Old 11th May 2021, 00:56   #211

Re: Volkswagen Taigun | A Close Look & Preview

Originally Posted by armumbai View Post
I find this thread hilarious. In a country where most take decision to get married based on a snap, if at all, what's wrong in deciding whether a car matches our need based on a photograph and some carefully crafted details released by the seller. [/i].
If arranged marriages were based on slow drip of features and views like VW Skoda is doing , most arranged marriages would be terminated before signoff

Slow drip is a double edged sword , giving potential customers a fair view of whether the car suits them or not , even before actual launch. Customers don't like it ..then boom it's DOA.
JishD is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th May 2021, 11:28   #212

Originally Posted by JishD View Post

Slow drip is a double edged sword , giving potential customers a fair view of whether the car suits them or not , even before actual launch. Customers don't like it ..then boom it's DOA.
On a lighter note, an arranged marriage works the same. See a snap, not like what you see and poof there’s goes off possibly the best partner for you, into the sunset. Having said that the system works in India quite successfully, one may safely assume. So the gist I am getting at is that, most people find what really matters to them, in the sort of preview exercise that Skoda/VW is going through right now. Well like you say it’s a double edged sword as first impressions do matter a lot. I wonder statistically how many of those put off at this preview would not also be be put off if a physical review and committed spec sheet was available.

I can tell you I’m now getting impatient and annoyed that my Sonet buying is being put off by Skoda/VW. Can’t wait for the price and feature list confirmation to know if it fits my budget / needs or not. Added to the pandemic caused lockdown restrictions, this is a needlessly added irritant
armumbai is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th May 2021, 11:57   #213

Some dealerships started taking bookings for Taigun for Rs. 10000.

They're saying if we book now, we could expect the delivery by August or September and If booked later after the launch, they'll deliver November/December.

Is it advisable to book now?

Pictures sent by the dealer. Red looks slightly dull.
Volkswagen Taigun | A Close Look & Preview-whatsapp-image-20210514-11.29.39-am.jpeg  

Volkswagen Taigun | A Close Look & Preview-whatsapp-image-20210514-11.29.38-am.jpeg  

Volkswagen Taigun | A Close Look & Preview-whatsapp-image-20210514-11.29.39-am-1.jpeg  

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 14th May 2021 at 13:00. Reason: Back to back posts merged. Please edit your previous post and add contents if reposting within 30 minutes. Thanks!
anto1212 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 14th May 2021, 12:40   #214

Originally Posted by anto1212 View Post
Pictures sent by the dealer. Red looks slightly dull.
Interestingly, that first image is a cropped version from the Volkswagen Phillipines home page for the TCross -

Volkswagen Taigun | A Close Look & Preview-screenshot_20210514123726_chrome.jpg

Are we getting such a big sunroof here? Or did someone at VW just photoshop the TCross to Taigun?
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 14th May 2021, 12:59   #215

Interestingly, that first image is a cropped version from the Volkswagen Phillipines home page for the TCross -

Attachment 2155770

Are we getting such a big sunroof here? Or did someone at VW just photoshop the TCross to Taigun?
Going by Powerdrift’s clip of the short walk-around of the Taigun shown during the unveil, it’s a small sunroof and certainly not the panoramic type as shown by the dealer:

Volkswagen Taigun | A Close Look & Preview-23363e91ee374f4783891f7f7b9e154f.png
Gannu_1 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th May 2021, 13:00   #216

Attachment 2155770

It's probably T-cross images from the Philippines. If you look closely, you can see it's an LHD.

Regarding the panoramic sunroof, the dealer confirmed it will be a normal electric sun roof.

Maybe after a year or so, we might the panoramic sunroof in facelift
Old 14th May 2021, 17:47   #217

Interestingly, that first image is a cropped version from the Volkswagen Phillipines home page for the TCross

Looks like all pictures are from the export/international T-Cross. Reason: No gloss black finish (fake quarter glass) behind the rear windows and different ORVMs.

Also looking at the number plate visible, it is pretty clear Taigun has been placed on top (especially the third picture).

Last edited by CEF_Beasts : 14th May 2021 at 17:49.
Old 14th May 2021, 21:56   #218

It looks dope.

Will the top variant be under 20 lakhs ? and will Volkswagen provide it in black color, unlike T-Cross ?

Last edited by suhaas307 : 19th May 2021 at 11:15. Reason: spacing for improved readability
Old 15th May 2021, 00:04   #219

Originally Posted by anto1212 View Post
They're saying if we book now, we could expect the delivery by August or September and If booked later after the launch, they'll deliver November/December.

Is it advisable to book now?
If you are not in a rush to own a car, its advisable to wait for 4 to 5 months to know about the initial feedback & niggles faced since this is a new product.

BTW Taigun looks slick in blue, hope this shade is available at launch.

Last edited by Aditya : 16th May 2021 at 05:56. Reason: Quote tags fixed
CafeRacer16 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th May 2021, 09:59   #220

Originally Posted by CafeRacer16 View Post
If you are not in a rush to own a car, its advisable to wait for 4 to 5 months to know about the initial feedback & niggles faced since this is a new product.

BTW Taigun looks slick in blue, hope this shade is available at launch.
Thanks, I've pre booked the car and will wait for initial reviews. I need a car by September/October.

Dealer said Blue color will be available and car will be launched before Onam festival.

Last edited by Aditya : 16th May 2021 at 05:56. Reason: Quote tags fixed
Old 19th May 2021, 05:09   #221
MAS

Got this message from an unknown contact on WhatsApp

**LAUNCHING SOON**

*WAIT* !! to feel the Adrenaline in your head.

*WAIT* ! to make your senses go into overdrive.

*WAIT* ! to experience the real *GOOSEBUMPS* on your arms .

*WAIT* ! to experience the start of something new .

LAUNCHING SOON the most awaited *THE ALL NEW VOLKSWAGEN TAIGUN.*

*Ex SHOWROOM PRICE* is *Rs* 10 Lacs to 17 Lacs

To know more . CALL *9790866066*��

The price seems to be realistic..

Last edited by MAS : 19th May 2021 at 05:13.
MAS is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th May 2021, 11:10   #222

Originally Posted by one-77 View Post
In all likelihood these are just pictures from the T-Cross, and not from the Taigun.

If the much more expensive Tiguan doesn’t get ADAS, how would the Taigun?

(The names are really tongue twisters now if put in the same sentence!)

Besides, when 99% of our roads done have lane markings and 100% of the traffic tends to be Brownian motion, lane departure prevention etc would hardly be of any use.
Lane Assist feature is very useful. It helps you while taking a turn on a highway.

It will not activate below 65 kmph speed.

I have driven 17000km and in my experience 90 % of the time it is active on the highway.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 19th May 2021 at 11:15. Reason: spacing for improved readability
sagwal is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th May 2021, 18:00   #223

Volkswagen Taigun spotted undisguised on public roads

Volkswagen Taigun | A Close Look & Preview-smartselect_20210519180110_youtube.jpg

Volkswagen Taigun | A Close Look & Preview-smartselect_20210519180153_youtube.jpg

Volkswagen Taigun | A Close Look & Preview-smartselect_20210519180211_youtube.jpg

Volkswagen Taigun | A Close Look & Preview-smartselect_20210519180228_youtube.jpg

Volkswagen Taigun | A Close Look & Preview-smartselect_20210519180254_youtube.jpg

Volkswagen Taigun | A Close Look & Preview-smartselect_20210519180325_youtube.jpg

Volkswagen Taigun | A Close Look & Preview-smartselect_20210519180350_youtube.jpg

Volkswagen Taigun | A Close Look & Preview-smartselect_20210519180051_youtube.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 19th May 2021 at 18:06.
Venkatesh is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 19th May 2021, 18:44   #224

[quote=Venkatesh;5065883]Volkswagen Taigun spotted undisguised on public roads

Attachment 2157828

Attachment 2157829

There's no denial in the fact that she's a looker in white! I personaly didn't like the silhouette of the Taigun in pictures, but she holds her pride quite well on the roads. And that rear red strip too, it isn't as gaudy as I presumed it to be, better than a thick chrome strip anyday!
Would love to see her on the showroom floor soon.

Piyush
Old 19th May 2021, 18:59   #225

VW could have kept a simple naming convention. Tiguan S(Taigun), Tiguan M(Actual TIguan), Tiguan L(Allspace). The front end looks so similar and even side profile. Difference is noticed once you see rear or the length. Its not bad looking car, but when you launch something all new, why not make it standout! I am not in favor of T shirt sizing design for car models(Mercedes/Audi and now VW/Skoda).