Old 27th November 2020, 15:06   #16

re: Fortuner owner pays Rs 34 lakh for 007 number

Originally Posted by karan561 View Post
Pays INR 34 Lakh for a special number but couldn't have spent extra few lakhs to buy a 4x4 (As the pictured Fortuner is a 4x2) :/
I too felt the same, he should have bought a 4x4 instead of a 4x2 and should have modified it with a 2 inch lift kit, nice snorkel and better suspension kit
WhiteSierra is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th November 2020, 16:08   #17

Pays INR 34 Lakh for a special number but couldn't have spent extra few lakhs to buy a 4x4 (As the pictured Fortuner is a 4x2) :/
Maybe he was concerned about the lower 1-2 kmpl he would have got with the 4x4.

Also he might be preferring the ride quality of the 17 inchers compared to the 18 inchers on the 4x4.

Or the car might be not readily available in the 4x4 avatar and he did not want to wait.

Last edited by sv97 : 27th November 2020 at 16:16.
sv97 is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 27th November 2020, 16:44   #18

Interesting. At least in MH, you are obliged to use a 4 digit version of your number - so after paying ₹34 lakhs for 007, he would have to use 0007.

Get amazed at how people waste money - but am glad RTOs are auctioning these numbers instead of passing them over under the table.
Hayek is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 27th November 2020, 16:47   #19

Originally Posted by Nalin1 View Post
Yeah. But he would have still paid 30 Lakhs and got the number . 1 crore crossed.

Then we will keep going here till we reach the pinnacle. Is that Rolls Royce? .

I care two hoots for my vehicle number whether it has 001 or 8 zeroes.
I agree. People buy Toyota Fortuner even after having loads of money. So dont think suggestions to buy a better vehicle would be right for him.

Some people might think numerology helps or helped them. And he does seem to have lot of money than me who doesnt believe it
Old 27th November 2020, 17:01   #20

Originally Posted by Hayek View Post
Interesting. At least in MH, you are obliged to use a 4 digit version of your number - so after paying ₹34 lakhs for 007, he would have to use 0007.

Get amazed at how people waste money - but am glad RTOs are auctioning these numbers instead of passing them over under the table.
He will use 007 and pay traffic fines when required.

I feel this is a lot more sensible source of revenue for the government and they should milk it instead of discouraging them with 0007 format. I can't think of an easier way to generate income.
androdev is online now   (13) Thanks
Old 27th November 2020, 17:14   #21

Originally Posted by androdev View Post
I feel this is a lot more sensible source of revenue for the government and they should milk it instead of discouraging them with 0007 format. I can't think of an easier way to generate income.
I agree with that. Frankly we should allow the auctioning of fully personalised number plates / so that someone can have Sher or Boss as his plate instead of just writing 8055 like Boss.
Hayek is online now   (8) Thanks
Old 27th November 2020, 17:22   #22

But which RTO will allow to paste 007. AFAIK it will be 0007.
myavu is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2020, 17:38   #23

Dude!! You won’t understand. “He had his reasons” for that too.

I think he would have been closer to Britain just buying a Discovery instead.
Axe77 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2020, 18:53   #24

So almost 30 lacs plus for reducing 1 zero from 0007 Getting number 7 won't be more than 2 lacs but from 0007 to 007; good choice of number though.

I still remember during my early days I wanted to buy a number DDD 777 but I still don't know how i can get it?

Is their a way i can source this no.?

Last edited by vb-saan : 28th November 2020 at 13:39. Reason: Maximum 2 smileys per post please!
Old 27th November 2020, 20:21   #25

Whenever, I see somebody paying lakhs for a fancy number plate, I remember these series of articles, which came in the news some time back. The articles were so sadly arranged like this and my wife and me were quite shocked at the contrast.

Fortuner owner pays Rs 34 lakh for 007 number-whatsapp-image-20201127-20.18.12.jpg
Aiel is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 27th November 2020, 20:29   #26

All those who guessed that the bidder has many cars in his stable are wrong.

Here are the reasons:-

“I got 007 number for my maiden vehicle and it has brought a windfall for me. For me it is not about money, it is about belief that this number is lucky for me,” says Patel, a resident of New Shahibaug.
Ashiq was granted vehicle registration number GJ01WA007 for his Toyota Fortuner on midnight of November 23. The base bidding price for this number was Rs 25,000. A war broke out during online bidding between Ashik and another bidder and in a matter of hours, the final bid had reached Rs 25 lakh. In the end, at 11.53 pm, Ashik made the final bid of Rs 34 lakh which was granted as the deadline for bidding got over at midnight.

Source: https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...m_campaign=TOI
ruzbehxyz is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 27th November 2020, 21:29   #27

Originally Posted by ruzbehxyz View Post
All those who guessed that the bidder has many cars in his stable are wrong.

Here are the reasons:-

Ashiq was granted vehicle registration number GJ01WA007 for his Toyota Fortuner on midnight of November 23. The base bidding price for this number was Rs 25,000. A war broke out during online bidding between Ashik and another bidder and in a matter of hours, the final bid had reached Rs 25 lakh. In the end, at 11.53 pm, Ashik made the final bid of Rs 34 lakh which was granted as the deadline for bidding got over at midnight
The heights to which people go to get lucky! If say he doesn’t get the luck he needed would he sell the car? Then those ₹34 Lakh would go down the drain!

I wouldn’t be surprised if the other bidder was his competitor and wanted him to shell a huge amount and this dude fell for it right through!

Last edited by CEF_Beasts : 27th November 2020 at 21:31.
CEF_Beasts is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 27th November 2020, 22:13   #28

Originally Posted by ruzbehxyz View Post
"I got 007 number for my maiden vehicle and it has brought a windfall for me. For me it is not about money, it is about belief that this number is lucky for me,”
That's it.

We had a lot of discussion on where else the gentleman could have spent this money and how he wasted so much instead of spending on a 4x4 which perhaps was his least requirement (enthusiast yeah?).

Speculations laid to rest. Like the way the Activa owner spent nearly 20 times the cost of his scooter on the special number this dude spent twice the cost of his "SUV".

To each to his own. We can debate and be the best guide to such gentlemen but he has already bought that vehicle, registered it with whatever choice of number he wanted, by spending whatever amount he is wanted.

As a fellow motorhead and a roadie, I wish him happy miles behind the set of wheels which he has bought.

Last edited by paragsachania : 27th November 2020 at 22:20.
paragsachania is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 27th November 2020, 23:57   #29

Originally Posted by Nithesh_M View Post
Also doesn't RTO mandate license plates to have 4 digits? So his will be 0007? What a waste of money.
Excellent points. The more I read this thread, the more my brain hurts.
amol4184 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th November 2020, 11:42   #30

I'd say this guy has spent 34 lakhs for nothing. To me, this is equivalent of dumping 34 lakhs of Indian currency in the sea.

The whole premise of 'fancy' number system in India is completely lame. In the name of a fancy number, all you get to select is the last few digits of your vehicle's number!
  • You can't have your name or a loved one's name on your number plate.
  • You can't have a word of your choice on your number plate.
  • You can't have a cryptic alpha-numeric combo that conveys a hidden / funny meaning.
  • You can't have a number that describes something about you, unless you're a BOSS (8055)
  • In essence, you can't have a fancy number in India, no matter how heavy your pocket is.

Take a look at some of these license plates from around the world, and now think about Indian 'fancy' numbers - it is laughable!

Fortuner owner pays Rs 34 lakh for 007 number-fancy.jpg

Last edited by clevermax : 28th November 2020 at 12:01.
clevermax is offline   (9) Thanks