Old 15th February 2021, 19:14   #16

Re: Volkswagen launches Turbo edition of Polo & Vento

I think this is a great news for all and enthusiasts in particular. The 1.0 TSI was available only in Highline plus variant at 8.08L ex sh (discounts factored). These Comfortline variants bring down the turbo petrol cost to under 7L making it a great option than even Rapid, Altroz turbo. Climate control is an addition over current Comfortline features.

Last edited by anthusiast : 15th February 2021 at 19:19. Reason: added more
anthusiast is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 19:26   #17

I don't care whatever VW calls it and that turbo sticker. At 6.99 lakhs, this is the cheapest (and the best) 1.0 turbo petrol on sale today .
Dr.Naren is offline   (38) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 19:41   #18

Can make all the fun in the world, but this car is real value. So what if it is old as long as it works?

Unless there is any serious flaw in the vehicle, I don't see a reason why it is a crime to sell this.

Build Quality - check
Power - check
Suspension - check
Safety - check
Now price - check

Still super worth I feel.
Arjun Bharadwaj is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 19:43   #19

They have done a good job with the pricing. However, want them to just launch with a special pricing rather than calling it as special edition. It's like if you keep doing the same thing over and over again then others do not value it even if it is good enough. This edition makes more sense over the Rapid Rider / Plus and even for those who want to stretch their budget for the ambition model. Subjective - VW service is tad better than that of Skoda, resale better than Skoda, bragging rights of VW being the parent company of Skoda to a novice or common janta and has a softer suspension for comfortable ride than that of Rapid.

Last edited by VWAllstar : 15th February 2021 at 19:44.
VWAllstar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 19:44   #20

I just have one thing to say.

Buy it, before stocks last, this shall fly on the road and off the showrooms !!
Torquedo is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 19:48   #21

The value proposition has just gone up considerably. At 6.99L now (down from the 8.02L), this is not just undercutting the turbo CSUVs like Hyundai Venue (starting 8.5L) but also other turbo hatches like the i10 Nios turbo

Great step VW
sid_deb is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 19:49   #22

If Turbo edition was out when I booked mine - I would have been HIGHLY tempted to go for it rather than Highline. The TSI engine just become much more affordable. It's a good news for buyers IMO.

Now that I did get a Highline at 8.07 (now it's 8.3~) and this turbo edition is at 6.99, if I compare.. What do I get in addition to the TSI engine and climatronic ac?

- Auto-dimming IRVM*
- Rain sensing wiper
- Cornering lights
- Anti pinch power windows
- Headunit with Android Auto/Apple Carplay*
- Steering mounted controls*
- Cruise Control*
- e-Foldable ORVMs*
- Arm rest
- Remote opening and closing of windows
- Power outlet in rear
- Rear ac vents
- 16 inch alloy wheels*
- Leather wrapped steering and gear knob*
- Chrome interior accents*
- Moonstone finish on centre console*

I love all these features. To me, they still justify the higher price. My favs are starred. No regrets for me .

While I agree the Polo is now dated and ultramilked, you can now get a TSI engine for much lesser which is good for buyers.
PankajKara is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 19:50   #23

Originally Posted by nimishlalwani View Post
But are we missing the fact that the 1.0 TSI now starts at 6.99 instead of 8.02 lakhs it was launched at? Isn't this a reason to celebrate?
You can say that again! Great looks + crazy rev happy engine + good road manners + solid build + impressive safety. This is the ideal hatchback for an enthusiast on a budget.

Even if you had a higher budget, hey, you just ended up with 1 lakh spare cash in modification money . This is one "special edition" I already like.
GTO is offline   (43) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 20:21   #24

Originally Posted by AtheK View Post
As a Vento owner it saddens me to see how VW continues to milk an old cow, which now is way past it's expiry date. They are literally make a joke of themselves now.
Taking your metaphor further, the udders must be sore and bleeding by now!
ajmat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 20:53   #25

Link to Turbo edition microsite: https://www.volkswagen.co.in/en/mode...o-edition.html

Features over Comfortline:
1.Climatronic Automatic AC (Polo)
Cruise Control (Vento)
2. Turbo Edition Seat Cover
3. Gloss Black Spoiler
4. Bold Turbo Badge
5. Gloss Black ORVM

Polo - R15 'Razor' alloy wheels
Vento - R15 'LINAS Diamond cut' alloy wheels

Brochure attached along.
File Type: pdf Turbo-Edition-Brochure-Website-2021.pdf (4.89 MB, 967 views)
anthusiast is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 20:57   #26

There is no denying that VW have jumped the shark here ! One thing that folks always want is novelty and especially with cars, the newer the better. I don't care how much good this car is, VW already has the new Polo. How much R&D will it take to reduce that cars length and introduce it in our market ?
TrackDay is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 21:06   #27

Was wondering, VW already got the Turbo variants right ? Okay now it's much cheaper !

Originally Posted by Dr.Naren View Post
I don't care whatever VW calls it and that turbo sticker. At 6.99 lakhs, this is the cheapest (and the best) 1.0 turbo petrol on sale today .
Yup , matches Magnite Turbo at 6.99 Lakhs , Most sold Turbo petrol Nexon climbed up from 6.95 Lakhs to 7.10 now!

Altroz may undercut VW after sorting the supply constraints.
Old 15th February 2021, 21:18   #28

Just saw the thread. Came in to read laughing about how stupid VW is- Now collecting my eyeballs from the floor.

This is a great deal!!! As we talk, I've influenced two people to relook at their bookings and switch to Polo. So, consider 2 turbo editions sold.

Ps:No denial on the poor marketing and branding.
WhiteKnight is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 22:09   #29

The Vento pictured seems to have LED headlights. In fact, the only reason to go for the highline plus was the LED headlamps. If this is true, then it's a brilliant deal!
Turbohead is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 23:12   #30

Originally Posted by WhiteKnight View Post
Just saw the thread. Came in to read laughing about how stupid VW is- Now collecting my eyeballs from the floor.

This is a great deal!!! As we talk, I've influenced two people to relook at their bookings and switch to Polo. So, consider 2 turbo editions sold.

Ps:No denial on the poor marketing and branding.
On the same lines, I am also thinking of checking this one out. Earlier the choice had narrowed down to Polo Highline Plus and Rapid Rider plus.
For me the main difference is in the wheel size (16/15) and the absence of touchscreen system. Don't use Cruise control, and rest is some features, so that's ok.
Will see how significant this looks, given the difference of around Rs 1 Lac.
Hungry_joe is offline   (1) Thanks