Old 19th January 2022, 11:33   #1

2022 Lexus NX 350h, now launched at Rs. 64.90 lakh

Mod Note: Our Lexus NX 350h Review has been taken live at this link. Please continue the discussion over on the new thread. Thanks!

Lexus India opens pre-bookings for NX 350h Hybrid SUV, could be launched in India by next month.

2022 Lexus NX 350h, now launched at Rs. 64.90 lakh-smartselect_20220119112626_twitter.jpg

2022 Lexus NX 350h, now launched at Rs. 64.90 lakh-smartselect_20220119112649_twitter.jpg

2022 Lexus NX 350h, now launched at Rs. 64.90 lakh-smartselect_20220119112659_twitter.jpg

2022 Lexus NX 350h, now launched at Rs. 64.90 lakh-smartselect_20220119112709_twitter.jpg

2022 Lexus NX 350h, now launched at Rs. 64.90 lakh-smartselect_20220119112718_twitter.jpg

2022 Lexus NX SUV unveiled with a plug-in-hybrid powertrain for International markets in June last year.

Powering the 2022 Lexus NX SUV are a range of engine options. This includes a 2.4-litre turbo petrol engine producing 279 BHP and 430 Nm. There is also a 2.5-litre naturally-aspirated petrol engine pumping out 205 BHP and 250 Nm.

Lexus also offers the 2.5-litre NA engine on its two plug-in hybrid variants - NX 350h and NX 450h+, producing 242 BHP and 306 BHP, respectively. The company claims that the NX has an electric-only range of 58 km. All variants come mated to a standard 8-speed automatic transmission. Link

Last edited by Aditya : 21st March 2022 at 06:20. Reason: Link to review added
Venkatesh is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 19th January 2022, 12:14   #2

re: 2022 Lexus NX 350h, now launched at Rs. 64.90 lakh

If priced right this time around this car can give stiff competition to X3, GLC, XC60 and the likes.

Although Lexus needs to promote it well, can change the game for them!

CEF_Beasts is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 19th January 2022, 14:19   #3

Only the refreshed NX 350h will be coming to India as per my understanding. More powerful, larger interior space and feature loaded - if priced right should be an good alternative to the German trio.
pk1972 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th January 2022, 17:33   #4

Looks so good, other than that ugly front grille, but if the market will accept the weird new Creta, they will accept anything. I sure hope Lexus "prices it to sell it" as this could be a real alternative to the luxury Germans, Volvo & Jaguar-Land Rover. None of these can hold a candle to the refinement, ownership experience & reliability of a Lexus. And it's the only hybrid that works so well / seamlessly.

2022 Lexus NX 350h, now launched at Rs. 64.90 lakh-screenshot-20220119-172945.jpg

2022 Lexus NX 350h, now launched at Rs. 64.90 lakh-screenshot-20220119-173004.jpg

2022 Lexus NX 350h, now launched at Rs. 64.90 lakh-screenshot-20220119-173021.jpg
GTO is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 19th January 2022, 19:28   #5

Lexus NX 350h looks menacing other than the ugly Front Grill,
If not for the grill, I would definitely think about adding it to my Garage.
Nothing can beat Toyota's Reliability, it may be a bit boring to drive but it won't leave you stranded like Jaguar Land Rover.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 2nd March 2022 at 17:06. Reason: Please use emoticons provided in forum text editor for a consistent experience. Thanks.
Old 20th January 2022, 03:06   #6

I'm among the few who have come to accept what many consider an odd or ugly grill design. Looks a lot better in person. For the grey car shown above, I think that black grill makes it look aggressive.

It also looks like they have finally given up on the touch pad. Some may say, good riddance.

Dual motor is an interesting setup. For the purpose of all wheel drive, I guess they are using an electric motor for the rear axle.
sandeepmohan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th January 2022, 05:58   #7

My recall is that the pricing is right up there with the X3 segment (~75L on road give or take). And at that price, its even tinier than the already compact Germans.

It has a boot that is practically unusable and rear seats too that are even tighter than XC60 / X3 range. Hard sell in my mind. I’d rather step down to Kodiaq range and get something as luxurious, and far more spacious at 60% of the price. Or a Lexus ES which is far more complete a car at the same price.

A Lexus ES 300 goes toe to toe and either matches / offers more than its German counterparts, falling behind only in the outright performance / handling metrics, instead giving hybrid convenience. The NX on the other hand offers “less” on every front than its German competition, at the same price. The NX is truly a halo product and even its own stablemate at the same price will make a more compelling purchase.

I only see this finding space in the Uber luxury garages as a self drive car where there already exist more spacious luxury cars - or alternately a very niche luxury car buyer who has a more practical first car and wants this as an exclusive self drive car in the garage. Something he wouldn’t want to give to a driver.

Last edited by Axe77 : 20th January 2022 at 06:05.
Axe77 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 20th January 2022, 11:09   #8

Had a word with the dealer in Mumbai and they are asking for 5 lacs for pre-booking. A guesstimate would put the price at 75 lacs ex-showroom, cosidering the larger battery this time too. The dealer also shared the following information:

3 variant options:-

NX Exquisite, NX Luxury, NX FSport

There are multiple color options and interior options to customize the car as per your taste.

Exterior colors:

Sonic Chrome (Dark Grey)
Sonic Quartz (Pearl White)
Sonic Titanium (Silver Grey)
Black
Graphite Black
Orange
Celestial Blue
Heat Blue (FSport only)
White Nova (FSport only)

Interior options :

Black
Dark rose
Rich creme
Hazel (tan brown)
Flare Red (FSport only)
White (FSport only)

Last edited by Turbolove : 20th January 2022 at 11:10. Reason: grammar
Turbolove is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 2nd February 2022, 13:50   #9

Cars have arrived at the dealerships, cabin feels a lot more upmarket with the new touchscreen. Earlier we used to get a 300h spec car, this time the 350h will offer more punch to take on the Germans. Let’s hope Lexus can price it appropriately in the market.
CEF_Beasts is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd February 2022, 17:00   #10

We had a sneak peek view of the NX300h on Saturday, it was based on the invite-only and we were allowed to see the vehicle, but not allowed for the video or photo, OH MAN, what a vehicle it is, its one level above all the luxury vehicles in that range.

1. New refined Engine ( 0 to 100 in 7secs ) Mileage 14kms city
2. New front grill and lights
3. New Interiors (14-inch infotainment wow it is )
4. New Instrument Cluster
5. New Interiors including the door handles, its button open/close, no handles inside.
6. New Rear, its beautiful LEDs
7. Headsup display, new sunroof
8. Safety features best
9. Price range between 75 - 85 in Bangalore
10. Service cost expected around 20k per service ( service pack 30k kms at 30000 )

There are so many more things, now my mind is diverting from BMW to Lexus ahahaha LOL

All the best guys, for all the vehicles you are looking at.

Now I know how difficult it is to select a vehicle.

Last edited by Eddy : 5th February 2022 at 20:34. Reason: Capitalisation & multiple typos corrected
kdeepakk is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 2nd February 2022, 19:47   #11

Originally Posted by kdeepakk View Post
We had sneak peak view of the NX300h on saturday, it was based on the invite only and we were allowed to see the vehicle
Lucky you .
Do share how it was compared to rivals from an interior space perspective- both 2nd row seating, and boot space. While the Japanese are experts in space management, the NX is down in overall dimensions as compared to say a Q5, so wanted to understand how it felt inside.

I would so love to see more Lexus cars on Indian roads, and had i been in the market for a luxury SUV, this one would have been at the top of my list. But sadly sub-optimal marketing, along with limited distribution and pricing is letting the brand down
Old 2nd February 2022, 20:54   #12

Originally Posted by kdeepakk View Post
We had sneak peak view of the NX300h on saturday, it was based on the invite only and we were allowed to see the vehicle, but not allowed for the video or photo, OH MAN, what a vehicle it is, its one level above all the luxury vehicles in that range.

1. New refined Engine ( 0 to 100 in 7secs ) Mileage 14kms city
2. New front grill and lights
3. New Interiors ( 14 inch infotainment wow it is )
4. New Instrument Cluster
5. New Interiors including the door handles, its button open/close, no handles inside.
6. New Rear, its beautiful LEDs
7. Headsup display, new sunroof
8. Safety features best
9. Price range between 75 - 85 in Bangalore
10. Service cost expected around 20k per service ( service pack 30k kms at 30000 )

There are so many more things, now my mind if diverting from BMW to Lexus ahahaha LOL

All the best guys, for all the vehicles you are looking at.

Now i know to how difficult it is to select a vehicle.
Thanks for the comments. What’s your thought on the back seats? The earlier version was too narrow to seat 3 people and also the under thigh support was less.
Old 2nd February 2022, 23:52   #13

Originally Posted by achyutaghosh View Post
Lucky you .
Do share how it was compared to rivals from an interior space perspective- both 2nd row seating, and boot space. While the Japanese are experts in space management, the NX is down in overall dimensions as compared to say a Q5, so wanted to understand how it felt inside.

I would so love to see more Lexus cars on Indian roads, and had i been in the market for a luxury SUV, this one would have been at the top of my list. But sadly sub-optimal marketing, along with limited distribution and pricing is letting the brand down
Front row is generous, and the back row is same, no space for 3 and legroom is cramped. This is because am 6ft, probably shorter people might be comfortable, but 3 in back is still ok ok as the shoulders touch each other.
I thought of changing my booking from BMW to Lexus, but its available only from May and Bangalore On road will be around 86lacs, which is tooo expensive for it. One thing i like about Lexus is reliability and service.

Feature wise it is very rich compared to all other germans. It is worth to have this vehicle if you are able to afford it.

Originally Posted by pk1972 View Post
Thanks for the comments. What’s your thought on the back seats? The earlier version was too narrow to seat 3 people and also the under thigh support was less.
3rd row not for the 3 for sure if you are well built. if your height weight is normal then you can. I am 6.2 and my brother is 6.4, so its difficult for us, also head room for 6ft guys is less otherwise its beautiful vehicle to be in it.
kdeepakk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2022, 00:00   #14

One of my All time Favourites, and even more since its launch in India. Sadly, cannot own one for now. If I get one, don't think i'll be requiring any other vehicle for years to come. Reliability is legendary coupled with that Hybrid tech, Perfect size. Dream to own!!
Old 3rd February 2022, 08:32   #15

Even as a votary of Lexus and a customer who has swallowed their premium pricing I believe at this price point of Rs. 86 lakhs on the road this vehicle is priced too high. But it will find buyers. Scratching my head - hmmmm! is the car over priced or has my income, as a retired grey rat, stopped growing. Everything is relative. :-)
V.Narayan is offline   (16) Thanks