View Poll Results: What price do you expect?
15 to 21 lacs 191 20.34%
16 to 22 lacs 168 17.89%
17 to 23 lacs 177 18.85%
18 to 24 lacs 184 19.60%
19 to 25 lacs 219 23.32%
Voters: 939. You may not vote on this poll

Old 26th May 2021, 20:58   #166

XUV 700 Price

Thought we should do a poll for expected Ex-showroom price of new XUV 700 -

a) 15 to 21 lacs
b) 16 to 22 lacs
c) 17 to 23 lacs
d) 18 to 24 lacs
e) 19 to 25 lacs

Last edited by MaanSingh : 26th May 2021 at 21:09. Reason: Clarify it's Ex-showroom, not On Road Price
MaanSingh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th May 2021, 21:04   #167

Re: XUV 700 Price

Voted for 15 to 21 Lacs as that's the most sensible price bracket to compete with Harrier, Safari, Hector, Hector plus, and Alcazar effectively IMHO

Trying to create a new segment in a higher price bracket may backfire badly.

Last edited by MaanSingh : 26th May 2021 at 21:15. Reason: Added Hector plus to the list of comparable size 5 and 7 seaters in the segment
MaanSingh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th May 2021, 21:11   #168

Re: XUV 700 Price

Originally Posted by MaanSingh View Post
Trying to create a new segment in a higher price bracket may backfire badly.
More than the Harrier, they are targeting Safari and Hector Plus buyers. The price will be on the slightly higher side considering the Scorpio already retails for this much (albeit a different target clientele). I think one of the reasons they named it 7OO instead of 5OO was so that it has a higher aspirational value and can in turn price it higher.

Having said that, the new Alacazar will give it a tough competition and they might consider launching a barebones variant at a lower price point to give it an attractive price tag.

Voted for 16-22.

Last edited by hridaygandhi : 26th May 2021 at 21:13.
hridaygandhi is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th May 2021, 22:15   #169

re: Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs

Originally Posted by abirnale View Post
An existing owner's take - Fully loaded + AWD + AT, on road in Bangalore, I am happy to spend 27lakhs or below. Do we have a deal?
Given my nostalgic value with the XUV tag, as my dad owned the Original 2011 one with AWD, I can very well share your passion for the car. But my dad and my uncle both had their share of problems with that AWD, so that's how we adopted the golden rule of buying any Mahindra car on launch.

Anyways, what I intend to focus on is not whether guys like you or me will buy the car. I would shell out even 30 lakhs for it because I would love to see my dad's happiness and nostalgia after he sees it in the garage. It's about whether it would be Value for Money or not for others as I seriously don't want it to go down the way of the Citroën or Isuzu pricing models.

That's why I bring up Safari again and again as a comparative model. As 07CR has also said in the same regard, Safari for what it offers is still overpriced. And even after factoring in inflation comparable to 2011 standards, anything north of 25 lakh for a mid size SUV(read XUV7OO), would be a sales suicide. Except for guys like you and me who would buy it either for nostalgic value or any other associated reason, Any other person would prefer a Jeep with proper 4x4 and a much more premium overall experience.

P.S I've been holding off on buying a car for almost an year now. Had booked the Safari but got the booking canceled when I learned that XUV7OO would be launching in October. So I can share the feeling

Originally Posted by MaanSingh View Post
We should do a poll for price
I agree and I would humbly request the Moderators to kindly consider doing the same.
Moto_Bear is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th May 2021, 23:06   #170

I am a current owner of XUV 500 and own a 2012 W8 with 1, 41, 000 kms on the ODO and one thing I can vouch for is the reliability of the my XUV and the VFM that XUV provides at the given amount of money we paid for it. Even if the new XUV is priced say till 25 lakhs what's a big deal. Even the Innova was selling around at 15 lakhs back in 2012 so if they can sell their GX AT at 23 Lakh On road then sorry to say they will have a good good amount of sales cut by the XUV 500 given the VFM factor that XUV provides.

I am not saying that it will give tough competition to the Innova but I personally feel that Innova is way over priced for what it offers. And if we talk about reliability than XUV is not bad either. I have driven my XUV in all type of road conditions, long drives, short drives, snow covered roads where RWD Innova and RWD / 2WD Fortuner failed but being FWD we prevailed in Manali.

Infact I am looking to change my ride as well and at current scenario I only have 2 options, either the Innova or XUV 500 but again when I look at Innova I always ask myself a question, that can you drive a plain jane, boring looking interiors cars for next 7-8 years? Well my mind says try it, but my heart literally yells and says NOOO.

So brand value alone does not help. When you pound around 23-24 lakhs on a car you definitely want more from it.

Last edited by Sheel : 27th May 2021 at 08:49. Reason: Typo.
Singh09 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th May 2021, 08:11   #171

Night shot of the infotainment screen, courtesy Rushlane -

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-rushlanepost2021_05_27_08_00.jpg
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 27th May 2021, 08:17   #172

https://www.rushlane.com/mahindra-xu...-12403108.html

Just saw this news. Apparently, Mahindra's touchscreen is here to give a tough competition to the Korean Twins. It seems be a high resolution one and looks very upmarket in the video quality and that 10+ inch display. The interiors do make me feel that it's surely going to break a lot of sales of its competitors. Here's to hoping Mahindra prices it sensibly.

Sharing Video for reference.

Moto_Bear is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 27th May 2021, 09:25   #173

Observed that both in the Speedo and Tacho, the markings are not there/visible beyond first 3 graduations. Does it mean they will be visible progressively as speed/revs climb up? If that's the case, that would add to a lot of visual drama!! But from a functional perspective, a thumbs down though.
octane_100 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 27th May 2021, 09:49   #174

Originally Posted by Moto_Bear View Post
https://www.rushlane.com/mahindra-xu...-12403108.html

Just saw this news. Apparently, Mahindra's touchscreen is here to give a tough competition to the Korean Twins. It seems be a high resolution one and looks very upmarket in the video quality and that 10+ inch display. The interiors do make me feel that it's surely going to break a lot of sales of its competitors. Here's to hoping Mahindra prices it sensibly.

Sharing Video for reference.

https://Youtu.be/rGPvQHrwcCo
Awesome ! This looks so good !

Harrier and Safari screens (especially MID) look so spartan in comparison.
07CR is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 27th May 2021, 09:54   #175

I think the price band mentioned in the poll is too narrow.
I think there will be a difference of 1.5 lakhs between the top of the line (digital cockpit, ADAS, may be mild hybrid...) and the previous variant (which will be still 'loaded' by current standards).
My take is 15/16 lakhs ex-showroom for the base model which goes up to 25/27 lakhs for fully loaded variant.
Old 27th May 2021, 10:44   #176

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
I think the price band mentioned in the poll is too narrow.
I think there will be a difference of 1.5 lakhs between the top of the line (digital cockpit, ADAS, may be mild hybrid...) and the previous variant (which will be still 'loaded' by current standards).
My take is 15/16 lakhs ex-showroom for the base model which goes up to 25/27 lakhs for fully loaded variant.
25-27 Lakhs translates to around 31-33L OTR in Bangalore! Quite sure Mahindra won't go with such suicidal pricing.

My highest estimate is 22L ex showroom for the top variant.
07CR is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 27th May 2021, 11:14   #177

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
My highest estimate is 22L ex showroom for the top variant.
The top end AT variant of the current gen XUV500 itself costs 20L ex-showroom in Delhi. Since this new car is supposed to be positioned half a segment above the current gen and the Safari, 22L seems optimistic.The top-end Safari also costs a shade under 22L ex-showroom in Delhi.
Old 27th May 2021, 11:23   #178

Originally Posted by Marauder View Post
The top end AT variant of the current gen XUV500 itself costs 20L ex-showroom in Delhi.

The top-end Safari also costs a shade under 22L ex-showroom in Delhi.
The main threat to the entire segment is the Hyundai Alcazar.

Hyundai manages huge sales numbers with the Creta and everyone will be watching to see if they can pull off something similar with the Alcazar.

I will wait to see how greedy Hyundai gets before predicting the prices of the XUV 7OO. If Hyundai prices it only a lakh or two above the Creta (which tops out at 17.5L ex-showroom) - others may have to rethink their strategies, or justify the premium hard!
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 27th May 2021, 11:39   #179

The main threat to the entire segment is the Hyundai Alcazar.

others may have to rethink their strategies, or justify the premium hard!
Good point. I think the Alcazar will end up topping the sales chart when all these products are launched. The Safari, Alcazar and XUV700 all target the same buyer but as products I feel that they are likely to be positioned in slightly different segments. Alcazar will undercut the Safari and the XUV will command a premium over both of them. Just like how the Creta and Harrier are positioned in slightly different segments. Our Team-BHP monthly sales analysis puts the Creta in the C2 segment whereas, the Harrier is in the D1 segment.

I think @Guna is spot on, there will be a wide price range as Mahindra would want to target as many buyers as they can.
Marauder is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th May 2021, 11:51   #180

Originally Posted by Marauder View Post
The top end AT variant of the current gen XUV500 itself costs 20L ex-showroom in Delhi. Since this new car is supposed to be positioned half a segment above the current gen and the Safari, 22L seems optimistic.The top-end Safari also costs a shade under 22L ex-showroom in Delhi.
That's the point I am trying to make. A 2 Lakh premium is sufficient IMO for a new model. About the Safari, it doesn't deserve to command such prices. Tata have shot themselves in the foot with those prices. XUV700, would show the real picture of how much it offers more than the Safari at similar or slightly more prices.