Team-BHP - Standard guidelines for calculating FE?

-   -   Standard guidelines for calculating FE? (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/25204-standard-guidelines-calculating-fe.html)

FUEL EFFICIENCY (FE) which is an important factor in a typical Indian car buyer's decision, is often manipulated by manufacturers (especially bike manufacturers) to gain maximum publicity and sales "mileage" (pun intended) by quoting "UNDER STANDARD TEST CONDITIONS"

Like it or not, fuel efficiency is an important requirement when it comes to environment conservation and the country's huge fuel import bills.

I know that in Europe there is something called "European Combined Driving Cycle" which is a standard yardstick to compare FE of different cars.

We have standard acceleration tests like 0-100 kph, 0-400m (quarter mile) and so on, then why not for FE.

It's seen that every magazine and manufacturer uses its own convenient formula to calculate fuel efficiency of their product.

Let's say, standards can be set on the basis of....
1) Minimum Distance to be covered.
2) Minimum Speed of the vehicle.
3) No. of passengers / amount of fuel in car while testing.
4) Climatic/road conditions and so on.

If such standards do exist in India, then why aren't they implemented ?

For some, this might be a hopeless thread but it is a fact that fuel efficiency is a very very important parameter from all points of view.

Originally Posted by salilpawar1 (Post 469875)
"UNDER STANDARD TEST CONDITIONS"

which as we all know are highly exaggerated figures and aren't even close to everyday driving situations.

i remember reading in either Car & Driver or Road & Track, that the EPA which handles the fuel efficiency figures do have some sort of plan to change their testing procedures (or calculations) to bring the fuel efficiency figures closer to practical levels.

Originally Posted by salilpawar1
It's seen that every magazine uses its own convenient formula to calculate fuel efficiency of their product.

most magazines usually display an average fuel economy figure from cars in their long-term fleets. they get this figure by taking an average figure of mileage over mixed terrain. this is generally closer to the figure one should expect in everyday driving conditions.

but then again te "under standard test conditions" is a yardstick to measure the fuel efficiency by.i would suppose its difficult to recreate the same situations,driving conditions,weather,traffic for each car and thus the figures would vary even for the same car if this test is done again.europe has good roads,sensible traffic management,educated drivers so its posible to replicate atleast the same driving conditions.in india,you would find buses,autos,bikes cutting in front of you and thus fe figures would vary say for a car which didnt encounter these conditions compared to a car which did.
if a car under test conditions gives 20kmpl and another car gives 30kmpl under standard test condition,then you know that the second car is more fuel efficient.

i agree there should be a set standard so that manufacturers can claim the figures accordingly,agencies like ARAI should give fuel consumption ratings when they test any vehicle prior to its launch this will aid in clearing confusion amongst not so well informed or tooooo smart costumers especially after seeing the fiesta ad claiming 34kmpl

OFFTOPIC:ive met lots of ppl who say fiesta returns 34kmpl some of their distant relative is getting that,the other day i was in verna and i met a guy he asked "kya average hai?" i told him 15kmpl city he said its poor because fiesta gives 34,now should i have argued with that guy,such things occur frequently.

Originally Posted by hellspawn (Post 469921)
but then again te "under standard test conditions" is a yardstick to measure the fuel efficiency by.i would suppose its difficult to recreate the same situations,driving conditions,weather,traffic for each car and thus the figures would vary even for the same car if this test is done again.europe has good roads,sensible traffic management,educated drivers so its posible to replicate atleast the same driving conditions.in india,you would find buses,autos,bikes cutting in front of you and thus fe figures would vary say for a car which didnt encounter these conditions compared to a car which did.
if a car under test conditions gives 20kmpl and another car gives 30kmpl under standard test condition,then you know that the second car is more fuel efficient.

Agreed, but won't a some standardisation will give a buyer some parameter to compare FE of different cars.

Seriously, how many motorists drive their cars regulary "pedal to the metal" style... but still acceleration figures like 0-100 kph and topspeed give an idea about the relative performances of two cars.

Also check out this thread and the 2 links in it >>

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...-your-car.html

cya
R

Check this post http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/716802-post15.html in the thread http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...standards.html

I think this thread can be merged with Khanak's thread. What say?