View Poll Results: What price do you expect?
15 to 21 lacs 191 20.34%
16 to 22 lacs 168 17.89%
17 to 23 lacs 177 18.85%
18 to 24 lacs 184 19.60%
19 to 25 lacs 219 23.32%
Voters: 939. You may not vote on this poll

Old 17th August 2021, 10:35   #1591

Re: Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs

Just a speculation or a wild guess.

T - may stand for the variant with ADAS and L may stand for the variant without ADAS. The technology section of the official website also emphasizes heavily on ADAS.

Originally Posted by manpreetsj View Post
As per carandbike editor, T suffix stands for cars with Optional technology add-ons.

Awaiting his response on what L stands for? As noticed on other top end XUV700.

In some earlier post someone had mentioned L and T could be linked to no. of seats, but that isn't the case.
sudharshan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th August 2021, 10:43   #1592

Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
I find these observations pretty weird when every car in the market has been getting plastic bumpers from more than two decades in India and we still are worried about losing colour, losing shape, colour matching, wear and tear etc.
Originally Posted by Guna View Post
When I first heard about the 'plastic tail gate', I was surprised but after learning more about the merits, de-merits and how it is already a common practice on some cars (including premium cars), it is no more a concern for me and in fact I am happy that Mahindra is going extra step to be in tune with the trends.
I was wrong on some of my concerns and I have corrected myself.
Guna is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th August 2021, 10:44   #1593

Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
Since I am seeing a lot of posts with this anti plastic sentiment,
1. How many car bumpers have deformed shape or lost colour over time?
2. How many XUV500 fenders have suffered the same problems?
I think people may be worried because, they use tailgate regularly to open/close/feed luggage? But not bumpers and fenders, as they are fixed. I personally do not know anyone who regularly keep opening their fenders and bumpers. As we all know wear and tear, deformation are associated with usage.

As of weight savings, a car with 380-450NM torque shouldn't worry about 10kgs of weight savings. There might be another strong reason.

I personally wait for Mahindra to explain their decision on usage of plastic on tailgate, rather than assume good/bad about it.

Honda Brio has all glass tailgate and there were no major complaints in long run. So, its hard to say if plastic tailgate is good or bad. But definitely it won't add up to a awd vehicle's toughness or ruggedness quotient.

Last edited by ramki.grandhi : 17th August 2021 at 10:45.
ramki.grandhi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th August 2021, 10:49   #1594

While i am Exited, i am also confused on the XUV 700 pricing.

Confussion's -
1) XUV 700 looks more like an updated XUV 500,
2) The cost of the base (M Series) is very aggressive, while the price of (A Series) under cuts all other cars in the same range, why did they do that?
2.1) The have the most powerful engine on paper.
2.2) Excellent technology / features from BOSCH.

My view's -
Mahindra & Mahindra is just selling a old wine (XUV500) in a new wrapping (XUV 700) hence create all the hype before customers realize it.
Mahindra & Mahindra are trying to fend of the onslaught of the TATA and Hyundai Twins in the market.

There is a very popular saying in sales, if you cant convince your customer, confuse them. And i think whatever the plan is Mahindra & Mahindra have succeeded in it.

Last edited by rajchetan : 17th August 2021 at 11:19. Reason: a
rajchetan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th August 2021, 10:55   #1595

Originally Posted by ramki.grandhi View Post
As of weight savings, a car with 380-450NM torque shouldn't worry about 10kgs of weight savings. There might be another strong reason.
The biggest concern with the plastic tail gate is what about the safety of the third row passengers in case of a rear shunt. Mahindra cleverly knows that rear collision is not part of GNCAP. I think Mahindra saved a few bucks here nothing else.
JediKnight is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th August 2021, 10:59   #1596

^ Latest interview of Veejay Nakra on XUV700, CEO of Auto Div of M&M (starts at 10:30 minutes)

Key highlights:
1) Confirms new platform; no carryover from previous gen - hence new flagship name
2) MX variant created to target sub-4m and 4.2-4.3m sub-compact SUV segment
3) No difference in car dimensions for 5 seater or 7 seater
4) Pricing for remaining variants will be revealed gradually
5) Launch before festive season (October first week?)
6) Semi-conductor shortage will cause issues - hence can expect waiting period to be long
7) 3rd row is expected to be spacious and well planned compared to competiton, wherein 3rd row has been afterthought
8) Speaks highly about safety (comparable to higher segments)

Please point out if I missed something. Cheers!

Last edited by manpreetsj : 17th August 2021 at 11:24. Reason: Added timestamp
manpreetsj is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 17th August 2021, 11:03   #1597

Originally Posted by vkiran_2000 View Post
Wow, 160 is low for a SUV. Creta, Hector is 190, fortuner and endeavour at 225 !!
190 for Creta, Hector is unladen GC. 160 for XUV700 is most probably laden GC.

Its been quite few years since ARAI has mandated to disclose fully laden GC but not sure how many manufacturers seriously follow this.

Image credit: Autocar India
Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-screenshot-20210817-11.01.45-am.png  

UltraViolence is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 17th August 2021, 11:04   #1598

Originally Posted by Durango Dude View Post
It's priced at a level that it will cannibalize XUV 300 sales. Wondering why it's so aggressively priced?? It has the most powerful engines and most features in this segment. If only Mahindra can deliver a niggle free experience XUV 700 will do what Jio did in the telecom sector. Pricing is nothing short of disruptive. One more question, how long will Mahindra be able to hold this price??
While the pricing is disruptive, I wouldn't call it as a Jio moment as Jio was clearly doing predatory pricing.

Such disruptive pricing have happened only on two occasions in the Indian Auto industry to my knowledge in the past 10-12 years. Anand Mahindra was involved in both these occasions

1) The launch of XUV500 in 2011 at a price 30-40% below TBHPians expectations
2) The launch of Interceptor 650 in 2018 for a stunning price (30-40% below TBHPians expectations) which killed the Jawa brand even before its first bike (rebadged Mahindra Mojo) was launched 24 hours later. Anand Mahindra was at the receiving end this time

Anand Mahindra seems to have learnt his lessons very well. I guess he is planning to re-launch Alturas G4 as XUV900 with the new logo and he is not breaching the 25 lac OTR barrier now for that purpose. Full marks to him!
Geta is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th August 2021, 11:04   #1599

With all the complexity around multiple trims and engine options, wouldn't it be more convenient for customer to get a 'build your car' option? Just provide the base variants and let customers add features to their liking?

I'm in waiting list for THAR and seriously hope XUV7OO will help bring down the waiting period of THAR by having few of them move their bookings to XUV7OO. I know hope is not a strategy.
LeoMachine is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th August 2021, 11:05   #1600

A comparison of how the dimension and engine specs of XUV700 relates with cars that fall in it's price bracket, and a few that are beyond it's price bracket.

Note-
1) Comparison based with XUV700 Petrol current unveiled top end model (AX5).
2) All prices ex showroom.
3) Except Harrier and Safari, all other cars are petrol based.
4) All cars (except Fortuner and Ecosport), are in their second top model(Similar to XUV's AX5 being the lower model).
5) All other cars are in manual configurations, except the Compass, which is not available in MT form for the second top model.

Originally Posted by MercFan View Post
XUV700 gets Seltos style fogs on top end variants?
Eagle eyes! But I can also see two sets of fog lamps. Does this mean there is a separate dedicated cornering lamp?
Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-capture.png  

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-power-torque-xuv700.png  

Last edited by 07CR : 17th August 2021 at 11:15.
07CR is online now   (13) Thanks
Old 17th August 2021, 11:16   #1601

Originally Posted by vkiran_2000 View Post
Wow, 160 is low for a SUV. Creta, Hector is 190, fortuner and endeavour at 225 !!
I believe that the numbers for Creta, Hector, Fortuner are the unladen ground clearance figures, whereas XUV's 160 mm figure is for laden ground clearance. The Harrier has around 153 mm of laden GC for comparison.
quantobigboot is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th August 2021, 11:16   #1602

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
A comparison of how the dimension and engine specs of XUV700 relates with cars that fall in it's price bracket, and a few that are beyond it's price bracket.

Note-
1) Comparison based with XUV700 Petrol current unveiled top end model (AX5).
2) All prices ex showroom.
3) Except Harrier and Safari, all other cars are petrol based.
4) All cars (except Fortuner and Ecosport), are in their second top model(Similar to XUV's AX5 being the lower model).
5) All other cars are in manual configurations, except the Compass, which is not available in MT form for the second top model.
Does XUV700 measure 4695 mm in length? The XUV500 measured 4595 mm and I was under the impression that the dimensions have not been altered much (may 10-20 mm here or there. But 100 mm?? I doubt)
Old 17th August 2021, 11:20   #1603

Originally Posted by Geta View Post
Does XUV700 measure 4695 mm in length? The XUV500 measured 4595 mm and I was under the impression that the dimensions have not been altered much (may 10-20 mm here or there. But 100 mm?? I doubt)
Yes indeed. It's perhaps the longest in it's class, and almost as long as the Fortuner. Infact the wheelbase is longer than Fortuner!

Dimensions already out

Last edited by 07CR : 17th August 2021 at 11:23.
07CR is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 17th August 2021, 11:37   #1604

Originally Posted by Axe77 View Post
Putting a puny space saver in this vehicle is really a dampener on one’s confidence of taking it anywhere. I don’t really care if its alloy or steel wheel but would have really liked it to have a full size spare. I really hope they can correct this asap.
Almost nine years of XUV500 usage, what the heck even taken it to the inhospitable Ziro valley, till now I had not used the spare tyre due to puncture. Touch Wood.

Yes, I have been plain lucky, but I believe too much hue and cry is made about the puny space saver. I believe if we can cruise at about 80Kph to the next puncture repair shop, it is more than enough. Most of the luxury segment vehicles follow the same policy. Yes, definitely we would have loved a proper size spare tyre.

Originally Posted by IntoTheStorm View Post
Video of Xuv700 doing 150+ at Mahindra’s new test track
Much is yet to come, I believe this one will pulverize the previous XUV500's top speed.

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
Man! what all types of charts will I see in this forum.

Last edited by Aditya : 18th August 2021 at 06:27. Reason: Video and reference of overspeeding on public roads deleted
Vasuki is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 17th August 2021, 11:48   #1605

Originally Posted by MercFan View Post
XUV700 gets Seltos style fogs on top end variants?
I don't think so. It looks to be a front bumper air dam/splitter kind of thing used to improve aerodynamics. Not sure how effective it will be on XUV700

If we look at the image below (credit: MotorOctane video), the stone embankment in the background is visible through it. But then again, just 1 day left to end all speculations

UltraViolence is online now   (10) Thanks