View Poll Results: How would you define the San Storm? -
Indian sports car 0 0%
Indian convertible 31 75.61%
Indian convertible that's sporty 10 24.39%
Voters: 41. You may not vote on this poll

Old 4th March 2004, 15:20   #1

I think the San Storm can be defined as an Indian convertible, as it's performance is deplorable.

At 5+ lakhs it's neither worth the money, nor is it practical for Indian conditions.

Regards...
Shan2nu
Old 4th March 2004, 15:41   #2

I agree, at 5 lacs San has outpriced the Storm. Its not really a sports car at all, coz I dont see one sport where it would be a worthy competitor - Not even street racing. For a lac less, you would get a Zen mpfi which would smoke the storms out of this car and for 50000 less you could get a Palio 1.6 GTX (Currently 4.5 lacs in Bombay after a lacs discount) which would be a much faster, quicker, better handler and would outlast 10 san storms.

I say outlast 10 san storms because I had seen one near the hinduja hospital petrol pump. Holy Cow, the fit and finish was so pathetic that it looked more like a product of the now infamous Sipani Motors. The body looked like its made out of water-bucket plactics, the dash seemed to be out of a carpenters workshop and body panel gaps were large enough to accomodate another renault engine in them!

The San Storm is just too overpriced, too slow and real badly put together. Its not Indias first convertible either...we have always had the Mahindra Classic and the Gypsy for ages now. Off-roaders yes, but convertibles too.

Old 4th March 2004, 16:11   #3

I never really liked the San Storm. Overpriced and dosent even look that great. Like GTO said a GTX Palio would leave it for dead. And the design is absolutely hideious. I remember a seaface episode once when this red San with its roof down and four guys in it were going around blasting music and showing it off to be a sportscar. About 10 min later came the mighty 355 full throttle and scared the pants off the puny San. After that the red San was never seen at seaface again

And I would not want to fit a Renault engine in the panel gaps ....

Old 4th March 2004, 17:01   #4

If the San Storm is a sports car, then I'm Karl Benz!
It's gonna be priced at almost 5.5 lacs. For that sort of money, you can get a 1.6GTX or a well modified Zen. What the hell, you can even get a used City Vtec!
Old 4th March 2004, 17:21   #5

Free funskool toy with MRF tyres
Old 4th March 2004, 22:28   #6

Oooooh I didn't expect anyone to take the 3rd option. Anyway, it's a poll and everyone has the right to make a choice.

Regards...
Shan2nu
Old 4th March 2004, 23:32   #7
v12

hey shantanu ,
whats this??? even the electronic voting machines have a "None of the above" option.

The San shud have flown away when the 355 passed it. The San is, was and will forever be a flop. Till now I have seen only 2 San's in Mumbai. And I have seen more of Reva's than the San.
Old 5th March 2004, 01:06   #8

Ya V12 and I guess you must have seen those 2 Sans at HP petrol pumps

Old 5th March 2004, 01:10   #9

Well i couldn't have put "None of the above" as there's no denying the fact that the Storm is a convertible.

Regards...
Shan2nu
Old 27th March 2008, 00:36   #10

San Strom still sells: Ex-Showroom Price Mumbai is Rs.5,75,000
It runs on Renault D7F 1.2L SOHC, which generates 58BHP@5250rpm ! They claim its does 0~100 in under 15s !!
Old 27th March 2008, 00:39   #11

Never even seen one!

Sadly (?), no one has bought one down to kerala, i guess!
Old 27th March 2008, 00:43   #12

It had recently made appearance in a movie song !
Watch it here:
Never even seen one!

Sadly (?), no one has bought one down to kerala, i guess!
Old 27th March 2008, 01:23   #13

I somehow feel the car looks very good...wish it came with a 1.6ltr engine that pumped out around 90+bhp and San provided reliable A.S.S then we could have had a winner in the San storm even though it comes with a fibreglass body...
Old 27th March 2008, 02:55   #14

I'd rate it 4/10. Its got potential to become a quality sports car - convertible/coupe.
Throw in a good engine (anything that puts out 120-145bhp) and improve the looks a tad bit.
Old 27th March 2008, 11:15   #15

Though I voted for the convertible, I want fourth option "good donor car to plonk another engine for the SpeedRun / Drag race project"