Old 9th May 2007, 09:32   #1

Chevrolet Next Generation Spark to be based on Beat Concept

Note from Mod : The Chevy Beat review has been uploaded here. Please continue the discussion over on that link, this thread is closed.

Source: :: AUTOCAR INDIA - CAR AND BIKE MAGAZINE ::

Next-generation Spark to be based on Beat concept, Hi-tech 1.2-litre engine, Positioned between Spark and UV-A at Rs 4 lakh 2009 launch.

A successor to the M100 Matiz and M200 Spark, the all-new M300 is a clean sheet design that will sit bang in the middle of GM’s triad of small cars sold in India.

More expensive than the Spark but cheaper than the U-VA, the car will be the first to be produced at GM’s all-new plant in Talegaon, near Pune.

Last edited by GTO : 7th December 2009 at 19:14. Reason: Closing thread and adding a link to the review
Old 9th May 2007, 19:09   #2

Looks futuristic, Hope they price it right. GM has failed in this division for the Spark as always.
I hate these concepts. What you see is not what you get.....
Old 9th May 2007, 20:41   #3

I dont like DC designs.even not this one.
Old 9th May 2007, 23:00   #4
SRK

A very good looking concept...

Better if they launch a 2 door version too...

@Tushky..This isnt a DC design right??
Old 9th May 2007, 23:59   #5

DC DID IT
Interestingly, the Beat was prototyped by DC Design here in India. Built to GM’s design, David Lyon, GM’s Director of Design for the Asia-Pacific region, was impressed with Chhabria’s quality of workmanship. “We knew Dilip was capable but with the Beat we really made him push the envelope, especially when it came to the interiors,” said Lyon.
Quote from the article

it is a DC design.
A 2 door concept in india ??? would never ever sell. wrap it up GM.
Old 10th May 2007, 02:15   #6

Kya next generation, they've barely launched the present generation! This is like counting your butter chickens before they're cooked.
Old 10th May 2007, 03:27   #7

Smart proportions. But very look-at-me.

Originally Posted by v1p3r View Post
This is like counting your butter chickens before they're cooked.
Would you want to re-phrase that?
Old 10th May 2007, 03:56   #8

This is a concept, not the final car. So two doors will go, and and what we finally get will have hints of this car, that is all. So don't worry about the two doors.

It is not a DC design, it was prototyped by DC. He makes more money that way than by custom designing.

This was very popular when it showed up at the Chicago show or somethng.
Old 10th May 2007, 04:01   #9

This is like counting your butter chickens before they're cooked.
Ha ha ha ! Completely agree with you. I have not even seen 1 spark on road.

It's over priced with so many competitors around.

Jai
Old 10th May 2007, 04:28   #10

Originally Posted by nevertouchme View Post
I have not even seen 1 spark on road.
They released Spark.... .. When was this?? I knew It.. I knew it.. This job of mine is taking its toll...

But the car above looks very cool.. Dont mind one in Black or red.. Minus the badging ofcourse..

Originally Posted by 1100D View Post
Would you want to re-phrase that?
O.T
Nah..When it comes to Food.. He never re-phrases anything..

Godfather

Last edited by Godfather : 10th May 2007 at 04:32.
Old 10th May 2007, 12:32   #11
HSV

Originally Posted by nevertouchme View Post
Ha ha ha ! Completely agree with you. I have not even seen 1 spark on road.

It's over priced with so many competitors around.

Jai
I saw one (golden beige colour) late last evening on Delhi roads, near Jhandewalan on MM Road. Looked pretty ok to me - I guess it looks better in the photo shoots.

regards
Old 10th May 2007, 13:37   #12

Why would I want to rephrase that?
Old 13th May 2007, 21:10   #13

I have not even seen 1 spark on road.
It's not yet launched in bangalore.

Last edited by rahul_intlad : 13th May 2007 at 21:13.
Old 13th May 2007, 22:01   #14

Why would I want to rephrase that?
Maybe because it does not make sense. Literally.
Old 13th May 2007, 23:09   #15

i have seen just 1 spark in Mumbai Fort area with a whacky pista green colour.... couldn't make out what kind of shape it is,what aersodynamics might be used for high speed driving lolz