View Poll Results: NHC with ABS/Airbags are similar prices which would you choose
SX4 146 49.66%
NHC 148 50.34%
Voters: 294. You may not vote on this poll

Old 23rd May 2007, 22:53   #106

Originally Posted by The Wolf View Post
Hain???!!!! Where did you get that from??? Baleno???
Its 100ps which is 100x.9863= 98.63bhp. These ps and bhp things are confusing. Ritesh, thanks for going OT again and bringing the baleno in . I am sure there might not be a day where you haven't mentioned the word baleno. Seems, you are too much in love with it.

Ritesh, dont get goddy angry he might run your Vtec over with his truck. Lol.

Last edited by mclaren1885 : 23rd May 2007 at 22:57.
Old 23rd May 2007, 22:54   #107

Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
NHC VTEC is 98.63 BHP to be precise
My Mistake.. Sorry

Hain???!!!! Where did you get that from??? Baleno???

You are a Riot arent you.

Godfather
Old 23rd May 2007, 23:02   #108

Originally Posted by Godfather View Post
I beg to differ on this.. I will not agree. I have driven both the NHC Vtec and the SX4. in a 0-100 the SX4 will run circles around the NHC

Lets have a Showdown then.. Stock SX4 vwesus the NHC Vtec.. Heck even the Old Vtec will do..
ON all the above points.. I am sure this is the only way to clear a lot of misunderstanding and porve much needed points.
I am sure you are getting confused with the NHC and not the Vtec.
Just picture this
NHC Vtec with 100 BHP and 1060 kgs wt. (0-100 = 10.6 as per ACI)
SX4 with 102 BHP and 1200 kgs wt. (0-100 = ??)
or
Baleno with 92/94 bhp and 980 kgs wt. (0-100 = 11.1 )
OHC Vtec with 106 bhp and 980 kgs wt. (0-100 = 10.1)

PS - Would love to have that showdown, but I am very poor at keeping my commitments for showdowns. Still have one pending with a certain Fiesta 1.6
Old 23rd May 2007, 23:04   #109

Being an owner of Swift and Esteem, and now having a budget of 9 lakhs, I can tell you as a prespective buyer, image does matter. And no matter how tempting the VFM package of SX4 is, it doesnt have the quality finish of Honda. Maruti somehow till date hasnt been accepted in C-D segments in India. The expereince of buying a 8 lakh rupees car begins from the showroom, and an MUL showroom never gives you the luxury feeling of a Honda showroom... MUL have mostly sold cars in C segment due to the VFM factor. With SX4 they have tried to pull off a Swift for the C segment, but at least for the brand concious buyer, Maruti is not associated with the status that comes with a 9 lakh rupee car. If Honda can up their game, than its a no brainer... However as it stands now, Maruti for cost concious buyer and Honda for brand concious one!

Last edited by aseem : 23rd May 2007 at 23:05.
Old 23rd May 2007, 23:08   #110

Originally Posted by mclaren1885 View Post
Ritesh, thanks for going OT again and bringing the baleno in . I am sure there might not be a day where you haven't mentioned the word baleno. Seems, you are too much in love with it.
LOLzzzzzzz...that was damn cute I swear!!!

Originally Posted by mclaren1885 View Post
Ritesh, dont get goddy angry he might run your Vtec over with his truck. Lol.
If he manages to catch me, that is
Old 23rd May 2007, 23:25   #111

If he manages to catch me, that is
You have to stop somewhere .

Godfather
Old 23rd May 2007, 23:59   #112

Originally Posted by Godfather View Post
You have to stop somewhere .

Godfather
He will after all his car is petrol and goddy yer car is diesel + bigger fuel tank...

BTW i talked to honda dealer here and he said the car price will be around 8.8 lacs but he aint sure.. Plus he is 90% sure abt it being a 100BHP one..
Old 24th May 2007, 00:01   #113

Originally Posted by goldie_malhotra View Post
I am sure you are getting confused with the NHC and not the Vtec.
Just picture this
NHC Vtec with 100 BHP and 1060 kgs wt. (0-100 = 10.6 as per ACI)
or
Baleno with 92/94 bhp and 980 kgs wt. (0-100 = 11.1 )

PS - Would love to have that showdown, but I am very poor at keeping my commitments for showdowns. Still have one pending with a certain Fiesta 1.6
Every magazine has their own 0-100 timings so i dont take them as benchmark... What does company claim btw ???
Old 24th May 2007, 00:09   #114

Originally Posted by samirsarkar View Post
What about the Suzuki Hayabusa which is one of the most coveted bikes among bike lovers ??
1. Objection: you're 'assuming' that it's the most coveted bikes among bike lovers. I'd go for a Britten or Bimota anyday.
2. Another fine example of bad design. Suzuki is known more for low-cost than styling.
3. Performance isn't everything. A Mondeo is faster than a Merc, but market positioning is very different.

...we are comparing a so called ugly designed, old, grandmother ... with a brand new, crisp, father of vfm, big tyred, fully loaded top of the line Maruti invention!!!
More like Suzuki creation. Maruti diabolism. Market stimulation.

...Face value comes with track record. Needless to say Toyotas and Hondas have carved a niche in reliability with performance globally year after year!!! I mean I havent seen any company challenge them in this aspect, atleast not in last half a decade or so...
Aye sir! But Toyota has held the longest record--since 1983! No wonder it has the most number of awards for reliability and fuel economy.

Originally Posted by aseem View Post
Being an owner of Swift and Esteem, and now having a budget of 9 lakhs, I can tell you as a prespective buyer, image does matter. And no matter how tempting the VFM package of SX4 is, it doesnt have the quality finish of Honda. Maruti somehow till date hasnt been accepted in C-D segments in India. The expereince of buying a 8 lakh rupees car begins from the showroom, and an MUL showroom never gives you the luxury feeling of a Honda showroom... MUL have mostly sold cars in C segment due to the VFM factor. With SX4 they have tried to pull off a Swift for the C segment, but at least for the brand concious buyer, Maruti is not associated with the status that comes with a 9 lakh rupee car. If Honda can up their game, than its a no brainer... However as it stands now, Maruti for cost concious buyer and Honda for brand concious one!
I second that. The brand makes a big difference. My cousin HAD to buy a Merc because he had to project the right image with his clients. While his garage is lined up with BMWs and Mercs, he did praise the Baleno once upon a time. But he dint buy it. (ofcourse) My (advocate) bro-in-law went in for an Accent because he din't want to scare away his clients!

Maruti's image hasn't changed, and it's not going to change. Anyone can lower the price. Raising it is the problem. Maruti tried it with the Baleno, and failed.
Old 24th May 2007, 00:10   #115

Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
He will after all his car is petrol and goddy yer car is diesel + bigger fuel tank...
and he is running mods.. so low FE.. sooner or later i will catchup. so he better not get his hopes too high.

Every magazine has their own 0-100 timings so i dont take them as benchmark... What does company claim btw ???
a couple of hours.

Godfather
Old 24th May 2007, 00:16   #116

Where I see some realistic competition is with Toyota's next expected model - Vios
Old 24th May 2007, 00:28   #117

12.7 or so I would believe.

985 kgs. & 10.01 seconds.

Mind if an old VTEC joins in for this one with Suman?
Old 24th May 2007, 00:34   #118

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Mind if an old VTEC joins in for this one with Suman?
I am sure Suman have somethng under that fiesta 1.6 hood to shake all the Vernas, Vtec's and what not...

BTW do simple Vtec have a climatic control ?
Old 24th May 2007, 01:59   #119

I am sure Suman have somethng under that fiesta 1.6 hood to shake all the Vernas, Vtec's and what not...
No his car is absolutely stock.
Old 24th May 2007, 02:01   #120

BTW, it may interest some of you to know that ACI has described the NHC as soulless in this month's article.