View Poll Results: What price do you expect?
15 to 21 lacs 191 20.34%
16 to 22 lacs 168 17.89%
17 to 23 lacs 177 18.85%
18 to 24 lacs 184 19.60%
19 to 25 lacs 219 23.32%
Voters: 939. You may not vote on this poll

Old 10th May 2021, 16:05   #121

re: Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs

As seen in the 3rd spy shot, it looks like Mahindra have removed the adjustable headrest for the middle passenger of the 2nd row. Also, the auto-dimming IRVM is absent. This is quite shocking as the former was present in the 1st gen XUV 500 while both these features are present in the XUV 300! Auto-dimming IRVM isn't provided in the Alturas G4 too. It's annoying when one of your favorite brands resort to such cost cutting techniques.
Old 11th May 2021, 07:44   #122

Originally Posted by romil.shroff View Post
As seen in the 3rd spy shot, it looks like Mahindra have removed the adjustable headrest for the middle passenger of the 2nd row. Also, the auto-dimming IRVM is absent. This is quite shocking as the former was present in the 1st gen XUV 500 while both these features are present in the XUV 300! Auto-dimming IRVM isn't provided in the Alturas G4 too. It's annoying when one of your favorite brands resort to such cost cutting techniques.
Well, the reason could be that the variant under testing in this case may not be the top-spec one. Note that entry level variant/s of XUV700 will not have all the comforts/features, even dual-digital cluster MID and infotainment system will be analog, for entry models.
Old 11th May 2021, 08:01   #123

Originally Posted by Drive Head View Post
Hope the floor will be flat without the central hump as is with the present generation. Floor, minus the hump, is a passengers delight.
It is a trade off one has to choose: Either a flat but higher floor or lower floor with a hump.
Old 11th May 2021, 09:15   #124

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
It is a trade off one has to choose: Either a flat but higher floor or lower floor with a hump.
We have a XUV 500 and a Jetta in the family. XUV's 2nd row with the flat floor is a delight where as the Jetta's 2nd row is too crammed and with the hump, it makes impossible to sit three. (Although I am comparing a sedan with a CSUV but this is purely for the hump, and not the space)

Would always prefer a flat but an elevated floor. Makes life easier, at least for me.
Old 11th May 2021, 15:30   #125

According to Autocar India, the Mahindra XUV500 will be back in 2024 as a Creta/Seltos rival.

Isn't 2024 a little too late for this?

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-screen-shot-20210511-3.27.15-pm.png
TejasKinger is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th May 2021, 10:31   #126

Originally Posted by TejasKinger View Post
According to Autocar India, the Mahindra XUV500 will be back in 2024 as a Creta/Seltos rival.

Isn't 2024 a little too late for this?
Yup, too late for sure. Thats a big gap to let go the brand XUV500 . It will provide enough time for Tata, Hyundai and Kia to capture that market. A missed opportunity in my opinion. Maybe M&M thinks that the new scorpio will position itself into that segment for now (and next couple fo years).
Old 13th May 2021, 20:31   #127

I got these bits of info from an insider at Mahindra-

There's going to be 11 variants for the 3 row XUV 500 (which is now being called the XUV 700) - with combinations of Manual & Auto transmissions, AWD options, petrol versus diesel options etc.

There is also work going on to launch a 1.5 litre, 3 cylinder engine Thar 'lite' for light use in the city and such. This project has been envisaged by their marketing team and the end product will be of the same dimensions as the new Thar that we know of; but it'll be 100 kgs lighter, with no 4WD option. Manual and auto transmission options will still be available. It'll come with smaller wheels to go with the reduced torque and to make way for better fuel efficiency. And it'll be priced starting Rs.6.7 lacs. There were enough people who actually demanded a 'lite' version. (Note: I'm referring to it as the 'lite' version on my own; it's not what Mahindra is going to call it.)

The TUV 300/Bolero Neo is very much alive, I am told. Its engine is "being refined" and its results are not yet in. I'm not sure if its a new engine, or if the aforementioned refinement effort has to do with BS VI.

The new Scorpio will have a feature that was originally aimed at the new XUV 500 (700); active noise cancellation via the on-board sound system from Sony. Sony couldn't deliver due to the pandemic and this system will be attempted to be installed and calibrated in the new Scorpio instead as its launch is quite a ways down the road when compared to the XUV.

Mahindra have actually lost interest in the Marazzo. Barring a successful fitment of their bigger engine into it (with ongoing attempts to change the design as needed), they themselves don't foresee a successful future for it. As a reminder, the Marazzo was entirely designed and prototyped by GM engineers in Detroit. BS VI was the first event when their Indian R&D engineers got their hands on the Marazzo.

Let's see!
locusjag is offline   (36) Thanks
Old 13th May 2021, 21:36   #128

Mahindra developed its next-generation ‘Smart Core’ system, which will make its debut in the XUV700.

Mahindra has already developed its next-generation ‘Smart Core’ system, which will make its debut in the XUV700 and will be a quantum leap ahead of what is presently available. This all-new E/E system, developed by Visteon, will allow future Mahindras to have the latest infotainment systems, 360-degree cameras, a suite of connected features and even Advanced Driver Assistance Systems (ADAS), which might become mandatory with the next stage of safety regulations.
Venkatesh is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 15th May 2021, 12:40   #129

Happened to spot the XUV700 under testing for the second time in the same stretch in Chennai a couple of weeks back. While I forgot to save the previous video, I was lucky to catch hold of the test mule second time just after Alandur Metro. I felt the vehicle looked a bit compact but that might be owing to the thick camouflages. What was striking was the instrument panel. I had a good 90 seconds to ogle at the instrument cluster when the mule was waiting next to me in Alandur sessions court signal and boy the digital cluster looked big, high def and pleasing with an "analogue" looking speedo and rev counter. The touchscreen infotainment too looked stunning. I feel Mahindra is really upping the premium feel with this one.

One more test mule, presumably a lower variant was following the first. The second mule can be spotted at the end of the video.

Last edited by vshankarhere : 15th May 2021 at 12:42.
vshankarhere is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 16th May 2021, 13:41   #130

Mahindra XUV700 rendered

It is flanked by LED headlamps which feature large C-shaped LED DRLs.

The door handles are horizontally-oriented traditional units

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-mahindraxuv700rendering1176x720.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 16th May 2021 at 13:57.
Venkatesh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th May 2021, 13:56   #131

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
Mahindra XUV700 rendered

Attachment 2156638

Excellent rendering. Praiseworthy work. Initially, I thought why it has an ungainly rear overhang. Then realized the rear cladding is missing in an otherwise most accurate render till date. The rear design however will differ slightly in terms of the taillights design slightly because in one of the test cars I could notice a kink on the taillights which extend to the rear body panel.
Old 16th May 2021, 14:08   #132

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
Mahindra XUV700 rendered

Attachment 2156638
Ouch! That is one ugly car.

Too many things going on here. The front of the current XUV, an elongated Innova-sequence silhouette, a bulky looking rear and Kodiaq style tail lamps. A typical Mahindra mish mash. And they want this to compete with the smashing Harrier and Safari. Seems they have learnt nothing from the Quanto and KUV.
Shreyans_Jain is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th May 2021, 14:36   #133

And I differ

It looks pretty good to me. But then I bought an S-Cross so....
Eddy is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 16th May 2021, 22:19   #134

Originally Posted by Shreyans_Jain View Post
Ouch! That is one ugly car.

Too many things going on here. The front of the current XUV, an elongated Innova-sequence silhouette, a bulky looking rear and Kodiaq style tail lamps. A typical Mahindra mish mash. And they want this to compete with the smashing Harrier and Safari. Seems they have learnt nothing from the Quanto and KUV.
It's a rendering done by an automobile enthusiast not by Mahindra. I think and hope the final version will not look as ungainly as this.
Avinash_R is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 16th May 2021, 23:52   #135

Originally Posted by locusjag View Post
I got these bits of info from an insider at Mahindra-

There's going to be 11 variants for the 3 row XUV 500 (which is now being called the XUV 700) - with combinations of Manual & Auto transmissions, AWD options, petrol versus diesel options etc.
So, going by this information, I would expect the pricing to be somewhere in between 15-25 OTR, given that going above this would kill the sales of the vehicle. It does have a lot of features and premium quality(quoting Mahindra's press release) but anything north of 25 lakh would be overpriced, and we all know how Overpriced Mahindra cars sell. *Ahem,Alturas G4* and Given that the competition plays in the sub 25 lakh field, I would expect the base variant to start from 15, and go upto 21-22 for the Top end one Ex-showroom. And 11 variants is far wiser. For some of the cars in the market such as the Kia siblings, you would actually need an algorithm to decode what variant suits you.