Old 2nd March 2021, 19:59   #16

Re: The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car

Our 2012 XUV and 2014 duster both have clocked more than 2 lakh kilometres. No major work done on duster except synchro rings were replaced under warranty, shock absorbers were changed at around 1.5 lakh kilometres and radiator, intercooler were changed proactively. XUV had its stock suspension refreshed at 2 lakhs along with brakes at both ends. XUV had its clutch replaced under warranty at 20k kilometres and it's still on that clutch. Duster is on its stock clutch, ac, front discs and rear drums. Planning to sell XUV due to rust being everywhere (there are holes in body and doors). Duster will be around till wheels fall off.
I've seen multiple cars of almost all manufacturers cross 2-3 lakh kilometre. Somehow after reading all the forums I got the idea cars are only good till lakh kilometres but yeah 2-3 lakh kilometres are nothing if just service manual is followed and nothing extra is done.
Stolidus500 is offline   (29) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2021, 20:42   #17

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-screenshot_20210302203713_instagram.jpg

Make: Maruti Suzuki Swift Zxi 1.3

Model: October 2006.

Milestone reached: March 2017.

Major work: Head gasket replaced, head worked on at around 1,50,000 km.

Current Odo: 2,65,7xx since Jan 2020,(odo conked off, not repaired since)

Plan to sell: Never if upto me, EV conversion is a dream/aspiration.

Last edited by 88_TANK_88 : 2nd March 2021 at 20:44.
88_TANK_88 is offline   (47) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2021, 21:51   #18

I had some very high mileage cars in the middle East.

Honda Oddessey 2013, clocked 245k kms, sold it in 2019. Normal servicing wear and tear. Drive didn't feel much different than new.
Issue: AC couldn't keep up in summers of Qatar which were 50 degrees+ hence had changed the compeessor twice.

Nissan Sunny 2007, clocked 375k kms. Made in Japan and what a work horse. It was my site visit car and not once did it break down nor gave me any issues. I had driven it on deserted site roads which weren't roads honestly. Routine maintenance and regular wear and tear. Heck it wasnt even serviced always on time. Even the ac was stock and it yet was sold for a decent amount. Damn that engine was a marvel of the Japs. Things changed after Nissan started getting Made in India Sunny's to the middle east in 2013 which were a disaster. They would die out in 60% lesser time than the made in Japan ones.

Ford Flex 2009, clocked 235k kms. built like a tank. One of the most comfortable cars I have ever sat and driven. This car was serviced to the T and kept me very happy for 8 years of ownership. The only issue was oil leakage from the PTU (power transfer unit) basically the 4wd system. It was too expensive to replace and as it was a manufacturing defect i decided to sell it.

Sorry i do not have photos of the cars as after i Moved back to India I don't have them handy.
SN88 is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2021, 23:08   #19

Wonderful thread!

Toyota Qualis with 4,23,000+ kms.

Year: 2004,
make: Toyota
model: Qualis GS 8 seater
engine: 2.4 L, 75 BHP & 151 Nm

Current odo reading: 4,23,600 kms

Major work done : None, all minor repairs and replacements like suspension parts (ball joints, tie rods, bushes), belts, oils, glow plugs, AC gas, etc. Recently got it restored (external denting & painting, headlight and taillight assemblies) to take the car to RTO for RC / fitness renewal.

It is still on the original engine, alternator, cooling coil, radiator, ac compressor, condenser, evaporator, wiper motors (including front and rear wash pump motors), basically all the mechanical and electrical parts are original and are in good shape even now! Even all the 4 shock absorbers and rear leaf springs are original, we just had to nipp them.

How much longer do you plan to retain her?

As long as the govt permits old diesel vehicles to ply on roads

• Pictures

Odometer

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-img_20200903_072204.jpg

Front

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-img_20201005_120250.jpg

Rear

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-img_20200830_140322.jpg

TRD logo on front grill

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-img_20201014_203301.jpg

The legendary Toyota badge on the original grill. This is one of the most reliable Toyotas out there. We have an Innova 1st gen and a Crysta, but nothing can match the reliability of Qualis. It still has a lot of original parts despite having 4 lakh + kms of wear and tear!

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-img_20200830_140236.jpg

When our colony in Hyderabad was flooded in October 2020, all the modern cars including Mercs, BMWs even Hondas, Hyundais, Marutis with fancy ECUs and immobilizers went dead. It was only the Qualis and good old Tata Sierra which worked effortlessly even in the flood water.

Tata Sierra with 2,52,500 + kms

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-img_20201205_151003.jpg

This is another legendary car we relied on for all those long trips back in the day! These cars were much more reliable than the fiats and ambassadors in those days. We have 3 Tata Sierras and each of them clocked more than 2 lakh kms, they literally covered most of the major cities and states in India.

Year: 1996,
make: Tata
model: Sierra
engine: 2 L, 68 BHP & 110 Nm

Current odo reading: 2,52,680 kms

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-i32229.jpg

Major work done : Engine overhaul at 1,50,000 kms at TASS, Mahavir Tata (now dealers of Mercedes Benz and Skoda in Hyderabad), clutch replacement and clutcch master and slave cylinder replacement twice, suspension overhaul, etc.

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-i32234.jpg

I just have the picture of this Sierra's odo, other two sierras (1992 & 1995) also clocked more than 2 lakh kms and about 2 lakh kms each, I'll try to get pics of their odometers soon.

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-i32224.jpg

How much longer do you plan to retain her?

Probably for the life time (not the car's 15 year life time, but my life time), Yes I know I'm very sentimental and emotional about my Sierras, but that is what it is! Here's a short post in this forum on my love for my Sierras.

Next our Toyota Innova will join the 2 lakh kms club soon. Current ODO is on 1,77,000 kms. After purchasing Crysta in 2018, our 1st gen Innova's running has become very less. I still prefer Innova over Crysta for the more planted ride quality and ride comfort during highway trips.

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-img_20200117_155409.jpg
WhiteSierra is offline   (97) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2021, 06:55   #20

Hello Bhpians,

Presenting you my uncle's vento.

Year, Make & model: 2013 VW Vento TDI Highline
Present odo reading: 201xxx
Major repairs: Replaced all fuel injectors once due to adulterated diesel. Replaced secondary water pump twice. Apart from this regular consumables were replaced at specified intervals.

He has no immediate plans to sell as of now. Still, I am trying to get his attention towards the tiguan allspace.

He is the first owner and takes great care in maintaining it. The ride quality is way better than my 2019 vento. Even after completing 2L kms, the turbo will push you back in the seat. I just love shifting that slick 5 speed transmission. It's a beast in disguise.

Once behind the wheel, it's more than enough for a middle aged man to turn into an 18 year old teen.

As of today, there are some pending repairs to be taken care of. The coolant level is dropping at a slow rate and AC isn't working effectively. In search of a trusted mechanic in HYD.

Any guidance in this regard will be appreciated.
The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-img_20210225_204113.jpg  

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-img_20210224_110601.jpg  

Last edited by 2TR-FE : 3rd March 2021 at 06:57.
2TR-FE is offline   (54) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2021, 07:27   #21

Well why do I see a pattern here. Has anyone noticed that almost every car here is a diesel. This shows the reliability of diesels. Well I can't post my 2006 Octavia TDi here as it is sitting at the 160000 kms mark. A lot of road trips hot cancelled due to Covid, so very low running for the past year.

It's happy to see that owners cling on to cars for so long. I plan to keep mine as long as it runs or as long as the government allows us to drive cars.
OctYFAN is offline   (22) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2021, 07:48   #22

Year, make, model & engine : Dec 2014 Hyundai Fluidic Verna 1.6 CRDI SX(O) (6 Years 3 months)

Current odo reading : 2,72,335 kms

Major work done : Steering Rack changed at 2L kms. Still running on stock clutch and suspension.

How much longer do you plan to retain her? : As long as she keeps running. I bought this car for that brilliant 1.6CRDI engine and the slick 6 speed manual gearbox. The car performs as it did when I first got her home - not a single rattle/squeak. Munches miles effortlessly - can cruise sedately or can turn into a beast. I’ve had so many memories with this car that giving it away is just not possible.

Usage : If I step out of the house this car is the one that does the running. I take it everywhere I go. Daily work drives of 100+ kms to 24hour non stop highway drives to GQ and K2K runs + weekend highway runs. Lockdown/fuel price hike, does not matter- she does 45k kms religiously every year.

Pictures :

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-21d3f2dec2584caf91456a45a385d3a6.jpeg

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-0a65445202584b4aadff14fc66c0e1bb.jpeg

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-df24abfeb1f9456198268ae891ae60a2.jpeg
drhoneycake is offline   (94) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2021, 10:22   #23

Congrats BHPians on maintaining your rides so well. I need ~55k km to reach the 200k km on my Ford Fusion. (In the US though) With the declining manufacturing quality, I feel Indian cars from early 2000s to first half of decade starting in the 2010s are the best made. I doubt cars like the 2020 Seltos/Verna will last 200k without any major work.

Request: Can we not list clutch replacement & suspension overhauls as major work? These parts take a beating in any Indian car driven for 200k km and aren't complicated to replace unless you have a German Luxury brand.
landcruiser123 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2021, 11:42   #24

Originally Posted by OctYFAN View Post
Well why do I see a pattern here. Has anyone noticed that almost every car here is a diesel. This shows the reliability of diesels.
It might also be because hitting the 2L mark requires high monthly usage, and people used to buy diesel cars for such usage patterns.
shobhit.shri is offline   (29) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2021, 11:57   #25

Originally Posted by drhoneycake View Post

Still running on stock clutch and suspension.
A clutch is designed to last the life of the car if used properly. This usage bears testimony to that.

I hear so many complaining of replacing clutches early quoting problems with the manufacturer while actually it is a problem with the way they drive.

Take a bow mate. And many more happy miles of motoring.
AMG Power is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2021, 12:19   #26

• Year, make, model & engine
MARUTI ESTEEM DI
• Odo reading
3,42,223 km.
The odometer had only 5 digits which turned over thrice
• Details on the Car: Can be found on this thread: https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-...-lakh-kms.html (300,000 kms in 7.5 years on my Esteem Diesel. EDIT: Sold @ 3.4 Lakh kms)

Odometer Reading at 2,99,880 km
The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-odometer-reading-299880.jpg

Random Shots
The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-first.jpg

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-exterior-1.jpg
benzinblut is offline   (53) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2021, 13:13   #27

Originally Posted by OctYFAN View Post
Well why do I see a pattern here.
Probably the reason being running.

People sell the cars off for two reasons:

I believe that the petrol cars are mostly sold earlier because of the first factor. Owners most have low running, and they simply sell the cars off with 50-60k kms mostly after 6-7 years of usage.

While with the diesels, they run daily, some of them run a few hundred kilometers per day, so, they end up crunching such numbers.

That said, there is one such car in this thread too, the following.

Originally Posted by 88_TANK_88 View Post
Make: Maruti Suzuki Swift Zxi 1.3

Current Odo: 2,65,7xx since Jan 2020,(odo conked off, not repaired since)
That's an awesome figure. In case you have cmposed an ownership review, please share the link, if not, requesting you to please compose one. Would love to know more about how this baby is holding on after 15 years and 2.65 lac kms of usage.

Originally Posted by 2TR-FE View Post
Year, Make & model: 2013 VW Vento TDI Highline
Present odo reading: 201xxx
Every time a VW comes up here, it gives me immense confidence. When I bought mine, ever service guys used to say that it lasts 1-1.5 lac kms only on the factory engine, probably even they were too new to see high mileage cars back then!

Originally Posted by drhoneycake View Post
[b]
Current odo reading : 2,72,335 kms

Major work done : Steering Rack changed at 2L kms. Still running on stock clutch and suspension.
Dear Dr., you are blessed with two skills:
  • Writing: Yes, I am talking about 'that' thread of yours, I remember that red light incident even after years of reading it
  • Driving: It is the second thing every man things he is best at, and your case is proven too! Stock clutch and suspension with this mileage is a serious achievement man.

I accept it that I have never seen the suspension of any of my cars last even 50k kms without some small repair work, and 100k definitely means that steering rack, suspension, brake rotors etc are definitely replaced in my cars. No wonder, I sell them off after crossing 1 lac, while you guys still feel confident with yours with even more than 2 lac on odo.Will try to hit 2 lac on my Polo TDi this time, but my list of repairs is probably going to be the longest of all.
VKumar is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2021, 13:47   #28

Now this is a thread to my own heart! If I could list all my cars that met this criteria we would be running out of server space. So let me just say I am a huge fan of high mileage cars. They need to be properly maintained, but for me it is the best kind of ownership you could wish for.

I will just concentrate on my current two cars with over 200.000 on the clock. Remarkebly, my oldest car, my 1982 Mercedes W123 200 (petrol) has the least mileage of them! Only about 179.491000 km.

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-img_3877.jpg

In Mercedes W123 terms that is almost run in, so we won’t be bothering with such a low mileage for this thread

So here we go with my current 200K plus cars

2002 Jaguar, X308 / XJR Supercharged 4.0L V8
Current odo reading: 164.884 miles ( 272.718 km)

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-screenshot-20210303-8.40.12-am.png

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-img_3874.jpg

I bought this car in 2009 when we lived in Kansas City, the USA. In fact, I bought this car, from Ebay, on my second day in the USA, sitting in my hotel room. I needed a car, I always loved the X308 and its supercharged engine. This one popped up and the rest is history as they say. I flew from Kansas City to Charlotte, North Carolina to pick it up. The owner picked me up at the airport and that was the first time I saw it in real life. We went to his home, for the final paperwork and I set off for my very first road trip across the USA, going back home. Many trips would follow.

During the three years in Kansas City it was my daily drive. I had the autobox flushed and the leather driver and front passenger seat re-spray painted. I replaced the front discs and the brake micro switch. The throttle body was replaced as a courtesy measure by Jaguer. Other than that and the usual regular maintenance nothing special. I bought it with 93.000 miles (154.000km) on the clock. Three years later that was about 140.00 mile (231.560km).

In 2012 we moved from Kansas City to Delhi. I send the car with the rest of our house hold good back to my home country. I rarely used it during the next four years as we were living and working in Delhi. Mid 2016 we moved back to the Netherlands. Upon arrival at Amsterdam airport I went straight away to my mate, a friendly mechanic, who had kept it in storage for me!

Since 2016 I have done quite some additional maintenance. The box got another flush. Sealed for life according to Jaguar. In practice that only applies to the first 100-130.00 km. Amongst other things, I upgraded the waterpump and thermostat (Known Jaguar upgrade based on one of their TB (Technical Bulletins). I replaced the hydraulic and some cooling fluid hoses. Replaced and upgraded the super charger electrical cooling pump, fixed quite a few electrical and electronic niggles. I damaged it two or three times, all but once, my own stupid mistake.

I had the front seats out and the leather partly restored/replaced and completely resprayed. Engine compartment was cleaned with dry-ice.

For such a high end, very luxurious and complex car its regular maintenance is remarkable simple.

1986 Alfa Romeo Spider Aerodynamica, series # QV, 2.0l
Current ODO reading 132.997miles (219.977 km)

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-screenshot-20210303-8.41.00-am.png

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-img_3876.jpg

I bought my Spider in 2005 from a local Alfa Romeo Dealer. It was owned and run by a couple. Every year they travelled over the USA and went looking for Alfa Spider to buy and bring back to the Netherlands. They would do a full engine overhaul, fix whatever needed fixing, respray, new hood etc. Mine was retro-fitted with the so called high compression pistons. Adding a few more HP and better low end torque. Also, the various body panels that are part of the QC version were removed. So it looks like the USA Spider Veloce version. (Never liked those body kits)

Over the years/decades I have had every part, every bolt, nut washer in my hands, often multiple times. I have done a lot of work on this car. The real big ticket items:

The car was treated with a Dinitrol anti rust coating, which gets re-done every 5-7 years
The car’s paint was treated with a special Teflon coating, including the four light weight alumunium wheels.
Removed the catalytic convertor (on this car it is actually legal for me to do so)
Removed the rear exhaust dampner. This together with the removal of the catalytic convertor gives a much better sound and much better low end torque
Had both seats, re-upholstered with black leather including both door cards
Replaced the original ZF steering box, with a Buhrman steering box. The Buhrman is considered to be superior steering box. But was only fitted on earlier Spiders.
Replaced the original steering wheel with my own “Personal” steering wheel I have owned since the early 80s.
Replaced the pathetic US radio and sound system with a Kenwood Mask system (radio, cassette, 6CD changer and Mask anti theft protection)
A few of the big jobs I have done over the years, other than the regular maintenance
- Replaced the clutch twice. (first time there was something wrong and I had to redo it all)
- Replaced the waterpump (on Spider a tricky job)
- Replaced the thermostat 3-4 times
- Replaced the shocks all round
- Replaced the trailing arms
- Replaced all the various bushes in all suspension components
- Replaced the idler steering box and rebushed it once
- Replaced all calipers/discs/pads front and rear multiple times
- Overhauled/Replaced brake master cilinder and master/slave clutch cilinders
- Replaced rebound straps
- Overhauled wipers electric motor and linkage
- Replaced engine mounts
- Overhauled/replaced parking brake ratchet mechanism several times
- Speedometer repaired and calibrated at exact speed.
- Replaced steering knuckles
- Replaced just about all oil seals several times on engine crank, gearbox and differential (engine out twice job to replace the engine crank seals)

The above list is certainly not all, but it is just what springs to mind. What is interesting to see the difference between the Alfa and the Jaguar. The Jaguar although considerable more mileages has had far less work carried out! The Spider has proven to be a very reliable car too. It always got us home. So all the above jobs and a lot more never stopped us from enjoying it, all over Europe.

Although the Jaguar was my regular daily drive for three years, both cars (and the W123) are essentially hobby cars now. So the annual mileage tends to be less. We used the Jaguar primarily for longer drives when we go out for a day trip, maybe a long weekend or so. It is really a very luxurious, super fast, cruiser. On average 6000 - 7500 km a year.

The Spider gets used for fun trips here in the Netherlands and all over Europe. I used to clock 8000- 10.000 km a year, but that is down to about half that.

As I mentioned before I have owned quite a few cars that did well over 200K. The other one, also bought in the USA was our Jeep Cherokee (1998). I loved that car. Can’t quite remember how much mileage, but it had more than 200K when we bought it. 4.0Liters, straight 6 cilinder. Bomb proof engine and a very simple car mechanically. Great in the snow!

If you want to follow all the work I do on all three of my cars, including visiting technical car events, shows etc have a look here:

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/diy-d...eo-spider.html

I started this thread early 2017 after we had moved back to the Netherlands.

Jeroen

Last edited by Jeroen : 3rd March 2021 at 13:50.
Jeroen is offline   (76) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2021, 14:31   #29

One of my relatives had multiple cars which had crossed 2 Lakh +. A couple of them came into my mind.

1. Lancer Diesel, sold after 3 lakh kilometers for a very good price. Touchwood with regular replacement & maintenance.

2. Toyota Corolla, Last 3 generations with each of them covering 2 lakh+ and was replaced one after the other.

Some of his other cars which had done 1 Lakh+ kilometer are TATA Estate(sold), 2 Pajeros (sold), Nano, Innova Crysta, etc.

Last edited by kamilharis : 3rd March 2021 at 14:34.
kamilharis is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2021, 14:50   #30

Hello Guys,

Here goes my list:
1. Swift VDi - something over 215000 kms in 3 years
2. Fiat Punto - something over 200000 kms in 3 years
3. VW Jetta TDI DSG - Around 140000 kms in 2 years (car was bought at 52k kms and sold at 192k kms)
4. VW Passat TDI DSG - Around 287000 kms in 4 years (car was bought at 83k kms and sold at 371k kms)
5. RE 500 - 380000 kms in 12 years
6. Mitsubishi Pajero SFX - Has just crossed the 121k mark, was bought last year at 71k kms

Last edited by Aditya : 4th March 2021 at 14:07. Reason: Slang
epicenter.rulez is offline   (42) Thanks