View Poll Results: What price do you expect?
15 to 21 lacs 191 20.34%
16 to 22 lacs 168 17.89%
17 to 23 lacs 177 18.85%
18 to 24 lacs 184 19.60%
19 to 25 lacs 219 23.32%
Voters: 939. You may not vote on this poll

Old 15th August 2021, 00:29   #1246

re: Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs

Very affordable pricing even if for a 5 seater. I am very tempted to sell my 4 year 16K km run BRV and book new diesel xuv. On a side note I had scorpio before and did 15k km in first year alone, 2.2 mhawk was such a hoot to drive i used to take longer routes to everwhere just to enjoy the torquey mhawk. The 185ps pull of new mhawk is very difficult to ignore

Last edited by ScorpWarp : 15th August 2021 at 00:30.
ScorpWarp is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 00:33   #1247

Originally Posted by DicKy View Post
- Went YAYYY after seeing there was two model ranges. MX and AX(AdrenoX). Was expecting the MX to have base and decent specced mid variants, while AX would get mid variants and fully loaded ones. But Dammit!!! MX was only for base variants. Only reason am rooting for MX is....
- ...Alexa. C'mon. Keep that optional!!! Give the Sony music system as standard instead for AX. Am aware it would be a hit for the market, but don't really want Alexa inside the car.
- Ofcourse, AdrenoX is better than Internet inside, but c'mon Mahindra. The whole point of those flush door handles is gone with that loud side badging.
- Full tune for the base petrol, but detuned for base diesel? Differentiating much?
[/i]
Couldn’t agree more. A 5-seater AWD powerful SUV with a large boot is precisely what I would love, and without Jeff Bezos’ assistant snooping on my driving and conversations.
Mustang Sammy is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 00:35   #1248

Originally Posted by MercFan View Post
No ventilated seats? In addition, many features are work-in progress (coming soon).
Mahindra has announced only till AX7. I assume they will add more features and launch AX9, AX11 etc. During facelift, they might also modify feature list or upgrade and rename modified AX5 to AX6 and so on.
Pulse500 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 00:35   #1249

Curious how the fuel efficiency is going to be for such a powerful petrol engine! Will it be like Hector or even worse single-digit mileage?
anto1212 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 00:53   #1250

Originally Posted by d3mon View Post
Obviously not the same XUV 500 platform as-is, but with key structural updates they could have updated it to improve safety. Doing so would still retain most of the cost benefits of using the old platform.
Mahindra claimed this vehicle has highest torsional rigidity in its class. Wheelbase increased by 50mm. I guess the suspension is also new, the first generation XUV500 had a noisy suspension, and was not so well tuned and had its own limitations. Although the Diesel motor seems same 2.2 m-Hawk, it now generates more more power and torque, which also need the chassis to be upgraded. I also read that the NVH levels are significantly better with new firewall and damping in the new XUV7OO.

Its not just safety package and new electronic features, there are notable upgrades in every department. This may be one more reason why Mahindra launched the upgraded crossover as XUV7OO instead of positioning it as XUV500 facelift. Old XUV500 owners now also got an option to upgrade to XUV700 from same brand (again repositioned as premium one now) instead of looking out somewhere else.
Old 15th August 2021, 00:54   #1251

Originally Posted by quattroa4 View Post
Here are the prices,
Is it that all the people who read this are confused or its just me ? According to them the prices revealed is for entry level and mid variants of 5 seater XUV700 in which the diesel comes with a detuned 150 PS power which is equivalent to BS4 Harrier.

Current 170 PS Harrier BS6 range starts from Harrier XE ₹ 13.84 Lakh.

So Mahindra has announced prices of only Harrier/Creta competition and not for 7 seater Full option vehicles which might be well within 16-23 lcs...
Turbo_head is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 00:56   #1252

Originally Posted by anto1212 View Post
Curious how the fuel efficiency is going to be for such a powerful petrol engine! Will it be like Hector or even worse single-digit mileage?
Thats where the Zip/Zap/Zoom dial can make life easier if it available with Gasolene engine too!
Old 15th August 2021, 00:57   #1253

Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post
I posted this couple of weeks back! History repeating?

Forget direct competitors and compact SUV buyers, it may even pull some premium hatchback buyers to Mahindra showrooms.
Oh trust me it’s gonna disrupt several segments. We got 118ps Venue last year for 13. I would happily pay 15-16 just for that 200ps engine. I don’t think it’ll impact Maruti much but this is like killing entire range of so called premium Hyundais in a single stroke.
turbowhistle is online now   (8) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 01:13   #1254

This is something really hard to digest. Smart, Unbelievable pricing. Obviously it will create ripples in the market. Tata's and MG's are definitely going to feel it the most.

There are reason why I believe it will not be able to disrupt in major way the sales of Creta specially. Reliability and exteriors.

Reliability- Here I am not worried about the engines and the structure of the XUV rather it's about all the gadgets n electronic stuff inside the Machine I am doubtful of. It sure looks mesmerizing and I would love to have it. Cross my fingers and hope it will work alright without any glitches.. wishful thinking I would say. On the other hand, Creta is tried n tested model. May be in the coming years xuv700 will be there as well.

Exteriors- I am one of those who would never buy XUV500 just because of its exteriors, specially the front. With XUV700, It's not that far off from XUV500, you will either love it or completely hate it. So people like me would find it hard to ignore the fact that XUV 700 looks almost the same. Difficult to lure us into buying it with these exteriors.

The only sweet deal that would capture my attention :
AX7 - petrol , AT with AWD, without the Gadgets and Alexa, only Crusie controls from that basket. And if it all stays below 20L. Am I asking for too much after 11.99 as the starting price.
ripy002 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 01:21   #1255

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-memeton_20210815_011807.jpg

Mahindra and Hyundai
I will let the meme do the talking.
ashutoshb is offline   (38) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 01:25   #1256

Originally Posted by turbowhistle View Post
Oh trust me it’s gonna disrupt several segments. We got 118ps Venue last year for 13. I would happily pay 15-16 just for that 200ps engine. I don’t think it’ll impact Maruti much but this is like killing entire range of so called premium Hyundais in a single stroke.
Maruti is probably the only mass market manufacturer who would not be having an iota of disturbance due to XUV reveal.
The reason ? Maruti product portfolio ends where XUV700 begins Your post made me recall an incident of 2 months ago wherein I went to Nexa also as part of my next car hunt and popped the store manager same question that I had asked at other Non-Maruti showrooms "I am looking for a car in the 10 to 15L ex-showroom price range, what options do you have ?" and her response with a 36 watt smile was "Sir, Maruti does not sell anything which reaches 15L even OTR"

Anyways back on topic, to me even the lesser tune of diesel engine looks sufficient for highway trips with the added advantage of better FE, what are the thoughts of other on this front ?
darkLightning is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 01:30   #1257

Monday morning headquarters scenes:
Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-troy-surprised-fire-15082021012818.jpg  

f1fan5 is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 01:32   #1258

All the shady OLX dealers trying to sell used cars on the platform with hyperinflated prices would be having sleepless nights.

Good pricing Mahindra. I have a feeling that this will be a fairly niggle free car looking at recent past launches from them.

Does this pricing mean that Marazzo is dead now? Where does it stand now in future scheme of things for them? I understand that it isn't the best seller but Mahindra too haven't pulled the plug on it yet.

If other manufacturers takes a cue and correct their prices to realistic levels, then ICE cars can easily extend their life by another extra decade.
DrCar is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 01:40   #1259

Originally Posted by bravo82in View Post
Drive modes: Zip, Zap, Zoom Seriously??

Reminds me of Iodex ad:

Ooh, Aah, Oouch

Attachment 2192867
With this pricing, the buyers will lap it up even if Mahindra had named the drive modes as Zuchchini, Zumba and Zebra!
Geta is offline   (29) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 01:54   #1260

I don't know if I should be sad/laughing at Ford. Ford executives will probably be under serious trauma right now. Jokes apart, Ford has really missed the bus this time. This would have been a wonderful collaboration between Mahindra & Ford.
f1fan5 is offline   (9) Thanks