Old 26th November 2020, 11:30   #1

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore

BMW has launched the X5 M Competition at ₹1.95Cr.

It gets 592Bhp, 700Nm of torque.
0-100 in 3.8s with launch control enabled.

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore-af79107861534205a3a650868a28e348.jpeg
CEF_Beasts is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 26th November 2020, 12:01   #2
PPS

Re: BMW X5 M, X6 M launched in India

BMW X5M Competition, which was launched earlier today.

Source: Kushan Mitra

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore-x5m1.jpg

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore-x5m2.jpg
PPS is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 26th November 2020, 12:09   #3

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore

BMW has launched the X5 M Competition in India. The SUV will be imported as a completely built unit (CBU) and is priced at Rs. 1,94,90,000 (ex-showroom).

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore-x5m1.jpg

The X5 M Competition is the high-performance version of the X5. The SUV is characterised by its aggressive looks. It gets a blacked-out twin kidney grille and a sporty front bumper with large vents. At the rear, the SUV comes with a roof and lower tailgate spoiler. It rides on M lightweight alloy wheels with 21-inch rims at the front and 22-inch rims at the rear.

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore-x5m2.jpg

Inside, the X5 M Competition comes with M multifunction seats, 12.3-inch touchscreen infotainment head-unit with iDrive Touch controller, BMW Gesture Control, BMW Live Cockpit Professional with navigation and BMW Virtual Assistant, wireless charging, Harman Kardon audio system and an optional panoramic sunroof. Rear seat entertainment, a Bowers and Wilkins Diamond audio system and BMW Laserlight are also available as options.

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore-x5m4.jpg

Powering the X5 M Competition is a 4.4-litre, twin-turbo V8 engine that produces 617 BHP @ 6,000 rpm and 750 Nm @ 1,800-5,600 rpm. The engine is mated to an 8-speed automatic transmission and power is sent to all four wheels via the M xDrive all-wheel drive system. BMW claims the SUV can do 0-100 km/h in 3.8 seconds and has an electronically limited top speed of 250 km/h.

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore-x5m3.jpg

The X5 M Competition comes with four driving modes - Comfort, Sport, Road and Track. It is equipped with adaptive suspension and M compound brakes.

Link to Team-BHP News
TusharK is online now   (9) Thanks
Old 26th November 2020, 12:12   #4

Re: BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore

May I know what are M multifunction seats?

Thanks in advance!
Old 26th November 2020, 12:23   #5

The difference between the X3M and X5M is a whopping 94 lacs.

I agree the X5 is larger and more luxurious but even that doesn't warrant this kind of a premium.

I would rather get a normal X5 and a M2 competition and experience the best of both worlds or maybe an X7 and M2 competition. After discounts these combinations may still work out to be cheaper than this.

And if I need a performance SUV only then the Porsche Cayenne Turbo makes much more sense than this.

Hope BMW has imported only those many cars for which the buyers would not back out else this would be sitting in dealer stockyards only and be selling for huge discounts after a while.

Last edited by sv97 : 26th November 2020 at 12:29.
sv97 is online now   (17) Thanks
Old 26th November 2020, 12:57   #6

I think this car is priced obnoxiously high because of the 3 liter engine rule for CBU imports. Upto 3L, the duties are 60% and beyond is 100%.

The X3 has a 3 liter while this X5 is a 4.4 liter.
reignofchaos is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 26th November 2020, 14:34   #7
PPS

Some more pics.

Source: Safer Vehicles Please

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore-envlztmxmaaqnoz.jpg

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore-envmaa7xmamzh9z.jpg

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore-envmaa_w8aa6cxa.jpg

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore-envmabfxeaid48c.jpg

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore-envlztmxiaalykt.jpg
PPS is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 26th November 2020, 16:16   #8

The X5 M competition is BMW's direct reply to the 4 VAG Group SUV's, including the recently launched Audi RSQ8. BMW should have been little more optimistic in pricing, but let's see who it fares in the Performance SUV segment.
mr_freakky is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th November 2020, 16:19   #9

Sort of a pointless launch in my opinion. I will prefer an X6 over X5 in the M variant and BMW could have done much better than this on the prices/ standard equipment.

You pay extra for so many features that are standard on 30-D, like Comfort access, Laser lights, Panoramic sky lounge roof etc. On the plus side, it does get full leather which is a 10 lac addition on the M5.

A reasonably good configuration with upgraded sound will be more like 2,30.

Why will someone not buy a G-Wagon over this?

Originally Posted by sidhu.algods View Post
May I know what are M multifunction seats?
A different kind of seats that they use on M range. Get more side bolstering and look different over regular. I am not sure if these new ones gets active side bolstering like you get on certain AMG models which I find pretty supportive.

Last edited by Turbanator : 26th November 2020 at 16:26.
Turbanator is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 26th November 2020, 18:09   #10

Attaching some more pictures of this menacing beast!

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore-img_20201126_180327.jpg

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore-img_20201126_180308.jpg

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore-img_20201126_180554.jpg

BMW X5 M Competition launched at Rs. 1.95 crore-img_20201126_180535.jpg

akash_v12 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 26th November 2020, 20:03   #11

My dream car was the Porsche Cayenne Turbo S, till I drove it recently on Pune's roads. Could feel every single crack and pothole through my seat even in "comfort" mode.
I'm guessing that the X5 M's suspension would be very, very hard as well.
I would be keen for Audi to bring the face-lifted 2021 SQ7 to India. I currently have the standard Q7 and I hear that in Comfort mode the SQ7 is just a little harder. With the massive V8 performance it should be great fun while still being usable in the Indian context.

Last edited by thegman : 26th November 2020 at 20:05.
thegman is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th November 2020, 17:00   #12

A question, for a performance SUV like the X5M, how many do you think the company would plan to sell pan India?
Old 28th November 2020, 17:21   #13

Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
I think this car is priced obnoxiously high because of the 3 liter engine rule for CBU imports. Upto 3L, the duties are 60% and beyond is 100%.
The X3 has a 3 liter while this X5 is a 4.4 liter.
For those who can wait patiently can get this car at 40% of it's price with 80% of it's life leftstill . Yes, buy it pre worshipped after 5-6 years !
Old 28th November 2020, 23:30   #14

I honestly never understood the rationale behind a "performance" SUV. Ive had some reasonably rapid SUVs like the X6, VW Touareg etc. I couldnt even find the space the pin the throttle down long enough on those.

I mean, on a highway, if that trucker ahead creeps into your lane even by a couple inches, you have to slow down all the way to 40 Kmph. These things are SO wide !

Thats exactly when you realise how much SUVs hate breaking & turning. It makes no sense at all.

Especially now, where we have things like the Urus.

Coming to the Urus, Bentayga, RSQ8, Porsche Cayenne Turbo S cousins, lets do a basic comparison

Porsche Cayenne Turbo Ex.Showroom - 1.96 Cr

Audi RSQ8 Ex.Showroom - 2.07 Cr

Bentley Bentayga (V8) On road price - 3.85cr

Lamborghini Urus Ex.Showroom - 3.10Cr

So lets get this straight, VAG has developed One vehicle & dressed it as 3 different vehicles. And to make matters worse it is charging more than 1cr premium, if you want your SUV, in a lamborghini Dress instead of the Audi Dress ?

You are basically paying for a Lamborghini hurracan money ( which is an Actual Lamborghini *remember it existed way before the R8*) for a Volkswagen with a lamborghini dress on it !

Why would any self respecting enthusiast buy an Urus ? This literally blows my mind.
CalmConquests is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th November 2020, 19:12   #15

Comparing it to the all the other SuperSUVs in the market, this seems priced in the middle. But don't think it'll find many takers in the Indian market.

Originally Posted by CalmConquests View Post
You are basically paying for a Lamborghini hurracan money ( which is an Actual Lamborghini *remember it existed way before the R8*) for a Volkswagen with a lamborghini dress on it !

Why would any self respecting enthusiast buy an Urus ? This literally blows my mind.
The Lamborghini Gallardo might've been developed without influence from Audi but the Huracan and the 2nd gen R8 were most definitely co-developed and are only different in skin. So I believe you answered yourself there, as to why people will pay more for the Lamborghini badge over an Audi badge for really the same vehicle.
ChargedGarage is offline   (1) Thanks