Old 29th May 2006, 20:39   #106

Now this is by far the best indicator of the launch date of the new civic.

And the only reason they're telling is so that honda can enjoy the slump in sales of other cars of the same segment till Civic actually comes out

Cheeky
Old 6th June 2006, 15:53   #107

Experienced New Honda Car Buyers please reply-

Is it wise in to buy first badge of cars in India?

Honda builds good cars - but things can go wrong in india with quality issues, as we are still developing etc.

Usually Honda always updates their models after few years. For example - City ZX. They do that by collecting all the feedback from the customers and fix all the problems - thus City ZX. They do this with all models.

This will happen with Civic also...maybe in 2009.

But again , what i am worried about is problems with the first badge of Civic.
First badge cars are likely to have most problems!

How was your experience with the first badge of City or even Corolla etc

Good idea to wait for some time right? prices may even come down...with all issues resolved...

Share your experience...

Last edited by microhit : 6th June 2006 at 15:59.
Old 6th June 2006, 16:37   #108

to add.....civic sold in US (which is assembled in Canada) have lot of issues - like rattling, wind noise through window frame seal at high speeds, hard dash plastic creaking sound and clutch vibrations etc
Old 6th June 2006, 19:21   #109

The other school of thought

There is a school of thought that rush to get the first batch before there is too much of localization done ;-).. Laura/Camry/CRV, first versions of the original maruti 800 were bought as they were imported or the first lot is CKD..
Old 6th June 2006, 19:48   #110

I might have been true some years back but these days indian manufacturing has come of age.

Originally Posted by rangaraj
There is a school of thought that rush to get the first batch before there is too much of localization done ;-).. Laura/Camry/CRV, first versions of the original maruti 800 were bought as they were imported or the first lot is CKD..
Old 15th June 2006, 14:28   #111

4th of July - the Civic is being launched in 2 variants only - basic and loaded.

Thats from the Honda Seil Cars guys.
Old 16th June 2006, 09:17   #112

Originally Posted by microhit
Experienced New Honda Car Buyers please reply-

Is it wise in to buy first badge of cars in India?

Honda builds good cars - but things can go wrong in india with quality issues, as we are still developing etc.

Usually Honda always updates their models after few years. For example - City ZX. They do that by collecting all the feedback from the customers and fix all the problems - thus City ZX. They do this with all models.

This will happen with Civic also...maybe in 2009.

But again , what i am worried about is problems with the first badge of Civic.
First badge cars are likely to have most problems!

How was your experience with the first badge of City or even Corolla etc

Good idea to wait for some time right? prices may even come down...with all issues resolved...

Share your experience...

I purchased a new City VTech in 2000. This was one of the first cars delivered in Bangalore. Runs like a dream, no early production batch issues!
Old 16th June 2006, 10:20   #113

Civic will be in 2 varients Manual and Auto. Expect the On road price to be Around 13 lakhs and 14 lakhs respectively in Bangalore.
Launch date confirmed for 4th July.
Power will be between 130-140BHP, still no confirmed info.

Unlike other Honda cars which are value for money, if true, this seems little pricey for the Honda brand.
Old 16th June 2006, 10:39   #114

Originally Posted by ST7677
Civic will be in 2 varients Manual and Auto. Expect the On road price to be Around 13 lakhs and 14 lakhs respectively in Bangalore.
Launch date confirmed for 4th July.
Power will be between 130-140BHP, still no confirmed info.

Unlike other Honda cars which are value for money, if true, this seems little pricey for the Honda brand.
Arent all Honda cars "pricey" compared to other cars in the same segment - at least in India.
And 13/14 L OTR b'lore is bang on the same spot as the Corolla, its main competitor. I expect it to be around 11 L / 12 L ex-showroom Delhi, then.
Old 16th June 2006, 11:51   #115

11 to 12 laks they say was at honda yday for my cvt service. they said july anytime. i was like losers did not tell me earlier on would have bought that. anyways dont care dont like honda anyways, this car should have my likings if it had the sexy speedo on it
Old 16th June 2006, 17:19   #116

A letter from Honda.

Dear Privileged Client,

At the onset, we wish to thank you for your valued patronage.

We appreciate your keen interest shown in the HONDA CIVIC.We refer to your
e-mail enquiry made for the yet to be launched 8th Generation
state-of-the-art 'HONDA CIVIC' model vehicle.

We are tentatively expecting the HONDA CIVIC launch to happen in the month
of July.

As a part of the Pre-Launch Activity, We have already forwarded your mail
id's to our Principals M/s HONDA SIEL CARS INDIA LTD so as to keep you all
posted on the developments of the Honda CIVIC pre-lauch and post lauch
activities.

We also take this opportunity to intimate you that, it will always be our
constant endeavour to reach to our esteemed clientele expectations and
deliver the best.

Please do not hesitate to contact us in case of any further assistance or
clarifications if required at our landline nos. 25202212-16 or you may visit
our showroom at the below mentioned address.

ICHIBAAN AUTOMOBILES PVT LTD
ASHA STUDIOS COMPOUND,
NEXT TO R K STUDIOS,
SION TROMBAY ROAD,
CHEMBUR
MUMBAI-400071

Thanking and assuring you of our best services at all times.

with warm regards

Umesh Chillalshetti
Manager-Sales
I spoke to Honda dealer and he told me that the car will be coming only by August. Other dealer said first or second week of July.

Now the following aspects which i asked : -

Pricing - 11 - 13 Lakhs.

Engine 1.8L, I Vtec 132 BHP ( Thats a detune of 8 horses)

Features - ABS, Dual SRS Airbags, Brake Assist System, Digital Speedo, 195/65/15 Tyres on Alloys, Mp3 Music system, Seats are Fabric.

Features which wont be coming - Leather Seats, Sun Roof, 16 Inchers, HID Lights, Lumbar Support, Electronic folding mirrors, audio Controls on steering wheel.

I am already dissapointed with Honda. They have stripped her bad and Corolla will still be faster then her as she is way lighter and Optra will be more VFM. When a person is spending 14Lacs on a Civic its better get yourself a Embera.
Old 19th June 2006, 16:21   #117

4th of July seems confirmed.
And here's an official image from the Honda site.

http://www.hondacarindia.com/civic/c...ew/default.asp

Old 19th June 2006, 19:34   #118

I think I clearly saw the Civics in the trailer about to be unloaded on the yard of Honda on Whitefiled (some day in last week and half).
Old 19th June 2006, 23:28   #119

FOr 14 lacs I would anyday ditch a Honda civic for skoda RS or even a ford mondeo.

it's more powerful and has more kit. Why would I go for civic at that price? unless the price is 11 or below Honda civic loses its charm.

anyways 10-11 looks more like it because Accord is 14.0 and NHC is 7. hence civic has to be 10-11.

Last edited by devarshi84 : 19th June 2006 at 23:29.
Old 20th June 2006, 02:36   #120

i agree with devarishi expect the civic to be some place around 11 - 13 lacs.