View Poll Results: Would you buy a used Tata Hexa today?
Yes 565 67.34%
No 274 32.66%
Voters: 839. You may not vote on this poll

Old 11th May 2022, 23:04   #166

Re: Pre-worshipped car of the week : Buying a Used Tata Hexa

Originally Posted by jagan88 View Post
Lost an opportunity. I read Prashant's thread on Friday and immediately searched for Tata hexa XTA in all online marketplaces. Found a good example on Olx. There's only another one eta available in entire Hyderabad currently.
I hope the thread helps you out in decision making jagan88. However, please don't rush into buying decisions. If you are buying the Hexa, I recommend three things:-
  1. < 4.5 year old car with EW. ( So that you have minimum six months to live with the car and rectify major issues, if any with some offset)
  2. All service done on time at TASS. No servicing should be skipped/ delayed beyond reasonable time. ( So that EW claim, if required, is not rejected)
  3. Get the 40 point inspection done at TASS before purchase. Speak to nearest TASS service GM and convey that you are buying the car and hence, need thorough evaluation.
Blue collar, XTA, 2018 and about 70k on the odo. The asking price was 14.5 lacs. Yesterday I enquired and it was available. Today I took time to think and decided I'd go tomorrow to view and test ride it. Alas, got a reply that it's sold. I liked the car in the pics. It seemed to be well maintained.
Don't be disheartened brother. Something else will come your way. Keep looking.
Prashant1286 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th May 2022, 15:31   #167

Originally Posted by Prashant1286 View Post
I hope the thread helps you out in decision making jagan88. However, please don't rush into buying decisions. If you are buying the Hexa, I recommend three things:-
  1. < 4.5 year old car with EW. ( So that you have minimum six months to live with the car and rectify major issues, if any with some offset)
  2. All service done on time at TASS. No servicing should be skipped/ delayed beyond reasonable time. ( So that EW claim, if required, is not rejected)
  3. Get the 40 point inspection done at TASS before purchase. Speak to nearest TASS service GM and convey that you are buying the car and hence, need thorough evaluation.

Don't be disheartened brother. Something else will come your way. Keep looking.
Yes, thank you. I have these points in the mind (especially the 2 & 3rd) as I read through all previous posts.

Currently I found two cars.
1. 2017 XT (manual). 7 seater.
2. 2017 XTA (automatic). 6 seater.

7 seater because, the kid would love a bench seat to sleep
6 seater, for the comfort for elders.

I'm confused on what to chose among. But I think I'd go ahead and see both of them and depending on the criteria above, will decide.

I currently drive a 2017 Fiat Urban Cross (1.4 Tjet) with 40k+ on the odo - 80% of it was long highway drives. I stay in Hyderabad and there would be frequent road trips to Bangalore or Vizag. The only problem I have with my current car is the "space". We are a couple with a 5y kid and we kind of pack a house when travelling. I'm hoping the 7 seater will have ample space, and occasionally to drive around on long trips with Parents. I usually drive about 700kms/day without breaking a sweat and love the 140ps power and HPS to bits. My wishlist has pan India drives. I did good south India drives, but never ventured into north.

My priorities:
- Safety as this will mostly be used for highways
- Comfortable cruiser all day on 110-120kmph. Good to have: cruise control.
- Power on tap when needed for quick overtakes or some rare spirited driving
- Space. The more, the merrier.

Not particular about any electronic / creature comfort features.
My abarth gives about 13kmph on highways, 9 in the city. Consumption anything more than this is fine. Budget about 15lacs (used).

Other car I considered is: Skoda Octavia.
jagan88 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th May 2022, 01:14   #168

Currently I found two cars.
1. 2017 XT (manual). 7 seater.
2. 2017 XTA (automatic). 6 seater.
Apologies for the delayed reply jagan88.

The manual is a bit cumbersome to drive but the autobox is amazing. Also, Captain seats are supremely comfortable.

Check both and then decide. My pick will be the XTA, even at a bit of premium, provided everything else is similar.

Last edited by manson : 27th May 2022 at 02:25. Reason: Trimmed quote.
Prashant1286 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th May 2022, 02:32   #169

The manual is a bit cumbersome to drive but the autobox is amazing. Also, Captain seats are supremely comfortable.
You are 100% correct. I test drove the manual (XT), Arizona blue one. This is directly from the owner and about 41k on the odo. Slotting to gear 1 and gear 2 was harder. I was taking a U-turn and almost struggled to slot to 1 and move to 2. Other reasons why I didn't choose this.
1. This was initially on company lease and transferred to the current owner. The RC has this marking as 2nd owner and the owner.
2. 3 of the 4 tyres are of different makes. When I visited it was running on a Stepney, MRF, Bridgstone and Good Year tyres. I failed to convince myself on how this could happen.
3. The windscreen washer fluid tank (water tank in engine bay) is broken and needs replacement.

Reasons 2 & 3 made me think it must have run over a bad speed bump / pothole at a good speed and busted the tank and both front tyres.

Check both and then decide. My pick will be the XTA, even at a bit of premium, provided everything else is similar.
Immediately after driving the XT, I went straight to this 2nd hand dealer to try the XTA. Just as I arrived, the deal was signed with a 20k token advance. But I was still given the keys to take for a spin.

I loved the XTA. Since there was another person also who arrived at the same time to test drive this, we both drove it around and I got a chance to sit in the captain seats too. This was also a 2017 model, 52k on the odo, doctor driven (sorry for generalisation), immaculate condition, XTA with captain seats. Oh boy oh, never I thought I'd enjoy sitting as a passenger and that too on a rear seat so much. The auto box was great too, with the manual test drive just an hr ago, this made it clear to me that it has to be the auto gearbox I should look out for. While the mind wanted to outbid the earlier offer given, heart said that's not the right thing to do as someone gave a token amount already. This car was gone for 11.2L (cheapest I came across). Earlier week to this, there was a XTA 7 seater that was sold for ~14L.
jagan88 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st May 2022, 17:01   #170

Posting my query here. Mods please delete, if this is not the appropriate thread.

I have been looking to buy a used Hexa for some time now in Delhi/NCR and have located a September 2018 Hexa XTA 7-seater, driven for around 42,000 km and maintained well. The owner has shared the complete service and insurance history with me and there are no red flags. The car is under extended warranty till September 2023 and should give additional peace of mind. The asking price is 12.5 lacs and it is surely negotiable. There are 3 issues:
a) The previous owner bought it on a company lease and when he left the company, he got the vehicle. The car is thus already second owner on paper. This would be an issue when I want to sell again in the next 3-4 years. I am highly skeptical of the resale value
b) The driver seat seems damaged and was swinging like a pendulum. I will ask him to get this corrected if the deal goes through
c) Since it's a 2018 version, the infotainment system is without Android Auto. Having used it extensively in my current car (Nexon), I am a convert. Would it make sense to update the HU to a compatible one aftermarket?

The car is definitely in good condition but I am mostly worried about the number of owners. From what I understand, it will not be hard to get a first-owner car at around 12-12.5 lacs. Given this, what should be my quote? Also, does it even make sense to go for a second-owner car if I want to keep it for 3 years and 50,000 km? Any guidance will be highly appreciated.
Old 7th June 2022, 13:41   #171

Originally Posted by tarik.arora View Post
Posting my query here. Mods please delete, if this is not the appropriate thread.

I have been looking to buy a used Hexa for some time now in Delhi/NCR and have located a September 2018 Hexa XTA 7-seater, driven for around 42,000 km and maintained well. The owner has shared the complete service and insurance history with me and there are no red flags. The car is under extended warranty till September 2023 and should give additional peace of mind. The asking price is 12.5 lacs and it is surely negotiable. There are 3 issues:
a) The previous owner bought it on a company lease and when he left the company, he got the vehicle. The car is thus already second owner on paper. This would be an issue when I want to sell again in the next 3-4 years. I am highly skeptical of the resale value
b) The driver seat seems damaged and was swinging like a pendulum. I will ask him to get this corrected if the deal goes through
c) Since it's a 2018 version, the infotainment system is without Android Auto. Having used it extensively in my current car (Nexon), I am a convert. Would it make sense to update the HU to a compatible one aftermarket?

The car is definitely in good condition but I am mostly worried about the number of owners. From what I understand, it will not be hard to get a first-owner car at around 12-12.5 lacs. Given this, what should be my quote? Also, does it even make sense to go for a second-owner car if I want to keep it for 3 years and 50,000 km? Any guidance will be highly appreciated.
As someone who's bought a 2018 XMA with 42K km on it this February, I would strongly recommend that you go ahead if the car is mechanically solid. You have gained from enough of a depreciation from the new car price that your resale loss three years later shouldn't put any significant dent on your pocket.

The driver's seat is a small thing to fix (or replace), and may even serve as a bargaining ploy if you're otherwise convinced with the car. Do check for the the typical Hexa gremlins like exhaust pipe crack, ATF condition (coolant mix issue), EGR condition, etc.

My car didn't come with Android Auto. I use my Samsung Tab S5e as my primary HU affixed with Blackstar magnets, and couldn't be happier. You get the properly tuned acoustics of the stock setup and the software wizardry of the latest Android version. I also have my Amazon Echo dot in the car connected over AUX (for quick voice activated music), and a 4G WIFI router connected through a 12V router UPS (to account for power discontinuities) that provides WIFI internet for all the devices in the car.

For a setup that costs <30k, you'd be hard-pressed to find something with a better ROI than this!
vijaysrk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th June 2022, 07:28   #172

Originally Posted by vijaysrk View Post
The driver's seat is a small thing to fix (or replace), and may even serve as a bargaining ploy if you're otherwise convinced with the car. Do check for the the typical Hexa gremlins like exhaust pipe crack, ATF condition (coolant mix issue), EGR condition, etc.
Thanks for the guidance. I am about to close the deal for around 12 lacs. The owner has agreed to get the driver seat repaired/replaced at TASS. My next question- is there a way I can take the car to a nearby TASS and get a thorough inspection done, including accessing the service history? Does TASS entertain such requests? Do you have any idea on this?
Old 8th June 2022, 14:32   #173

Thanks for the guidance. I am about to close the deal for around 12 lacs. The owner has agreed to get the driver seat repaired/replaced at TASS. My next question- is there a way I can take the car to a nearby TASS and get a thorough inspection done, including accessing the service history? Does TASS entertain such requests? Do you have any idea on this?
Not specific to TASS, but I know that most service centers will gladly oblige your request to furnish the service history of the vehicle against a small fee (1-2k).
Nowadays the CRM is synched across all authorized service centers, so you could potentially reach out to any of them.

Given how (un)reliable TASS in general is, I wouldn't depend on them to give me a complete car assessment, though. They should be able to give you the service history print, and condition of specific items that you ask for, though.
Old 11th June 2022, 11:33   #174

is there a way I can take the car to a nearby TASS and get a thorough inspection done, including accessing the service history? Does TASS entertain such requests? Do you have any idea on this?
Hi Tarik!

Ask the nearest TASS to do a 40 point inspection. It's chargeable and you will have to bear the cost. Do speak to service GM beforehand and tell him that you are evaluating the car for purchase. If he instructs the SA/technicians, the inspection will be done meticulously.

Also, the seats in XTA cost a bomb. Please get the quote from TASS and take commitment from the previous owner that he will bear the cost.

Hope it helps.
Prashant1286 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th July 2022, 21:47   #175

Hi BHPians,

I'm currently hunting for a Hexa XTA and I found one 2018 model which has done about 40K KMS in ODO. The vehicle is not serviced for 1.5 years and I'm not sure about the consequences of it. Please guide.

The asking price is 14L.

anand.babu is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th July 2022, 22:44   #176

Originally Posted by anand.babu View Post
Hi BHPians,

The vehicle is not serviced for 1.5 years and I'm not sure about the consequences of it. Please guide.
Hi anand.babu!

Personally I would not pick up a Hexa which has not been serviced for about 1.5 years. Even if EW is there, be rest assured that it would not be honored due to missed services. Also, the price is not so tempting that I would let go peace of mind.

Regards.
Prashant1286 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 11th July 2022, 15:32   #177

Hi anand.babu!

Personally I would not pick up a Hexa which has not been serviced for about 1.5 years. Even if EW is there, be rest assured that it would not be honored due to missed services. Also, the price is not so tempting that I would let go peace of mind.

Regards.
Thanks Prashant! I've almost finalized another 2018 Hexa XT which has done about 40K kms in ODO for 12.5L. Fingers crossed!
anand.babu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2022, 16:08   #178

The vehicle is not serviced for 1.5 years and I'm not sure about the consequences of it. Please guide.
Rather than this point, do check the overall condition of the vehicle - including a check at TASS.

If the seller has service record from 1.5 years back, then check what's the condition of the engine oil, and all other components of the vehicle.

Point is:
While servicing must be done periodically, a delay in service may not necessarily be a red flag. I get my Storme serviced regularly. However, last December, I found that the oil was thicker than it should be, even before the 1 year mark. In this Hexa, if the running has been lower, the 1.5 years can be used as bargaining point.

You have also mentioned you found another one @ 12.5 quote. Do check both of them thoroughly and pick the one you are comfortable with.
condor is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 11th July 2022, 18:04   #179

Hi BHPians,

I'm currently hunting for a Hexa XTA and I found one 2018 model which has done about 40K KMS in ODO. The vehicle is not serviced for 1.5 years and I'm not sure about the consequences of it. Please guide.

The asking price is 14L.

Agree with Condor on his comment recorded above. I would like to add certain points
Due to COVID-19 and low use of vehicles, it is possible that many car owners have not run their cars so much and assume that their cars need not be serviced since the regular service interval, say 10000km is not crossed and hence service could be postponed. Such cars may be serviced now, engine oil may be drained and new oil could be filled, full service may be undertaken at TASS.

Further, in my opinion, a car does not go bad if it is not serviced for 1.5 years, especially if it has not covered sufficient mileage. Wear and tear in this period with less mileage is not so significant and by undergoing a full service, the car would definitely be as good as a car that was regularly serviced as per service center defined interval.
cs_rajesh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th July 2022, 22:47   #180

My search for an XTA 6 seater is still on. The asking price (and likely the best price) is 14L for a 2017 model 72k run model. Checked with the TASS and the service history is clean, with the recent major one done at 68k few months ago and another minor one 500kms ago.

Now, everything looked great at the dealership. Tyres look fine and battery is new (2021). Both interiors and exteriors are immaculate. The price is on the higher side and am in dilemma. When I spoke with the TATA service rep on a call he immediately asked to stay far away from a Hexa. Upon poking further said the spare parts aren't available and that the vehicle is discontinued. That hurt my confidence.

I do like long highway drives. And I easily do 700kms/day trips. I liked the comfort of Hexa and needed an automatic to be my next car. The car is not under warranty. My wife loved the captain seats.

My only question, I played around with the trip meters and it showed 7kmpl (for over a distance of 500kms in Trip A and same 7kmpl on 6k on Trip B). Isn't this abnormal? I sense something must be not right with the vehicle for this abysmal consumption.
jagan88 is offline   (1) Thanks