(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
How about
JEEP? At time SUV is being called a Jeep!
Originally Posted by Dr.Abhi
(Post 5023817)
Once my ecosport had a small shunt with a two wheeler. The other person kept on referring my ecosport as 'your Maruti' and I was like where is Maruti in whole picture?? After good 2 minutes I understood his POV. So we can conclude, in India, we can call any small four wheeler as 'Maruti'. |
This incident happened somewhere in Punjab? If yes then its 'normal' as Maruti equates to car in most of the rural Punjab :D
Not exactly an automobile brand, but the term Mobil is still widely used to refer to engine oil of any kind. :uncontrol
I still hear many people, most of them drivers, saying, "Gaadi ka Mobil change karwane ka time aa gaya."
Chota haati first popularised by Tata ace is now commonly used for maxximo, ace, dost...
People who have travelled in rural North India might be knowing this. Mini-buses in rural areas are commonly known as "Magic", going by the name of of Tata mini-van.
Here's something from the water, niche market.
Gemini Marine is one of the companies which makes these but any small inflatable boat with a collar and an outboard motor has come to be commonly referred to as a 'Gemini'.
When actually inflatable boats were invented by Zodiac boats.
Zodiac has been mastering air and water exploration with a truly innovative approach since its creation in 1896. Zodiac finds its orgins in the “Zodiac airships and aviation French company”, specialized in the production of airships. In the 1930s Pierre Debroutelle, one of its engineers, invented one of the first prototypes of inflatable boats for the Aeronavale, who were looking for innovative and easy solution for military transport
|

Not exactly on topic but many products till 80s and 90s were known by their company name.
Maruti 800 - Maruti
Hero Honda CD 100 - Hero Honda
Premier Padmini - FIAT
Yamaha RX-100 - Yamaha
Originally Posted by VKumar
(Post 5023298)
If it's a luxury bus, it's a Volvo, You demand a 'Volvo' to a travel agent, and until you specify that you need "Volvo waali Volvo (Volvo bus from Volvo company)", you may get anything that is equipped with AC, air suspension and push back seats. |
Absolutely agree to this! Reminds me of a fun little incident that happened when I was visiting my native town. This is a small-ish town that is normally only serviced by dingy non-AC sleeper coaches. My dad and I saw a bus with the name Volvo plastered all across it but I could definitely tell that the bus was a Tata. My dad went up to the travel agent and asked him about it and his reply was,
"Ji Tata ki bus hai par Volvo ka aaraam hai!" (It's a Tata bus but it has the comfort of a Volvo).
Goes on to show the incredible brand equity that the company enjoys. :D
Two Delhi specific generic words
We call all commercial three wheelers as
Vikram (Tata Ace is slowly catching up too), even if it is by Mahindra, Tata or whatever.
A lot of the younger crowd including my friends and their friends for some stupid reason call Honda City as just
ivtec, that will sound stupid but that's the case, i tried to reason with them that even Brio and Civic come with ivtec engines and badges on them but to no avail, they even call my car diesel ivtec (Honda City iDtec) lol:
By the way this used to be Vikram, one should pray they don't encounter this on roads, this used to climb flyovers at 20km/h, more often than not drivers driving in parallel with each other thereby blocking the traffic behind them, this was one of the major reasons behind the no entry of commercial vehicles in peak hours (8-10 am and 5-8 pm if i'am not wrong), i have no idea weather this rule is applicable in other states or if you guys are acquainted with this state of the art machine!

Funny yet interesting topic.
In rural north Karnataka the Force Trax series is most commonly referred to as crusher. This is a mispronunciation for The Trax Cruiser or Toofan. Nowadays, all such overload friendly passenger vehicles are referred to as "Crusher". Be it old Armadas, or new Wingers.
PS: I myself cant make out the difference between the Cruiser and the Toofan. rl:
A very old school example, but in the 50s, 60s, 70s and even 80s any long, wide, classy American car (land yachts) were called
Impala:
Towards the late 80s and 90s, Contessa and Mercedes became synonyms of “luxury car”:
Another phenomenon that I still see in some rural areas is that any small 4 wheeler is called “Maruti”, any scooter is called “Activa” and any SUV is called “Jeep”.
When Octavia came into our market and became a popular name about 2 decades back, it was generally referred as a Skoda. In those days, a Skoda meant nothing else but Octavia, though it changed as time passed by.
Many people in my village would say "He is driving a Honda." for person who drives any humble 100cc commuter, regardless of whether he or she is driving a Splendor, Passion, Platina or Shine.
Currently, many feel that all PseudoSUVs are 'Creta'. Nexon, Brezza, Sonet, etc. are considered as Creta by layman who isn't much interested into vehicles.
One cannot miss Xylo arriving at doorstep when one is looking to book an Innova. Because both are same car, but modified and rebadged. :D
All toothpaste is a Colgate until one reads the manufacturer label on it.
Originally Posted by Abhi5868
(Post 5023420)
BULLET
The legendary name bullet has become synonymous to the Royal Enfield brand, so much that although the highest selling product is the Classic lineup, they're all bullet for the Indian Junta.
|
Originally Posted by karan0009
(Post 5023423)
A lot of old generation Royal Enfield bikes like classic, electra and thunderbird is commonly referred as "Bullet". |
Not only RE line up, even Honda Hiness is often called as Honda Bullet rl:
--Anoop
So in Kerala, any road that is wide enough for a pick-up to fit in is called a "Mazda" road. Mazda could be either Eicher, Canter, 407, the erstwhile Dyna (DCM Toyota), Matador F307, or the Bolero pick-up.
And the Bolero pick-up is called "Naay-kurukkan" meaning a cross between a fox and a dog.
And the Tata Iris, Ace and company are always referred to as "Velli-Moonga" meaning white owl, and going by the looks of it, rightly so.
Good Topic. I work with Earthmoving Machinery manufacturer and can give inputs here related to correct terminology of Earthmoving Machinery to fellow BHPians.
To start with there are various kinds of Construction/Mining/Material Handling/Earthmoving Machinery/Forestry machinery etc and their further derivatives as per the application requirement. Since JCB Backhoe Loader is basically an Earthmoving Machine but termed as JCB in generic in India, so I would limit this response to Earthmoving Machines.
The Earthmoving Machinery (& its derivative applications) Terminology is followed as per the International Standard
ISO 6165-Earth-moving machinery — Basic types — Identification and terms and definitions.
Following are Basic Type of Earthmoving Machines. I am taking the photos of the different machinery from internet to quote the example for easy understanding.
1) Bulldozers Global OEMs: Caterpillar, Komatsu, BEML.
2) Wheel Loaders GLobal OEMs: Caterpillar, Komatsu, Volvo, JCB etc
3) Backhoe Loaders (This particular machine has given the Branding of JCB to JCB ). It is actually called as "Backhoe Loader" because it has a
"backhoe bucket" at rear and "loader bucket" at the front. Global OEMs: Off Course JCB, CASE, Komatsu, Caterpillar, Bobcat etc
4) Hydraulic Excavators Global OEMs: Caterpillar, Komatsu, JCB, Hyundai, Kobelco, Volvo, BEML, SANY, Liugong etc
5) Dump Trucks Global OEMs: Komatsu, Caterpillar, BEML, Liebherr, Belaz etc
7) Scrapers Global OEMs: Caterpillar
8) Motor Graders Global OEMs: Komatsu, Caterpillar, Volvo, SANY etc
9) Pipe Layers Global OEMs: It is derivative appliation of Hydraulic Excavtors. Generally Excavator manufacturer can manufacture this.
10) Trenchers Global OEMs: Caterpillar, Vermeer, Bobcat
11) Landfill Compactors Global OEMs : Caterpillar, Komatsu
12) Cable Excavators
Global OEMs: P&H (Owned by Komatsu), Caterpillar.
13) Rollers Global OEMs: Volvo, Wirtgen (HAMM), SANY, CASE
Conclusion: All yellow machines are not JCB:Cheering:, All Earthmoving manufacturers are not JCB. In fact the biggest Earthmoving Equipment manufacturers in the world are Caterpillar, Komatsu, Volvo, Hitachi & Liebherr. When it comes to large size Earthmoving Eqipment used in Open Cast Mining Eg Dump Trucks, Large Size Excavators : Komatsu & Caterpillar rule the world.