View Poll Results: What price do you expect?
15 to 21 lacs 191 20.34%
16 to 22 lacs 168 17.89%
17 to 23 lacs 177 18.85%
18 to 24 lacs 184 19.60%
19 to 25 lacs 219 23.32%
Voters: 939. You may not vote on this poll

Old 30th June 2021, 23:31   #301

re: Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs

Originally Posted by Moto_Bear View Post
Coming to that sweet 200bhp news, I couldn't be more thrilled about it. I surely am going for the pre booking, and getting the first gen, all the while praying to God that Mahindra has taken care of the initial niggles in their exhaustive testing of almost 2 years. Can't wait to get my hands on it for a TD.
I am also eagerly waiting and likely to go for pre-booking. But I would be confused between diesel and petrol. I have been always a petrol guy (don't like the diesel clatter) but I am bit concerned about the FE on such large car.
Old 1st July 2021, 01:28   #302

Originally Posted by Moto_Bear View Post
Coming to that sweet 200bhp news, I couldn't be more thrilled about it. I surely am going for the pre booking, and getting the first gen, all the while praying to God that Mahindra has taken care of the initial niggles in their exhaustive testing of almost 2 years. Can't wait to get my hands on it for a TD.
+1 to this.

Definitely going to pre-book but I'm pretty sure there are going to be quite a few niggles. Especially considering how much "SciFi" tech they are putting into this car. This is unchartered territory for Mahindra.

I just hope they have a policy to fix all the niggles reported in first batch very quickly.
krishnakumar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st July 2021, 09:22   #303

Considering 200hp and around 380-400Nm with a kerb weight of around 1800-1900kg, can the XUV700 post a sub 9sec 0-100km/h dash? Those engine figures are impressive not only in comparison to its competitors but also entry level SUV engines from the luxury brands.
f1fan5 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st July 2021, 11:35   #304

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
I am also eagerly waiting and likely to go for pre-booking. But I would be confused between diesel and petrol. I have been always a petrol guy (don't like the diesel clatter) but I am bit concerned about the FE on such large car.
Guess many here are going for pre-booking , including me. Had a call with the local Mahindra dealership contact in Bangalore yesterday, with whom I was negotiating for Alturas G4, and understand that their training will start by this month end and pre-bookings thereafter. Hope that's reliable info he gave me.

Petrol v/s Diesel is a big question for me as well. Never owned a Diesel until now, but have driven a friend's XUV500 for long distances and impressed by it's performance and ability to carry heavy luggage without a sweat! Also, the petrol 2.0Ltr Turbo with AWD option is something I am not sure of will be on offer for XUV700. Don't get me wrong, I love Turbo petrols (own a 1.4 Linea TJet and just enjoy it to the max ), but a concern on it's performance on such a big vehicle as XUV700. The only thing keeping a petrol option in the running is that of the resale value 5 years from now, considering the new regulations of max 10 Years for Diesel as against 15 years for Petrol engines.

Can other members throw some expert comments on this comparison , specifically for XUV700?
Old 1st July 2021, 11:49   #305

Originally Posted by r0ckstar.1 View Post
Can other members throw some expert comments on this comparison , specifically for XUV700?
No one will have information specific to the XUV 7OO, but the closest comparison that you can get is with the new Mahindra Thar.

Mahindra's long stroke direct injection petrol is very torquey as seen in the Thar (despite being in a considerably lower state of tune against the 7OO). In fact, just see the effect of all that torque, even compared to an electric Nexon which is supposed to have max torque from idle -

I have a feeling that it should do brilliantly in the 7OO as well! Fuel efficiency is going to be a whole different story though.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 1st July 2021, 11:58   #306

Originally Posted by f1fan5 View Post
Considering 200hp and around 380-400Nm with a kerb weight of around 1800-1900kg, can the XUV700 post a sub 9sec 0-100km/h dash? Those engine figures are impressive not only in comparison to its competitors but also entry level SUV engines from the luxury brands.
Since the 2.0 Mstallion in its 150HP tune can propel the 1800 Kg Thar AT from 0 to 100 in 10 seconds, there is no reason why the same engine in 200HP tune can't do it in XUV700 with similar weight figures.

There is a good chance we may see sub 9 sec timings from 0 to 100 in XUV700.
Exciting times ahead!
buntee90 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 1st July 2021, 13:35   #307

Spotted a mule stranded in the middle of service road, beside Bellandur flyover, Bangalore.
Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-20210701_131341.jpg

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-20210701_131345.jpg

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-20210701_131357.jpg

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-20210701_131410.jpg

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-20210701_131419.jpg

Last edited by Rehaan : 1st July 2021 at 17:59. Reason: Watermarking your pics. Thanks!
balenoed_ is offline   (48) Thanks
Old 1st July 2021, 13:39   #308

Sorry for this stupid question, but I am confused. Is the XUV700 the new generation of XUV500 or a separate SUV altogether? Will there be 2 cars - New XU500 and a brand new entry XUV700?
Superleggera is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st July 2021, 14:14   #309

Originally Posted by Superleggera View Post
Sorry for this stupid question, but I am confused. Is the XUV700 the new generation of XUV500 or a separate SUV altogether? Will there be 2 cars - New XU500 and a brand new entry XUV700?
The XUV700 is a new SUV. The current gen XUV500 will be discontinued and replaced probably next year........maybe.
f1fan5 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st July 2021, 14:39   #310

Originally Posted by balenoed_ View Post
Spotted a mule stranded in the middle of service road, beside Bellandur flyover, Bangalore.

Attachment 2173441

Attachment 2173442

Attachment 2173443

Attachment 2173444

Attachment 2173445
It is odd that a yet to be launched car is seen with its hood open in the middle of the road. For starters, it is a blow to all the secrecy shenanigans. Plus it sends a wrong message about the engine reliability (though ideally it is good, because they have found an issue and not you).
sramanat is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 1st July 2021, 15:11   #311

No one was around the test mule? Weird that it was left alone on the road side, that too with the bonnet up!!!
(Should have clicked some pics of the engine compartment too)

Originally Posted by Superleggera View Post
Spiritually the XUV700 is the next gen XUV500. But since new segments have been created in the past few years, Mahindra couldn't just leave out juicy segments alone or straddle segments with a lone model. That, or Mahindra has something planned related to using odd numbers only.

So, the XUV700 was unveiled so that it could be priced higher. The XUV500 brand will be used on a planned Creta rival.
DicKy is online now   (8) Thanks
Old 1st July 2021, 16:27   #312

Originally Posted by balenoed_ View Post

Attachment 2173441
Have they removed the Hydraulic struts? Not cool Mahindra.
07CR is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 1st July 2021, 16:36   #313

Originally Posted by f1fan5 View Post
To get 1800 kg with a 200 bhp engine the porky Mahindra will have to seriously diet. Can they pull off an aluminium body for example? Besides do they have a good dct/torque converter transmission with 8/9/10 speeds which can actually harness the 200 bhp/500 nm, that the engine is rumoured to produce?
Also a turbo petrol at 200 bhp coupled to an automatic will provide for a 5kpl average, can a Mahindra customer actually digest these figures? Points to ponder!
AirbusCapt is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 1st July 2021, 16:38   #314

Originally Posted by krishnakumar View Post
+1 to this.

Definitely going to pre-book but I'm pretty sure there are going to be quite a few niggles. Especially considering how much "SciFi" tech they are putting into this car. This is unchartered territory for Mahindra.

I just hope they have a policy to fix all the niggles reported in first batch very quickly.
I bought XUV500 when it was launched back in 2011. Mine was the first few cars in Bangalore.

Yes there were niggles-some totally unexpected. However M&M was just awesome and fixed every single one of the niggles in the shortest possible time.

In fact they replaced the faulty parts altogether and didn’t try to fix it. Even my tires were changed due to some dragging.

Of course one can wait for some time to book for the niggles to be sorted out. But that takes the fun away.
sheelapratosh is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 1st July 2021, 16:41   #315

Fuel efficiency is going to be a whole different story though
Yeah, a story with a not-so-happy ending

Originally Posted by buntee90 View Post
There is a good chance we may see sub 9 sec timings from 0 to 100 in XUV700
And sub-5 km/lit FE as well, going by the figures on the petrol Thar

The petrol version of the XUV7OO will be positioned (and will sell) akin to the petrol Fortuner - to appease NCR customers! Indian consumers do not have the appetite for such powerful petrol mills on heavy 7-seater SUVs, more so with petrol crossing the magic figure of Rs. 100/lit in many cities!

Last edited by cool_dube : 1st July 2021 at 16:43.
cool_dube is offline   (1) Thanks