Old 28th September 2021, 11:25   #1

Tata rolls out 100,000th Altroz from Pune plant

The ALTROZ family is now 1 LAKH strong and counting.

Congratulations to Tata on this achievement!

Tata rolls out 100,000th Altroz from Pune plant-fawywwvucauzdi.jpg
AkMar is offline   (64) Thanks
Old 28th September 2021, 11:28   #2

Re: Tata rolls out 100,000th Altroz from Pune plant

Arguably still the best looking hatchback in India and to think how far Tata has come in the last few years is just awesome. They deserve every bit of success.
extreme_torque is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 28th September 2021, 11:35   #3

Great looking car, solid built, 5 star safety rating and reasonably well kitted!
A proper automatic gearbox is the only thing it needs to dominate this segment
Shreyas_H is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 28th September 2021, 12:48   #4

Why won't Tata source a torque converter from Aisin for its turbo engines? VW has done it. A diesel with a TC AT will be perfect for a lot of people. I know they're developing a DCT but given their history in India, that's a huge gamble to undertake. Slightly less FE figures for a TC won't make a huge impact on the sales but not having any AT at all for so long must've had a significant impact by now.

Nexon and Altroz with a proper AT will become attractive propositions for a lot of people on this forum itself, yours truly included.
RoadMonkey is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 28th September 2021, 12:52   #5

That was pretty quick! 50k milestone for the Altroz feels like it happened yesterday and now the 1lac milestone! Kudos TaMo, you really have come a long way in the Indian automotive scene.

That said, Altroz deserves the 6 speed manual from the Nexon atleast on the Turbo Petrol and Diesel.

I fail to understand as to why TaMo is taking so much time to come up with a proper auto box. Nexon has been there since 3 years and still comes with an AMT.

Last edited by saikishor : 28th September 2021 at 12:56.
saikishor is online now   (10) Thanks
Old 28th September 2021, 18:42   #6

I was on the verge of buying this beauty when the XUV3OO sold me over. Had it not been the segment jump for me, I would be owning this one today. My heart skips a beat whenever I see the fully loaded one. Have to appreciate TATA and the designs they are dishing out these days. Absolutely fantastic achievement, congratulations to all the Altroz owners.
Old 28th September 2021, 18:51   #7

Beautiful car. Congratulations to Tata. Happy that their hard work has paid off in sales that they always deserved. Looking to more exciting products like Sierra from their stable (hopefully a true lifestyle 4x4 off-roader rivaling the Thar).
nightraven is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th September 2021, 20:52   #8

Great show by TML, one of the fastest to 100K in recent times for Tata Motors, made in just 20 months.
This is despite having only MT variants. Altroz is also one of the most degraded car ever on social media and forums for its 1.2 NA engine, which is still the most selling engine for it.

Looks like ALTROZ is the next 10K per month contestant for TML following the NEXON.

Soon we will see another one crossing 50K milestone !
Old 28th September 2021, 20:57   #9

Could have been 1.5L if it had a proper auto-box. Kudos to TATA for bringing out this beauty in the segment dominated by 2 giants(i20 and Baleno) and still making a mark. This proves there's always scope for success if you bring out the right product.

Yes Ford, am talking to you here.
SoumenD is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 28th September 2021, 21:06   #10

One of the best looking cars in India, hatchback or otherwise. Whenever I spot an Altroz, I cannot help but tuck behind it and admire the design lines from different angles. The last time I did it, I was in a fairly expensive TD car and the Altroz' passengers as well as the ones in my car were wondering what the hell I was doing!

Not just looks, but it also has exceptional highway manners. One of the best hatchbacks to cruise on the expressway in. Wonderful "big car" manners.

Wish list = same engine tune as the Nexon, as there really was no need to give it lesser power. And yes, proper ATs please.

Last edited by GTO : 29th September 2021 at 06:56.
GTO is offline   (36) Thanks
Old 28th September 2021, 21:27   #11

Originally Posted by RoadMonkey View Post
Why won't Tata source a torque converter from Aisin for its turbo engines? VW has done it. A diesel with a TC AT will be perfect for a lot of people. I know they're developing a DCT but given their history in India, that's a huge gamble to undertake.
+1 to that. Another reason why it doesn't make sense to develop a new tranny is due to the impending EV Boom which will make this whole species called 'gearboxes' to become extinct or limited only to exotic/hyper cars.
nagr22 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th September 2021, 22:33   #12

Tata Altroz journey to 100k sales within 2 years of launch.

Tata rolls out 100,000th Altroz from Pune plant-screenshot_20210928222854_youtube.jpg

Tata rolls out 100,000th Altroz from Pune plant-screenshot_20210928222911_youtube.jpg

Tata rolls out 100,000th Altroz from Pune plant-screenshot_20210928222929_youtube.jpg

Tata rolls out 100,000th Altroz from Pune plant-screenshot_20210928222941_youtube.jpg

Tata rolls out 100,000th Altroz from Pune plant-screenshot_20210928223048_youtube.jpg

Tata rolls out 100,000th Altroz from Pune plant-screenshot_20210928223032_youtube.jpg

Tata rolls out 100,000th Altroz from Pune plant-screenshot_20210928223103_youtube.jpg

Tata rolls out 100,000th Altroz from Pune plant-screenshot_20210928223121_youtube.jpg

And the journey continues..

Last edited by Venkatesh : 28th September 2021 at 22:38.
Venkatesh is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 28th September 2021, 23:18   #13

Kudos to Tata Motors for achieving this. Altroz was a strong consideration to me till I finalized Nexon. For those who were averse to Maruti and Korean Twins, and due to Ford's lethargy, Altroz became a good option to consider in the Hatchback space (esp. diesel). To date, my only gripe with choosing Nexon is when I end up thinking about Altoz interiors.

Altroz is a well-thought combination of features and looks at a VFM proposition, and market success proves that there is a sizeable customer base that is ready to take the leap of faith (the same parallel in the case of Nissan Magnite)

Dear Tata Motors, Please now concentrate on your chink, i.e., service quality, to give a stellar ownership experience.
Old 29th September 2021, 00:03   #14

I would have been ok with TATA sourcing Ford’s DCT for Altroz! I’m driving a Ford DCT, so far no issues. With Ford stopping production, could have tried that route. The wait for Altroz has been eternal now! So frustrating to say the least.
The Rationalist is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th September 2021, 00:05   #15

One of the best looking cars in India, hatchback or otherwise. Whenever I spot an Altroz, I cannot help but tuck behind it and admire the design lines from different angles. The last time I did it, I was in a fairly expensive TD car and the Altroz' passengers as well as the ones in my car were wondering what the hell I was doing!

Not just looks, but it also has exceptional highway manners. One of the best hatchbacks to cruise on the expressway in.

Wish list = same engine tune as the Nexon, as there really was no need to give it lesser power. And yes, proper ATs please.
+1000 indeed. With a very heavy heart, I congratulate all the present and prospective owners of the Altroz, which eluded me. I had set my eyes on this, but the delay in launch only meant I bought a Rapid [to attend a family occasion that was planned much earlier and not to be missed]. Altroz, after so many teasers, was launched a couple of months later.