Old 10th January 2007, 17:01   #16

Are they going to fit the U-VA engine into this? Would be cool I thought
That's exactly what I was thinking. The 1.0L for economisers and the 1.2L for performance seekers. What about the 1.3L Fiat MJD thats tipped as one of the engines for the Spark by some auto mags. I don't think that engine will be given to the Spark. I don't see how they will be able to price the car at a saleable price point with that diesel engine. Also, I hate that centrally mounted instrument cluster. I am hoping against hope that GM fixes that before the launch!

Last edited by amit : 10th January 2007 at 17:02.
Old 10th January 2007, 17:08   #17

Chevy Spark exterior is better than Estilo (subjective), though not sure who will win the interior space and equipment levels.
Old 11th January 2007, 01:50   #18

i gess if gm can get the price bracket right i think they have a OUTRIGHT WINNER in chevy spark
Old 11th January 2007, 11:01   #19

IMO GM will keep prices high like what it did with U-VA. Price range would be 3.25-4.5 lakh while I think at least one version should start at 3 lakh!
Old 11th January 2007, 11:09   #20

Looks much better than the Estilio. Estilio makes the Wagon R look nice. Chevy Spark is real cute. Hope GM plonks in the U-Va engine and keeps prices of spares low.
Old 11th January 2007, 11:20   #21

Originally Posted by yeis View Post
IMO GM will keep prices high like what it did with U-VA. Price range would be 3.25-4.5 lakh while I think at least one version should start at 3 lakh!
Isnt that the range the Estilo operates at, or is it into Wagon R territory?
Old 11th January 2007, 16:00   #22

Estilo's rear seat is a two-seater, whereas in my current Matiz, three can be accommodated at the back. Also, if you are 5'10" and sit on the rear seat, your head will touch the roof in the Estilo. From that point of view, Estilo is a much smaller car than Spark.
Old 11th January 2007, 18:20   #23

If Chevvy Spark price starts from Ex showroom 2.65 lacs for basic version I am sure it will sell like hot cake the main reason is most of the indian car buyers look price forgetting safety and quality as his first importance while buying the car. Thats why Maruti cars sell so much. Its expected to continue for the next few years untill awareness is created among car buyers or least priced cars (like Maruti cars ..) improve their quality and increase safety.

Spark look great for sure ! from every angle. Only pricing is important stuff which we are waiting to see.

Last edited by ravibhat : 11th January 2007 at 18:22.
Old 11th January 2007, 18:25   #24

I think GM needs a bread-and-butter car like the M800 or the Alto...rather than the zen.... They should have launched a base version in the magical "< 3L figure" that would be cool!!!
Old 11th January 2007, 19:44   #25

Rs. 2.65L??

Spark is a much superior car to Estilo/WagonR. It shd be priced exactly as the Estilo.
Old 11th January 2007, 19:56   #26

It shd be priced exactly as the Estilo
Absolutely why should it be priced lower than an estilo.It belongs to a higher segment than the alto and belongs more in the santro,estilo segment.

Spark is not meant to take on the maruti alto.Speaking by the earlier matiz experience the spark should actually have more space than the estilo even[However not able to confirm this now]

Last edited by rahul_intlad : 11th January 2007 at 20:04.
Old 11th January 2007, 20:41   #27

Anybody remember how much the Matiz costed when it bowed out. Although it had an 800cc engine.
Old 11th January 2007, 20:45   #28

Originally Posted by Mpower View Post
Anybody remember how much the Matiz costed when it bowed out. Although it had an 800cc engine.
Without discounts the base SS was about 2.80L, SD about 3.20L & top model was 3.80L. All prices on-road Delhi in 2000/2001.

Last edited by iraghava : 11th January 2007 at 20:47.
Old 11th January 2007, 20:59   #29

Saw Chevy Spark today near ARAI. It was coming from other direction so could not get a photograph.
But one thing is for certain, Spark has lot more road presence than Estilo.
Old 11th January 2007, 21:00   #30

Looks the same as I posted?