63, RS5 avante etc are hardly sleek sport cars but station wagons with insane performance.

If I had not gotten the Kodiaq earlier this year and knew there would be a lockdown, my purchase post lockdown would no longer be a SUV. Since the Kodiaq diesel is gone, I would have gone for the Superb Sportline eyes closed.

Besides, Skoda have a huge gap now with no Octavia so this Sportline I am sure is priced cutting their margins out only to fill that gap.

I love this new updated 2.0L TSI Sportline trim. They got it right this time imo.

Last edited by Vid6639 : 21st July 2020 at 00:14.
Vid6639 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 21st July 2020, 00:15   #66

Only thing keeping me away from this is the lack of Matrix LED headlights. In fact it would work really well in our badly lit environments.
Old 21st July 2020, 01:39   #67

Originally Posted by Shreyans_Jain View Post
Actually, it does!!!

It’s called the Ferrari FF 4 door. Pic off of Google.

Attachment 2032600
Surprised nobody has corrected it yet. That is not a Ferrari FF but a Fisker Karma estate, and that too a concept.
avishar is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 21st July 2020, 09:54   #68

I just reread the specs of the Sportline version.

No storage behind front seats ???
No adjustable head rests for front seats ??!!

This is ridiculous. For a 35 L OTR car the absence of above 2 is mind boggling. Even 13 L City has these.
I just checked the Overdrive review of the Sportline and I can clearly see storage pockets behind the front seats. Looks like brochure has a mistake there.

http://overdrive.in/reviews/2020-sko...ift-road-test/

Also as other stated, the headrests are fixed but the seats are sport seats and are designed in a way that has more bolstering and can take all heights and body frames.

Originally Posted by adi_petrolhead View Post
Only thing keeping me away from this is the lack of Matrix LED headlights. In fact it would work really well in our badly lit environments.
And this is not even there in the L&K. Looks like Skoda skipped the Matrix LED units for India altogether and went for regular LED headlights.
Vid6639 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st July 2020, 10:04   #69

Skoda Superb facelift launched at Rs. 29.99 lakh-img_20200721_072838.jpg

Skoda Superb facelift launched at Rs. 29.99 lakh-img_20200721_072910.jpg
With the new redesigned grills, Skodas now look like yesteryear BMWs. While BMWs nowadays looks like something else.
Pics from Overdrive.
Flyer is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st July 2020, 12:23   #70

2020 Skoda Superb facelift review.

Skoda Superb facelift launched at Rs. 29.99 lakh-smartselect_20200721122228_chrome.jpg

https://www.autocarindia.com/car-rev...t-drive-418046
Venkatesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st July 2020, 13:54   #71

The New Skoda Octavia is bound to come with a 2.0 L TSI + DSG combo, and range-topping L&K could be priced at 29.99 lacs ex-showroom. In that case, it will be a small little competition between Superb Sportline and L&K Octavia.
TokyoDrifter is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st July 2020, 15:07   #72

Does the new Superb and the Octavia vRS 245 share the same tranny i.e., DSQ381? I know they probably share the same 2.0 TSI engine block or not?

If yes to both above, so a simple remap should get the Superb to conquer the vRS? The Superb would be cheaper to buy than vRS and a bigger bang for the buck.
Old 21st July 2020, 16:25   #73

Originally Posted by AirWind View Post
Does the new Superb and the Octavia vRS 245 share the same tranny i.e., DSQ381? I know they probably share the same 2.0 TSI engine block or not?
In theory it could reach about 250-260hp with a Stage 2 remap, without any changes to the turbo, intake or exhaust. But generally with Stage 2, exhaust upgrade from Cat-down, becomes necessary. The Superb's 2.0 TSI is the same block, but has different tuning in terms of its cam timing. It is tuned for efficiency. You need a proper tuner to make it run on the RS Logic. Someone who can build a custom map, it'll do great. If you bolt on an IS20 or IS38 Turbo, alter compression ratios, it can cross 300HP easily on Stage 2 remap. Gearbox is capable to control almost 420nm+ of torque. Next you would need stiffer suspension, better bigger wheels and tyres, differential settings, to put all that power down. To be fair, I re-iterate in theory, all this is possible, but practically very very expensive. Should cost about 4-5 Lakhs at least. Better to get the RS and chill, or max go to Stage 1 with the RS. This is to avoid any sort of physical modifications.

This topic got me interested. I visited goapr.com and did some product finding for the 2.0 TSI engine. Their products start from 210PS tune, might be they're measuring it WHP. Basically, they have different maps for different fuels, and appetite of the consumer to risk the clutch (varying levels of torque). The best map that I found was:
Stage 1 High Torque map, for 95 RON fuel = 313 HP, 460 NM. This is without any sort of physical modifications.

Stage 2 Low Torque map, for 95 RON fuel with APR Down-Pipe = 334 HP, 460 NM.

Stage 3 Low Torque map, for 95 RON fuel with IS38 upgrade = 395 HP, 460 NM.

These Stage 2 and Stage 3 figures are really staggering but tough to achieve in our weather conditions, I feel an intercooler and radiator upgrade might be needed with Stage 3 to get the expected results. But boy was I even more shocked at the Stage 1 numbers. Even at Stage 1 such a high power surge would need much better tyres and springs definitely. I am going to stare at these figures a bit more, and try to justify waiting for the 2021 RS245. :|

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 21st July 2020 at 17:56. Reason: Back to back posts merged. Thanks! :)
adi_petrolhead is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd July 2020, 18:15   #74

First Drive review by Autocar India

Venkatesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd July 2020, 22:18   #75

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
First Drive review by Autocar India
Did I hear - “The DSG is not as good as a TC AT, especially at lower speeds when it comes to gear changing, but that is not a deal breaker...”
TokyoDrifter is offline   (1) Thanks