Old 20th June 2007, 19:07   #31

everyone will get to benefit if the passat is priced at 17Ex showroom.. including the people that recently bought 20-lakh cars.. because this will just kick start the much needed downward price correction in india... 15-lakh civic, 20-lakh laura, 25-lakh camry, 30-lakh audi-a4, etc. (approx on-road prices in Bangalore)

VW will have to figure out how it is going to price itself compared to its own brands Skoda and Audi.. this will be their main headache and worth watching :-)
Old 20th June 2007, 19:30   #32

Passat infact looks like priced right, uts the overpriced Laura that gives this impression that the Passat should be costlier, but then if the Passat is priced higher, who will buy it? Theres a Propeller and a Star badge with much more lure. Infact laura should be brought to Octy prices and Octy into the Fiesta Zone (as the Octy is actually quite old) . Then Skoda will actually be making sense. Now Some will talk about what happens to Fabia then, well then its just a Skoda and on the Polo platform so shouldn't it fight the Swifts?
Old 21st June 2007, 18:08   #33

Originally Posted by vikrantw1 View Post
The Passat is nice - personal experience - a good handler - but in the USA - it did not command a great resale price.
You are mistaken. Despite all the electrical niggles, VWs do command a good resale on the average. New Passats are more expensive too than similarly equipped Japanese cookie cutters (Cam-Accords).

I also think Rs.17L for fully loaded (Xenons with AFS etc) is probably a mistake by the press. If I recall correctly, a fully loaded (V6, AFS, NAV etc.) Passat costs close to $38K in the the US. Probably Rs.25-30L is a realistic pricing for a fully loaded model. A VERY base model perhaps will be available for Rs.17L but I certainly am not going to bet on it. We'll see though.
Old 21st June 2007, 18:20   #34

Fully loaded seems to be a somewhat relative term here, often followed by with... and a list that is very far from all the available toys and addons.

A nicely equipped Passat was something that I could not afford in UK, even the second-hand market.
Old 22nd June 2007, 08:26   #35

Is there going to be a diesel option ???
Old 22nd June 2007, 13:18   #36

Originally Posted by androdev View Post
30-lakh audi-a4, etc. (approx on-road prices in Bangalore)
A4 costs 30L ??? Looks like a family diesease (between Audi and Skoda) of overpricing their so called Luxury cars. A4 doesnt look it costs 30L at all.. I would easily opt for Merc C Class CDI (about 33 L?) if I were to choose.
Old 22nd June 2007, 13:57   #37

In the UK, the passat Retails for pounds 15000 to 27000 !! so the export price could be from 13000 to 23500. i.e. Rs 10.50 to 18.50 lacs+ all the duties etc.
SO, Please realise how much the add on options can cost!!! from the Base version!!
In India IMO the Passat will be introduced in the Superb price range, and definitely not less than 23 lacs ex showroom.
Old 22nd June 2007, 14:04   #38

Hey guys i remember reading in some auto mag that VW passat will cost 27 to 30 lakhs in india so stop dreaming about the 17 lakh price
Old 22nd June 2007, 16:50   #39

A4 costs 30L ??? Looks like a family diesease (between Audi and Skoda) of overpricing their so called Luxury cars. A4 doesnt look it costs 30L at all.. I would easily opt for Merc C Class CDI (about 33 L?) if I were to choose.
Correct... that justifies how few A4s you see on roads compared to the mercs...!!!

How I wish Passat came at 17 lakhs... but it never will... (not at least till Rs. appreciates to say 30/USD level)
I would have bought 2 of them - one for driving and one for fishing spares... lol
Old 22nd June 2007, 16:59   #40

i find the whole chain is expensive.. 15-lakh civic, 20-lakh laura, 25-lakh camry, 30-lakh audi-a4..

u see more mercs not because they are cheap/vfm.. (u also see few bmws..).. it is just that merc has the highest level of 'brand' recall.. even among aaam junta..
Old 22nd June 2007, 20:56   #41

Driving a wardrobe doesn't suit everybody. I'd much rather have an Audi than a Merc.

Whatever you may think of the outside of an audi, I've driven or been driven in a couple of expensive (over 30K) ones, and they are very, very (is there a mouthwatering smiley here?) nice indeed.
Old 26th June 2007, 11:20   #42

u see more mercs not because they are cheap/vfm.. (u also see few bmws..).. it is just that merc has the highest level of 'brand' recall..
Correction: Not brand recall (that I guess Maruti has) but premium brand image. And isn't that 'Premium Brand', what every one pays for in that segment...

There are few, very few people who would buy a marque and then remove the badge from that
In India there are few who might buy Audi because everyone else is buying Merc (to be different), but not because they don't want attention...!