Old 16th May 2023, 20:13   #316

re: Field trials of the 4-door Mahindra Thar begin!

Originally Posted by 4x4addict View Post
I sincerely hope that it is better designed than the soft top of the 2-Door Thar. After breaking my nails on many occasions, I now dread to close the soft top of the Thar. Opening is relatively easy, but the damn thing doesn't want to go back on. Needs two people and 15 to 20 minutes minimum.
Which is the most irritating bit? The sliding of the side window thingies into those slots and the fiddly Velcro-ish bits? Especially when liberally bespattered with lovely Nilgiris monsoon mud or that powdery dust of the Nilgiris mid summer.

I love convertibles. But I dread the propensity of some double damned dunderhead, using my vehicle as his private spittoon from a passing bus or lorry.

And it can’t be that hard to make an easy to use and easy to stow rag top. Just look at the Alfa Giulietta Spider of the 1950’s and 1960’s and the Fiat 124’s of that era too. All one had to do was reach back and pull the rag top up. Easy as Pie.

(Watch above clip from the 0.45 seconds mark.)
shankar.balan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th May 2023, 20:19   #317

I sincerely hope that it is better designed than the soft top of the 2-Door Thar. After breaking my nails on many occasions, I now dread to close the soft top of the Thar. Opening is relatively easy, but the damn thing doesn't want to go back on. Needs two people and 15 to 20 minutes minimum.
Your technique isn’t correct then. I am able to put it back up in less than 10 minutes and that too all alone. I posted a good YouTube video some months back on correct and fastest way to put top up and Down. Sharing it again for your ease. Give it a look and practice 2-3 times when you get time. Follow each step and minute details diligently and you will be successful. On one occasion, I too got my nails clipped while putting rear windows up.
Also, keep visiting A.S.S every 3-4 months to get oiling/greasing done on the chains. This way they don’t get tight and difficult in the long run. I did it on my last visit to service centre and has helped me

Last edited by AMG1 : 16th May 2023 at 20:32. Reason: Additional content
AMG1 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th May 2023, 01:49   #318

Opening is relatively easy, but the damn thing doesn't want to go back on. Needs two people and 15 to 20 minutes minimum.
Could Thar convertible owner help answer how well insulated convertible is in cold places? Can we comfortably drive if it's snowing outside like a normal sedan or it's just too uncomfortable? Couldn't find answer in Google or other threads so hoping experience folks here can answer the same.

Last edited by aah78 : 18th May 2023 at 03:32. Reason: Quote trimmed.
Old 17th May 2023, 06:30   #319

Originally Posted by cool_dube View Post
You're certainly not doing it the right way then After some practice
Originally Posted by AMG1 View Post
Your technique isn’t correct then. I am able to put it back up in less than 10 minutes and that too all alone.
I too got my nails clipped while putting rear windows up.
Also, keep visiting A.S.S every 3-4 months to get oiling/greasing done on the chains.
Initially it was the whole top. I couldn't put the main clips on the from windshield frame back without the assistance of a second person. But as the vehicle aged and the top became less stiff, and one is able to put the top part back.

The issue for me is the two side pieces with the zipper around them. I don't even bother to open them as the weather here is very unpredictable and in the event of sudden rain, need to close it quickly. The other day, I had a friend sitting behind. She wasn't used to being in twisty roads and was feeling pukey. So, I had to open up the sides. Soon after that it started raining and I had to close the sides. I just gave up and don't bother to do it very often. That's probably why I haven't perfected it to the level you guys have.

Originally Posted by sandeeprawat View Post
Could Thar convertible owner help answer how well insulated convertible is in cold places?
Where I live the temp goes up to about -3 to -5 in peak winters. Have not had any issues with maintaining heat inside the vehicle. I must also add that, I have no problem speaking on the blue tooth even of speeds upto 80 kmph. The wind noise flutter of the soft top is not bad.
4x4addict is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th May 2023, 15:52   #320

Mahindra Thar 5-door launch in 2024

Rajesh Jejurikar Executive Director Mahindra confirms the much anticipated 5-door Thar won't be launched this year but instead will come in 2024.
Field trials of the 4-door Mahindra Thar begin!-20230526_155118.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 26th May 2023 at 16:00.
Venkatesh is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 26th May 2023, 16:06   #321

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
What? No! Then what else do Mahindra have this year for their usual 15th Aug - 2nd Oct launch cycle?
Knightrider is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th May 2023, 22:51   #322

Originally Posted by Knightrider View Post
What? No! Then what else do Mahindra have this year for their usual 15th Aug - 2nd Oct launch cycle?
I was really hoping that the 5 door Thar would launch this year and it would have actually stolen some momentum from the Jimny's sales as the brute road presence that a Thar brings can never be matched by the Jimny . It would have been an amazing purchase in the festive season for
our household as with the extreme mod potential the 3 door has , 5 door would simply be made to look like the Wrangler for a fraction of the price.

Last edited by drift2race : 26th May 2023 at 22:52.
drift2race is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th May 2023, 06:28   #323

Originally Posted by drift2race View Post
, 5 door would simply be made to look like the Wrangler for a fraction of the price.
Lighter Vein:
Mahindra Thar 5 Door = Indian cut-price Jeep WRONGLER Unlimited?
Mahindra Thar 3 Door = Indian cut-price Jeep WRONGLER Willys?
Field trials of the 4-door Mahindra Thar begin!-img_9594.jpeg  

Field trials of the 4-door Mahindra Thar begin!-img_9597.jpeg  

shankar.balan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th May 2023, 08:03   #324

Lighter Vein:
Mahindra Thar 5 Door = Indian cut-price Jeep WRONGLER Unlimited?
Mahindra Thar 3 Door = Indian cut-price Jeep WRONGLER Willys?
Neither me nor my wife liked the concept of the 3 door Thar , once the 5 door arrives it would make the sales chart on fire . We didn't like the 5 door Jimny either , it seems to have no road presence at all in the stock format and the height of the vehicle is specially Wrongler .

Last edited by drift2race : 27th May 2023 at 08:15.
drift2race is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th May 2023, 08:11   #325

Attachment 2455294

Makes sense to me - no point in launching a blockbuster product and not being able to fulfill the demand. Mahindra has their hands full trying to deliver XUV and Scorpio bookings I suppose. The 3DR is doing just as well and the 5DR is definitely going to cannibalize it!
Nilesh5417 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th May 2023, 09:07   #326

Perhaps the Lords and Masters at M&M are taking a ‘Gap Year’ this year?
shankar.balan is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 27th May 2023, 09:15   #327

Mahindra is currently focusing on pending deliveries; no new car launches planned for the near future.

- Scorpio N currently has 1.17 lakh pending orders

- XUV700 order book currently stands at 78,000 units

- Thar has 58,000 pending orders
Mahindra says it's right now focusing on utilising its entire production capacity and on clearing pending orders. The brand is readying two new launches, the much-awaited Thar 5-door and an XUV300 facelift. Both models will go on sale next year.

Venkatesh is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 29th May 2023, 18:36   #328

But wouldn't Mahindra just be better off giving FRP roof treatment for the 3rd quarter of the Bolero Neo? and maybe add some bells & whistles.
Old 29th May 2023, 18:58   #329

Mahindra Thar 5-door launch in 2024[
A mature decision. No point creating further backlogs and irritating even more consumers.
And if this below article is true, then Mahindra anyway is in a very good place from an order book perspective.
I believe there are 1 lakh Thars now out on the road.
Approx 1200 Crores Turnover if one removes the taxes and all.
Field trials of the 4-door Mahindra Thar begin!-img_0609.jpeg  

Old 29th May 2023, 23:25   #330

Mahindra Thar 5 door will come with a single pane sunroof, spied alongside XUV300 facelift.

Field trials of the 4-door Mahindra Thar begin!-fb_img_1685382846301.jpg

Field trials of the 4-door Mahindra Thar begin!-fb_img_1685382848595.jpg

Field trials of the 4-door Mahindra Thar begin!-fb_img_1685382851032.jpg

Field trials of the 4-door Mahindra Thar begin!-fb_img_1685382853486.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 29th May 2023 at 23:28.
Venkatesh is offline   (30) Thanks