Old 4th March 2023, 10:55   #301

re: 2023 Hyundai Verna launched at 10.9 lakhs!

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
New Hyundai Verna vs its peers:

Attachment 2424911
Height remains the same. In fact, lowest among the segment. Does it mean it will have the lowest GC too?
Old 4th March 2023, 11:17   #302

Originally Posted by RaiAnish View Post
Extremely disappointing, I'd say. Those digital watch like numbers is Pulsar level cluster. The VAG 8 incher is much beautiful in comparison in my opinion. Even the older Verna was better than this I'd say. Hated this cluster on the Carens and the Venue.

Don't know how to say this but this does not mimick the traditional revs going up in the circular display which is available in VAG ones. That to me is just inferior.

Is it just me or anyone else with me on this ?
Couldn’t agree more!

Speedometer is a very crucial element of a car since it’s going to be right in front of you whenever you’re behind the wheel and for enthusiasts like us, nothing beats the sight of the tacho needle/bar rushing towards the redline!

If not the one equipped in the Alcazar and Tucson, Hyundai could’ve gone for something similar to the VAG twins or just carry over the one in the current Verna which if not perfect, is miles better than this setup.
Nazaar25 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th March 2023, 13:26   #303

Is this a big blow to VW Skoda sales numbers???

In the short term at least it will certainly affect VW Skoda in a big way and also Honda City
Old 4th March 2023, 13:33   #304

Originally Posted by Nilesh5417 View Post
Did you really place the Verna at 25lakhs on purpose? They might not as well launch it cause that's probably a good 4-5lakhs over the Slavia 1.5DSG.
I said " within 25 lac". My guess is that it would be around 20-21 lac for top end turbo petrol. The Creta top end may be slightly higher and then the Alcazar.
fhdowntheline is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 4th March 2023, 16:11   #305

Originally Posted by Nazaar25 View Post
Couldn’t agree more!

Speedometer is a very crucial element of a car since it’s going to be right in front of you whenever you’re behind the wheel and for enthusiasts like us, nothing beats the sight of the tacho needle/bar rushing towards the redline!

If not the one equipped in the Alcazar and Tucson, Hyundai could’ve gone for something similar to the VAG twins or just carry over the one in the current Verna which if not perfect, is miles better than this setup.
Exactly! Definitely a deal breaker for me.
RaiAnish is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th March 2023, 18:29   #306

I would wait to see the vehicle in person or for the TBHP review before passing judgement. Full marks to Hyundai for actually putting in money into this segment and bringing out a properly new car, unlike what Honda is doing since the ANHC.
Maverick_4662 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th March 2023, 19:05   #307

The looks of this car are going to be extremely polarizing, I'm sure. There are memes floating around in car groups already. Personally, I am not a fan of taking away the eyes (headlamps) of a car from where it was supposed to be and moving them further down, on an already low-slung sedan.

2023 Hyundai Verna launched at 10.9 lakhs!-vernanewmeme.jpeg

But I appreciate Hyundai for bringing some life to the C-segment sedan category. The Honda City iterations are way too boring and don't carry any newness.

Last edited by clevermax : 4th March 2023 at 19:10.
clevermax is offline   (47) Thanks
Old 4th March 2023, 22:04   #308

Originally Posted by clevermax View Post

But I appreciate Hyundai for bringing some life to the C-segment sedan category. The Honda City iterations are way too boring and don't carry any newness.
Even more importantly, they dont have the bang for the buck. If the VW Twins and Hyundai are offfering a turbo-petrol then Honda has no right to continue bragging about iVTEC.
fhdowntheline is online now   (10) Thanks
Old 5th March 2023, 06:53   #309

The design is not bad and it will grow on us slowly. I am quite sure that Hyundai will bring some segment-first features from the Elantra (International) to the Verna. It will dominate the segment for the initial months stressing the sales of Honda City.

Also as per the new norm- on the launch date we will hear an official statement that XXXXX no of Vernas have been booked and the waiting period is about 6-8 months.

Last edited by Aditya : 6th March 2023 at 04:39. Reason: Repeated text
Old 5th March 2023, 07:56   #310

Oh, wow. What a disappointment. Hyundai seems to have made overdone designs "normal". That's really sad. The Verna tries so desperately to look like the BMW (i)7 Series in the M-Sport design package–it fails miserably.

Shoury A Dasari.
Old 5th March 2023, 10:08   #311

Am I the only who is in awe of the design?

The new Verna looks EV5 ish and I've loved that design. That soft speedo and the sweet 1.5 turbo. I'm a definite customer.

I wanted the Slavia but my logical mind asked me to stay away from the. VW twins. Come Hyundai with an exciting new motor and sweet looking Sedan. In my opinion, this is Honda City's death. It'll remain the only NA car in the competition.
Old 5th March 2023, 10:13   #312

Oh! I expected the instrument cluster of verna to be better. They could atleast give the creta's or seltos's instrument cluster to the verna. I just hate the carens's instrument cluster.

Some of my favorite instrument clusters:

Name:  Screenshot 20230305 100118.png
Views: 528
Size:  148.1 KB

Name:  Screenshot 20230305 100144.png
Views: 511
Size:  130.4 KB

Name:  Screenshot 20230305 100236.png
Views: 531
Size:  181.4 KB

Name:  Screenshot 20230305 100336.png
Views: 524
Size:  291.8 KB

The cluster is a very imp part of a car. I don't understand why companies cost cut on this regard. It might be a deal breaker for some.

I had been complaining about the 3 stripes below the light. They turn out to be indicators!
Just look at them, they have some gaps in between I guess, though not sure, if the gaps of the indicators turn out to be true, they might stop working soon because of water and insects :(

Name:  Screenshot 20230305 100614.png
Views: 523
Size:  96.8 KB

I hope to be proven wrong. I don't want any delicate component of my car to be exposed like that. They could have integrated indicators in the light itself. I don't understand the reson behind fitting tube lights in car. It just ruins the look of the car, especially a sedan.
MotorDev is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 5th March 2023, 15:25   #313

Originally Posted by MotorDev View Post
Oh! I expected the instrument cluster of verna to be better. They could atleast give the creta's or seltos's instrument cluster to the verna. I just hate the carens's instrument cluster..
100% with you on it. I'm actually surprised by the way the industry underestimates instrument clusters. The Citroen C3, Nexon, Venue, Carens and now this. These do not belong where they are.
RaiAnish is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th March 2023, 16:18   #314

More undisguised pictures of the new Verna.

2023 Hyundai Verna launched at 10.9 lakhs!-fb_img_1678013240738.jpg

2023 Hyundai Verna launched at 10.9 lakhs!-fb_img_1678013245946.jpg

Venkatesh is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 5th March 2023, 16:34   #315

Someone ask Hyundai to connect front DRL with rear stop lamp. They can market it as a first car with 360 degree connected lights.
Circled area looks like ventilation slots, did they get design inspiration from generator cover?

This thing is going to overtake Honda City for sure! Minimum 3K sales per month guaranteed.
2023 Hyundai Verna launched at 10.9 lakhs!-fb_img_1678013245946.jpg  

Latheesh is online now   (1) Thanks