Old 17th October 2020, 19:16   #136

Re: What is your ideal three car garage under ₹1,00,00,000 (1 Crore)?

Two Mercedes GLAs for me and my better half. And one GLC for my parents.

Will be a little bit out of budget, maybe I will sleep for 5 minutes more and get the rest of the money.
ashutoshb is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th November 2020, 11:35   #137

For my use case - a single guy in his early 30s, splitting my time between a good tier-2 city and Mumbai, here is the wish-list -

1- Pre Worshipped 2019 Endy 3.2 (Black) ~ 25 L
2- Pre worshipped BMW Grand Coupe 640d (Black) ~40 L
3- Pre worshipped Volvo S60 Polestar (Black) ~ 25 L
4- Pre Worshipped HD Fat Boy - Black again ~12 L

P.S.
IMHO, the present scenario calls for all pre-owned vehicles as the market is in a transition of sorts, likes of MG and KIA have awakened the lust for gizmos and luxury on a shoestring budget, and hence one can reasonably expect the older players to follow suit and give us loaded cars in their next iterations.
For example if one goes ahead and buys a GLOSTER today for all the bells and whistles, ignoring the obvious quality sacrifices and risky long term reliability, - they might rue their decision once the more refined cars add some, if not all, of the features and give a better package (Read 2022 Endy, 2021 XUV or Alturas)!

Last edited by manson : 29th December 2023 at 00:40. Reason: Typos
Old 11th November 2020, 12:29   #138

Well, I already have a submission from my side but I have refined the options now and would put some other stuff here.

1. A Jaguar XE- For the Sedan guy in me 50-52 lacs

2. Tata Harrier XZ+ AT- Around 25-27 lacs

3. Hyundai Verna Turbo DCT

The rest amount, I will keep it for future maintenance and stuff.
Old 11th November 2020, 12:45   #139

I'd like these 3 - already on the way to fullfill 2 - the 3rd one should join in next year

1. Innova Crysta AT 2.8 Z ( own it currently ) - perfect for being driven on long journeys and with a full deck aboard ( kids etc )

2. THAR 4x4 - Don't think any reasoning is required. Waiting for this to be delivered next weekend. So I count this as part of the garage

3. Fortuner 4x4 AT or Endeavour new All Black Sport edition. This is a must as well to go around and gives you the space and more room that the Thar perhaps does not.

That's my wish list - 2/3 done. A year more and then 3/3 done.
Old 11th November 2020, 13:04   #140

My ideal 3 car garage would be:
1. A new Creta / Seltos petrol AT (maybe diesel also, not super fussed) (outlier option could be an automatic Héctor plus with captain chairs). Basically a good size compact car like above for the city ideal for self driving as well as to be chauffeur driven in comfort as needed. Capable of going long distance too if required. [~20-21 lakh]
2. A new Isuzu V Cross A/T; [~28 lakh; budgeting for some upgrades like suspension, winch, motorcycle mounting ability etc]
3. A used BMW 530d / 530i OR a new current gen Camry Hybrid. [~ 45 lakh]

Basically:

# No. 3 would be my primary chauffeur driven work car for fun as well as comfort. The reason I say Camry is I could be a stage in my next car buy where I am ok to not pursue raw power and enjoy the uber luxury of a Camry as my primary ride.

# No. 1 is a rough use car for driver to use / family to use etc as needed.

# No. 2 is a vehicle with character which allows some off-roading fun if I want, allows for driving holidays with the family where I can also carry a motor bike and cycles if I wanted, general heavy duty mumbai monsoon vehicle or just a vehicle that has a varied usability with loads of presence, character and a different sort of fun to drive quotient.

Each of these vehicles I would own to a 10 year horizon (more if I could hold them longer).
Each of these vehicles are ones I would readily drive myself at any given time and also not really hesitate in giving to a driver or a family member to drive (if they wanted to drive it).

EDIT: I would assume there would be at least two good motorcycles complementing a car garage like above. :-)

Last edited by Axe77 : 11th November 2020 at 13:25.
Old 11th November 2020, 13:32   #141
anb

1. BMW 330i
2. Ford Endeavour 4WD AT
3. Polo Highline TSI Automatic

Hope I haven’t crossed the 1 crore budget
anb is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th November 2020, 13:43   #142

My three ideal cars would be
1.Polo GT (Small AT for regular city errands) 11L
2. Kia Carnival Prestige 7STR (Family Van for highway runs) 35L
3. Skoda Octavia Rs 245 (personal car) 42L

Total: 88
Muski is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 11th November 2020, 17:40   #143

My ideal 1cr garage (Liberal estimates):
Used VW Polo /Ford Figo and tuning it- 15L(Spirited Driving)
Used Tata Hexa Auto for highway runs - 18L(Supreme Ride)
Brand new Nexon EV for city usage - 18L( Lean mean green)
Brand new Thar diesel AT - 18L(Off road indulgence)
Brand new Honda City Petrol CVT - 18L(For the chauffeur driven in the house)

Total- 87L

Motorcycle (two different palettes)
Palette 1- The Austrian trio:
ADV 390-4L
DUKE 390-3.5L
RC390 -3.5L
Total - 11L

Palette 2- The Indians :
INT /CGT 650- 3.5L
Himalayan - 2.5L
RR 310 - 3.2L
Ather 450x-1.6L
Total - 9.8L

Grand Total w/Palette 1: 98L
Grand Total w/ Palette 2: 96.8L

Last edited by manson : 29th December 2023 at 00:41. Reason: Typos
Babruvahanaaaaa is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th November 2020, 20:10   #144

Not ideal but somehow the current garage has met our needs as a family very very well within the subject budget of this thread.

2019 Innova 2.8Z (25)
2016 Octavia TDi DSG (26)
2014 C200 (33)
2017 Street Triple RS (12)

Now, if i am to replace the oldest car in my garage (which has run the least) with a car of similar category, i am looking at spending 50-55lacs easy and then there goes the budget.

I am there pretty sure that given the situation in NCR, the Octavia and Mercedes would be replaced around the same time in 5-6 years. I am hoping that by then infrastructure for electric cars would have made good progress and i can get something nice as a replacement for both the cars well within the budget!
Old 11th November 2020, 20:22   #145

BMW 330i - base sport variant- 50L on road

Jeep compass- full option diesel (trailhawk)- 30 L on road

Polo TSI- with bilstein dampers, anti roll bars, borla exhaust- 13L on road

Balance 7 lakhs - in a fund

1 crore well spent if i may say so myself.
nakul0888 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th November 2020, 21:48   #146

1) Pre-worshipped Ford Mustang
2) Pre-worshipped Mini Cooper JCW
3) Kia Carnival
Old 11th November 2020, 22:53   #147

In an ideal world where there is enough money and more importantly, heart to spend a huge 1 on cars:

1. BMW 3 Series GT - Weekend car (self drive); ~45 lakhs with discounts
2. MG Gloster - For the highway runs / work meetings (for being chauffer driven); ~42 lakhs
3. Hyundai i20 - For the quick trips in city (where parking could be an issue); ~13 lakhs

Last edited by wordsworth : 11th November 2020 at 22:54. Reason: Edit
Old 16th November 2020, 12:45   #148

My ideal Rs.1cr would be:

1.Ford Endeavour-Rs.40L-For trips with family
2.Kia Seltos GTX+ Diesel AT-Rs.21L-For daily driving of 100 Kms
3.Mahindra Thar LX Diesel AT-Rs.17L-For offroading purposes
4.Tata Nexon EV-Rs.18L-For city errands

Rest of the money will be for fuel,maintenance costs and other miscellaneous expenses.

2nd option in the same budget would be,

1.BMW 330i-Rs.50L-For weekend drives
2.Tata Harrier XZA+ Dark Edition-Rs.24.5L-For daily driving of 100 Kms
3.Honda City ZX MT iVTEC-Rs.15.5L-For fun driving and chauffeur driven
4.Triumph Street Twin-Rs.9L-For solo rides or breakfast rides(though I'm not much of a bike guy)
Old 16th November 2020, 13:06   #149

Hyundai Kona for city and short range drives - ~25L

Jeep Compass 4X4 for long drives and remote drives- ~30 L

Kia carnival for family - 40 L

Remaining for fuel filling happily :-)
Old 8th February 2021, 21:38   #150

My ideal car garage if I've that much money lying around -

1. Ford Endeavour (40L) - For long drives, outstation trips & family outings
2. Mahindra Thar (17L) - For totally fun and roaming around with open top
3. Tata Harrier Black Edition (24L) - Just because I like how it looks
4. Tata Nexon EV (19L) - For daily usage within city

Now just need bank balance of 1 crore.