Old 21st May 2007, 16:21   #46

Ummm even if the car gives say 9.9 kmpl it is single digit territory. However is it really very bad? Consider the fact that even the small 1.2 hatches with much lower weight (and cubbyhole interiors) return 12-13kmpl in city when you buy something like an XL with chilled glovebox, integrated video display panels, in-car phone and such features with acres of space, 101bhp DOHC motor... blah blah blah do you really care that much for whether it gives that 1 km more to keep you in the double digit FE territory?
Old 21st May 2007, 16:23   #47

When petrol costs 50rs/Liter the small 1kmpl/liter extra matters my dear friend. Thats why in all the adverts in print, the figure mentioned the brightest and the loudest is the FE.
Some harp on about Limca book of records, some shout about 31kmpl. It does not matter if the car in question is actually a bullock cart with a tractor engine, the answer to "FE kya hai" is all that matter
Old 21st May 2007, 17:18   #48

LOL So true well said tsk :-)
Old 21st May 2007, 18:52   #49

no... i did not mean that. of course it matters. ok let me rephrase. what i meant was that in the same category of course it does. however considering that the hatches with their lighter engines and smaller sizes give around 12 or so in city a car so heavy and big with a powerful engine giving a couple of kms less should not matter much. Or should it? How much does a petrol car with similar size and weight (as an Indigo XL) gives?

Last edited by Zappo : 21st May 2007 at 18:53.
Old 21st May 2007, 20:48   #50

Whats the diff b/w/ the performance f a DICOR vs. Non DICOR Indigo? I was told by a sales guy that there is no difference except that it has a 'SAFARI waala engine'. To which I laughed and said 'OK'.

We didn't end up buying either of the models anyway, as my friend went in for th emuch refined Swift VDi which also came with the friendly Sales Guy from Maruti with a promise of a better A.S.S.
Old 25th May 2007, 15:38   #51
rkg

I have some doubt
Is the gear box in indica/indigo/marina petrol and diesel is different? If not how it was able handle 75 BHP in Indica/85 BHP in Indigo and now 101 BHP in indigo XL petrol but not in diesel?
Coming to Indigo LS TDI and Dicor in bangalore the price difference is 30K(4.9 and 5.2 lakhs)
What one gets in Dicor as against TDI is dicor engine with VGT, front power windows, leather wrapped steering wheel and gear knob, full fabric seats and front fog lamps. This is as per tata motors website.
Even Indigo TDI LX is 5.3 lakhs
Old 25th May 2007, 15:45   #52

The problem is torque. The 101PS has power, but not the torque that a 90BHP DICOR would generate. Low end torque is killer on G-Boxes.
Old 25th May 2007, 16:14   #53

Hey
I can not see ant TD reports for new Dicor LX. What is happening BHPIans are interested for atleast TD for it. Common its not that bad.. At least we have some thing with new technologies MADE IN INDIA
~bruty
Old 25th May 2007, 16:30   #54

[quote=hmishra83;444060]Whats the diff b/w/ the performance f a DICOR vs. Non DICOR Indigo? I was told by a sales guy that there is no difference except that it has a 'SAFARI waala engine'. To which I laughed and said 'OK'.

Safari Wala Engine in Indigo DICOR - so much for the knowledgeable Sales Personnel.

I've had similar experiences with Sales Personnel at a particular Maruti Showroom. He clainmed the SX4 Stereo is very advanced "isko ariel ki zaroorat nahin hoti" !!!!

Last edited by Ricky_63 : 25th May 2007 at 16:32.
Old 26th May 2007, 14:25   #55

Originally Posted by navdeep View Post
Tata is smarter than M&M
right said man tata is damn smarter than M&M ......still havent seen any logan on the roads