View Poll Results: Would you buy one today?
Yes 309 44.59%
No 384 55.41%
Voters: 693. You may not vote on this poll

Old 15th June 2020, 10:30   #46

Re: Pre-worshipped car of the week : Used Toyota Fortuner (1st-gen)

Voted No. The car just doesn't justify the asking price today and there are better options available out there, which offer much more for less. Of course, there are very few cars which match the off-roading capabilities of the Fortuner, but unless I'm buying it specifically for that (which I would probably not considering the price), I'd look elsewhere.
anshu1101 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th June 2020, 11:08   #47

Voted NO , because i found it very uncomfortable to sit in the back seat. And i am 6.1 in height so didnt find it good to drive as well.

Infact i feel that current generation is eve worse IMHO
Old 15th June 2020, 11:08   #48

Voted NO!!

Primary reason being it is very difficult to find a Fortuner with odometer reading of under 1Lakh kilometer. I know this engine can outlast the owner but when I am spending something like 15lakhs I don't want to see an odometer reading of 1xxxxx on the console. Moreover the ride is too bumpy, I hate the super hard plastics and underwhelming NVH level of the older models.
kamilharis is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th June 2020, 11:43   #49

Voted No. Agree with others, too bulky, outdated interiors etc. etc.

However, lets add some twist. After voting, I went ahead and checked the used car section in a couple of Auto portals with location selected as Hyderabad (Delhi or Kol will have far cheaper options).

In the 15 Lacs bracket, my options for used SUV with Auto transmission are -

a) 2011 Fortuner - run 1.4 Lac kms
b) 2012 Volvo XC 60 - run 1.2 Lac Kms (12 Lacs)
c) 2014 Hyundai Santa Fe - run 64k kms.
d) 2011 Audi Q5 - run 77k kms.
e) 2011 LR Freelander 2 SE - run 1.3 Lac kms.

The other 'SUV's on the list are some 2016-17 model XUV 500s, a 2017 Jeep Compass (P), 2012/13 BMW X1s and some really new Hyundai Cretas. Not really the SUV in the category of the above 5.

Now, which would you pick in the above mentioned 5 options, if you were convinced that a pre-owned SUV is what you want next.

I'm kind of rethinking my vote.

Last edited by Sheel : 15th June 2020 at 12:37. Reason: 2112 = 2012. Please proof read before submitting your post.
autotranny is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 15th June 2020, 12:31   #50
Ice

Voted YES. Because I own one, a 2010 model with 150K+ km. The car is reliable to a T (see what I did there?), and reasonably cheap to maintain. I've been fantasizing about a replacement for a while, but just can't seem to find a viable alternative. And Col.Hathi steals my heart every time I turn back and look at her. So, Yes
Ice is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 15th June 2020, 12:34   #51

Why dont you guys create a poll for the old Mitsubishi Pajero?

Am sure that is a classic SUV for all ages. Would happily would have bought one if Mitsubishi India had some decent service and spares operation.
Old 15th June 2020, 12:52   #52

Voted No.

Reasons :

1. Asking price is 15 lakhs for sub 1,50,000 km run samples

2. At 10 lakhs, you get only the old 3.0 fuel guzzler

3. Terrible ride quality, pathetic interiors

4. Size, not very city friendly

5. No driving pleasure(like any other ladder on frame large SUV) inspite of the power on tap.

You can buy new crossovers that feel more premium inside out at the same cost.
Old 15th June 2020, 13:11   #53

Originally Posted by autotranny View Post
Voted No. Agree with others, too bulky, outdated interiors etc. etc.

Well this makes things very interesting

Unless any specific or sentimental reasons, I would never pickup Fortuner over the vehicles in this list. Throw a 3-4 year old Endy in the mix and Fortuner can exit the list for me.

Last edited by Sheel : 15th June 2020 at 16:37. Reason: Please quote ONLY the relevant bits of a post. Quoting a full, long post inconveniences our mobile readers. Thanks!
Old 15th June 2020, 15:18   #54

Voted No!

Reasons:
1. I don't go off-roading
2. Too big and cumbersome to drive around in town
3. Fuel guzzler
4. Outdated looks
5. Overpriced
4. Even if I wished, it wouldn't fit in my allocated parking slot
Old 15th June 2020, 15:18   #55

Whoa ! Before opening this thread, I was sure it am going to see a lot of 'Yes', but this is a surprise. Not that I am in a mood to buy a car, but I would still buy a Fortuner just for its desirability factor. I had a chance to sit in one in Dubai back in 2014 and boy it was so boring. But still, she looks good on Indian roads. I am a big fan of the old one's looks (the first version launched in India)
NiInJa is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th June 2020, 16:23   #56

I voted NO. The Ford Endeavour appeals a lot more to me than the Fortuner. I will prefer to get that in the 3.2L guise. I really loved it inside out when I sat in it, in the showroom when I had gone to make the payment for the Ecosport. Somewhere, the Ford has a character to it, though it may not be anywhere near to the Toyota Fortuner in terms of reliability or the ownership experience.

My vote will always be for the Ford Endeavour, given a choice between these two cars.

Mod Note : Please do NOT use acronyms (e.g. ANHC, T-Fort, ANHV) when referring to cars. You are ONLY permitted to use the full Make & Model name for cars. This will make our content useful, searchable & easy-to-understand for experts & newbies alike.

Any further usage of acronyms will invite Moderator action on your account.

Last edited by Sheel : 15th June 2020 at 16:38. Reason: Mod note attached.
Old 15th June 2020, 16:46   #57

Voted no.
Although this is a handsome suv but rarely can one find a proper mentained example.Most of them are abused and have a six digit odometer reading.Further it is very uncomfortable to seat on the rear seats.
Old 15th June 2020, 18:45   #58

Mod note: Post edited to fix Quotes, and merge back to back posts. Please use EDIT once the post is approved to add comments. Thanks.

The 1st-gen Fortuner makes a lot of sense only if you have a specific purpose for it, else there are more comfortable options in the used market.
What are the other options??

@blackwasp, more used car threads please?
love the Preworshipped car of the week series you do!!

What would all of you say about the safari storme ? more specifically How would it compare in all the areas in which most of you have said NO.

Ride quality
interiors
engine refinement and all that .... and more??

Last edited by Jaggu : 15th June 2020 at 19:13.
Old 15th June 2020, 19:29   #59

Voting no.
Too big for me. I passed it over for the VW Tiguan.
Old 15th June 2020, 22:26   #60

Voted No.
Big heavy car with poor road manners and ride comfort, bad brakes, forgettable interiors and a ridiculously high second hand price. Apart from being Toyota reliable there is nothing going for this vehicle. I cannot understand people buying a car for "road presence".
Only if you are a serious off roader does the 4x4 make sense but there are better options now.
If you had to have a Toyota, apart from serious off road, an Innova trumps it every time.