Old 5th August 2020, 18:19   #106

Re: What is your ideal three car garage under ₹1,00,00,000 (1 Crore)?

Some very interesting posts and varied choices i must say!

I believe the list would depend on whats already in the stable, having a 525d, Endeavour 3.2 and a Polo in the garage i would probably get a single car for the budget. Probably a M2 competition or an X540i depending on the use-case and the deals on offer.

Although if i were in the market with ~1cr to spare starting a garage with the grounds up -

1. Daily driver fun sedan 530d (540i if they bring that in with the LCI) Everyone in the family likes to drive than be driven so the E class, A6, S90 etc don't come in the picture.

2. Proper body on frame SUV for highway duties (Endeavour 3.2 (used) or the new 2.0 if they launch the more powerful tune) The Fortuner albeit being a good offroader, having very good resale and Toyota reliability is an Inferior car imo (No offence to Fortuner owners!). I don't get how Toyota has made everyone shell out 4 million bucks for cabin full of hard plastics and lack of features; all in it's brand image of reliability and hassle free ownership. The Alturas seems like a good VFM contender on paper at-least, will have to experience one to know better.

3. A small hatchback for running errands and those tight places New VW Polo 1.0 TSi. I find my mere 75hp '17 Polo to be a fun drive, only petrol and only manual in the garage. Can't begin to imagine what the new motor with 105hp would be like to hoon around in!
991.2GT3 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th August 2020, 18:25   #107

1. Kia Carnival Limousine: 40 L
2. BMW 530d Pre-worshipped: ~40-45L
3. Nexon EV: 15 L

Nexon should suffice for comfortable even family runs around the city. 530d for the Weekend trip on the expressway. Carnival for the long family holiday.
Old 5th August 2020, 18:43   #108

Excellent thread. Made me think of numerous combinations and I finally decided to put together a list of cars that tug the right strings as well as ones which can be used as regular beater cars.

1. BMW 330i MSport (50 L appx)
2. Jeep Compass Limited Plus (25 L appx)
3. Honda Jazz (cheap to maintain reliable beater car) (8 L)

With the rest of the hypothetical cash I would pick up a Trumph Boneville Speedmaster (can be had for approximately 14 l)
Old 5th August 2020, 19:05   #109

1. Ambassador land master with modification/ restoration (8 lakhs)
2. Toyota Land Cruiser-used (40 lakhs)
3. New Honda City (18 lakhs)
4. Polo GT (12 lakhs)
5. Ninja 300 (3.5 lakhs)
6. Activa (80k)
7. Balance in SB/ RD for maintenance.
Old 5th August 2020, 22:25   #110

With 1Cr as the budget and clear requirements, I'll have:
  1. For the Fun-To-Drive Weekend Mobile - BMW Z4/BMW M2C = Rs. 80,00,000 - 85,00,000 (Used)
  2. For having fun off-road - Mahindra Thar = Rs. 10,00,000
  3. City Run-about - Polo GT TSI = Rs. 10,00,000
Even though it makes the garage worth a substantial amount over a crore, I would go ahead and purchase an ADV (BMW 1250 GS/ Triumph Tiger XCA).

Last edited by manson : 29th December 2023 at 00:46.
akash_v12 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th August 2020, 11:35   #111

My ideal 3 car garage under 1 crore would be as follows:

1: BMW G30 530D: for city / long weekend drives / to satisfy the adrenaline rush

2: Ford Endeavour 4×4 AT : Weekend drives / long roadtrip machine

3 : Kia Seltos HTX 1.5 D : the get anywhere in the city car

I think this would make a perfect 3 car garage to satisfy the needs of an automobile enthusiast
Tpsdhiraj is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th August 2020, 13:51   #112

Originally Posted by Tpsdhiraj View Post
My ideal 3 car garage under 1 crore would be as follows:

1: BMW G30 530D: for city / long weekend drives / to satisfy the adrenaline rush

2: Ford Endeavour 4×4 AT : Weekend drives / long roadtrip machine

3 : Kia Seltos HTX 1.5 D : the get anywhere in the city car

I think this would make a perfect 3 car garage to satisfy the needs of an automobile enthusiast
I've seen quite a few people take liberties with the budget, but you've taken this to quite the next level.

530D = 81 lakhs on road
Endeavour = 41 Lakhs on road
Seltos HTX diesel manual = 17 lakhs on road

That's 1.40 cr on road.

Last edited by manson : 29th December 2023 at 00:47. Reason: Typo
turbo is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th August 2020, 13:58   #113

My Dream 3 cars x 1 Crore Garage is:
1. Merc E Class - Chauffeur driven
2. Ford Endeavour -Long Drives solo/family
3. Swift/Polo Automatic - Everyday here and there

Last edited by manson : 29th December 2023 at 00:48. Reason: Typos
Old 6th August 2020, 17:32   #114

Scenario 1: A lottery of 1 crore
I don't think any middle class guy would realistically burn all of a 1 crore windfall on cars no matter how much of a car lover they are. So I'd invest it. Let's say I manage to get 12% returns. I'll reinvest 6%(to make whole the loss in principal due to inflation) and spend the rest 6% which is 6 lakhs a year. That will be enough to make payments on a 5 year car loan of 25 lakhs.
With that money, I'd by a new Octavia/Jeep Compass or a used BMW 330i/530d or Mini Cooper JCW. Maybe a Mercedes C43 AMG, if I get lucky.
The best part is, every 5 years, I can buy another car from the above list without any reduction in my original 1 crore corpus. Forever ! :
Talk about having your cake and eating it too.

Scenario 2: 1 crore of disposable money
Somebody willing to spend 1 crore on cars will have a net worth of at least a couple of crores. I don't think someone like that would be willing to sit in any car that isn't a luxury car. So I'd probably buy the newest BMW 530d if I'm still young or Mercedes E350d if I've become older.

I don't really have the need (or use) for 3 cars. So probably won't buy 3. The value of a second car for me is to switch once in a while so that I don't get numbed with my existing ride.

Last edited by manson : 29th December 2023 at 00:48.
evil_grin is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th August 2020, 16:53   #115

My dream/ideal car garage will be -
1. Ford Endeavour for long drives with family.
2. Skoda Superb Sportline for fun outings.
3. Taxa Nexon Petrol for city errands/office.

Remaining million rupees for two wheelers.
1. Aprilia/Vespa for wife
2. CBR 650 R for me.
Old 7th August 2020, 20:52   #116

I would get only two cars. A BMW X5 30D and a Hyundai Kona.
Old 7th August 2020, 21:29   #117

Nice Thread! I have always day dreamed about such a scenario. My choice may be common here and repeated by many but nevertheless here goes
  1. BMW 330i Sport: This is to satisfy the brand craze and also get a true blue RWD with more than 250 horses under the hood which can do 0-100 in ~6 seconds. It has the right amount of prestige and performance to go with it
  2. Ford Endeavour: 2 litre engine not withstanding I am still in love with this car even though it has been here for 4+ years. It is the perfect one for some of the roads within the city and for highway drives in Maharashtra especially interior Maharashtra. Additionally, given the water logging in various areas this many just be the last car standing or last car visible or last car motorable
  3. KIA Sonet: This will be the beater car in the garage and I'd pick the diesel AT for the reliability and for my frequent Mumbai to Pune runs. It can be argued that those are best done in a 330i but I think the KIA Sonet makes a strong case and of the wishlist this is a car I may actually end up buying soon

If I can go the used route then this would be the options:
  1. BMW X5 / GLS 350d: This can satisfy the bad roads need and also do some mild offroading. Latter can be a perfect upgrade from the Innova Crysta
  2. E / S 350d: For the extra legroom at the back, epitome of luxury and feeling of having arrived in life
  3. vRS230 / GTI: Daily driver if I can source it for a sane price. Maybe the latter can be had but the former is going very close to the selling price

Last edited by miharbe : 7th August 2020 at 21:30.
Old 7th August 2020, 21:45   #118

1. BMW 330i for myself.
2. A Nexon electric as an all round workhorse.
3. A Hexa AT or a Kia Carnival or a Tiguan Allspace for those long family trips.
Old 8th August 2020, 11:15   #119

My Rs 1 crore garage:

BMW 330i Sport (Rs 51 lakh)
I can live without the extra features that come with the M Sport and save around Rs 9 lakh too.
On a slightly lesser budget, I would go for an Octavia RS 245.

Jeep Compass Limited Plus Petrol-DCT (Rs 26 lakh)
In my mind, it is the SUV to have. I am not an off-roading junkie so I did not choose the Trailhawk. But I'm sure the regular Compass has enough ground-clearance and the ability to handle the lunar surface we call roads.

These two would be my daily drivers. i would switch between them every 2-3 days.

And you have to have a beater car to use for city runs. For that, i would be happy to hang on to my Honda Brio. Since I already own this, it wouldn't cost me anything!

That saves me around Rs 23 lakh out of the Rs 1 crore so generously bestowed upon me. I would save that amount for future garage upgrades.
Old 8th August 2020, 11:58   #120

My Rs 1 Crore Garage

Porshe Cayman 718 (Pre Owned) - Approx 50 Lakhs
I am assuming I can get my hands on a well maintained one. I just love the car and everything that comes with it. Most it will remain with me should I ever lay my hands on one.

Kia Carnival 8 Seater - 30 Lakhs
The touring car with family and friends. Love the creature comforts and the AT option that comes with it. The Limo version may be an overkill for me.

As my daily driver, I will buy the new Thar, assuming it would be under 20 lakhs and it can be used to go for my adventures too.

With the assumption that i will be left with some change at the end of this process (read negotiations) I will sell my Scorpio and exchange it with the Rapid 1.0 TSI AT
diwakarmuthu is offline   (1) Thanks