Old 9th April 2018, 20:42   #106

Re: Maintaining a Mercedes-Benz in India

Right through my childhood and into adulthood I have always thought of German automobile engineers as being the best in the world and the de facto benchmark.

From the days when a MB would last decades I find, to my disappointment, the German Big 3 aren't the makers of "last forever" cars they were till the '90s and dare I say into the early 2000s as well.

I saw this video on YT and it goes some way to explain why German luxury car makers DON'T make cars like they used to. The gist? It is not because they CAN'T make cars that last but it is because they DON'T want to! Why? Luxury cars are now treated like mobile phones for Mr/Ms Moneybags i.e. upgrade every 1-4 years during which the factory or extended warranty covers any problems with the vehicle. So who the heck cares about reliability?

The video is US market specific but does shine some light on why owning a Big 3 car isn't easy on the wallet. One of the comments refers to BMW as 'Break My Wallet'

Last edited by R2D2 : 9th April 2018 at 20:44.
R2D2 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 9th April 2018, 20:51   #107

Originally Posted by rickygupta2 View Post
I bought the new C-class that was launched in 2015. Bought in April 2015 and today it has done a total of 25000 kms. I would rate my experience as worst with Mercedes. The main contention is the brake pad wear.

Check if the rear brake calipers are seized/frozen/not free. If the caliper pins are stuck and do not move freely in and out of the guide hole, it will result in the pad being in contact with the discs constantly which can wear them out.

A simpler way to check if the brakes are binding. Drive the car early morning when the surrounds are cool for about 3 kms with minimal braking. Touch the rims after the run. If they are too hot for you to touch with your hands then it is a sure shot case of seized caliper pins.

Last edited by ampere : 4th May 2018 at 23:01. Reason: Trimmed quoted post
sagarpadaki is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th April 2018, 23:47   #108

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
What kind of driving cycles you have? City or highways? and what kind of speeds you do? Normal usage one should get about 15-20 from the pads atleast. Hope they have ruled out any caliper jamming at the brakes? Easy way to figure out is if your fuel economy, if that is also bad, then might want to check the caliper.
Initially, I used to over speed but not now. It's not more than 90-100 KMPH. The economy is good. The agency people have no answer except for a standard text that it depends on the driving conditions. Its 90% highway drive with little or no braking. I think even 15k is too less but is it normal to get 15? Like don't they last for 25k like the ones of my Honda City?

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
Well, automatic transmission cars wear out brake pads more often. One possible theory is that you are not using the car frequently. 25k km in 3 years!

Surface rust builds up on the discs and the pads wear out due to excess contact to the surface rust.
The reason I don't use is frequently is because I am scared of replacing pads again and again. It takes 20,000 Rupees and sparing that kind of money every few months is really painful.

Last edited by bblost : 10th April 2018 at 00:05. Reason: back 2 back
Old 10th April 2018, 07:51   #109

My cousin has shortlisted a 2005 c200 kompressor with odo reading of 98000, please advise on what to look for before closing the deal.

Old 10th April 2018, 12:01   #110

Initially, I used to over speed but not now. It's not more than 90-100 KMPH. The economy is good. The agency people have no answer except for a standard text that it depends on the driving conditions. Its 90% highway drive with little or no braking. I think even 15k is too less but is it normal to get 15? Like don't they last for 25k like the ones of my Honda City?
I think it is the nature of the beast.

My Corolla Altis (and other Altises) go through a set of rear brake pads every 20-25K kms which IMHO is pretty quick for a car of this type. Strangely enough the rear pads burn faster than the front which last about 40-50K kms.

I always assumed the car brake pads would last a bit longer than average since I anticipate stops, brake gradually and use engine braking where possible and like you drive mostly on the highway where continuous cruising is more or less the norm.

But no, my relatively careful driving style hasn't made any difference to the longevity of the rear brake pads. They are still on their way out and though they haven't reached minimum thickness one of them has managed to wear a groove on the rotor which I will be replacing, not because the rotors need to be changed but because that an uneven rotor surface will mess up the new pads and affect braking. There can be no compromises on brakes.

As others have advised do get your brake calipers, rotors and the system checked thoroughly by the MB dealer (or even a specialist FNG technician) to rule out any mechanical issues with the system. When was the last time the brake fluid was flushed and a brake system service performed?
Old 10th April 2018, 12:47   #111

I have read about a few other MB cars requiring frequent brake pad replacements. I wonder if it is a Mercedes Benz trait?

In contrast my BMW X3 has surprised me with its brake pad life. The rear pads were changed for the first time at 25,000 kms. Currently the car is at 32,000 kms and the fronts still have decent life left. The iDrive says another 15,000 of life left, but realistically it may come up for replacement at next service about 5,000 kms away. Mine is the 30d model and I do push the car a fair bit. One point to be noted is that my car is mostly used for highway duty. Sorry I don't intend to rub salt into your wounds! Just giving you a comparison which you can present to your service team.
Santoshbhat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th April 2018, 12:54   #112

Originally Posted by Santoshbhat View Post

In contrast my BMW X3 has surprised me with its brake pad life. The rear pads were changed for the first time at 25,000 kms. Currently the car is at 32,000 kms and the fronts still have decent life left. The iDrive says another 15,000 of life left, but realistically it may come up for replacement at next service about 5,000 kms away. Mine is the 30d model and I do push the car a fair bit. One point to be noted is that my car is mostly used for highway duty. Sorry I don't intend to rub salt into your wounds! Just giving you a comparison which you can present to your service team.
I wish I had bought something else than a Merc. The biggest disappointment is that the MB dealer has no explanation for this. I have stopped pushing the car totally and bring it on road is a nightmare now because all the time my eyes are on the warning light.
Old 10th April 2018, 13:19   #113

The reason I don't use is frequently is because I am scared of replacing pads again and again. It takes 20,000 Rupees and sparing that kind of money every few months is really painful.
What you are experiencing is not normal and hopefully you will find a solution. It's fair to expect the brakes to last for 20K km.

Btw, it's not much of an extra cost if you consider the average cost per year even if you just park the car in garage without driving is few lakhs in terms of depreciation, insurance etc. Enjoy the car.

Go on a drive, make sure brakes have been used a bit so the discs are clean. Find a flat ground, stop the car in park mode. Don't apply brakes. Put some chalk marks on the disc. Drive for some distance without using brakes. Stop again on flat ground in park mode. Check if all the marks are still there.

Edit: don't give up on the car. It's a minor problem. If you believe your driving is not the issue then you just have to prove that brake pads are pressing against the disc during normal driving. I am sure they can drive the car with their diagnostic tool connected to check for the same.

Last edited by androdev : 10th April 2018 at 13:31.
androdev is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 24th April 2018, 22:13   #114

Hi guys,

Would you recommend acquiring a 15+ year old Mercedes SLK. I know German cars are expensive to maintain, but having owned the wonderful Miata while in the US, the prospect of buying a small 2 door roadster has always tempted me.

I would appreciate your advice
Old 26th April 2018, 06:24   #115

Originally Posted by nirvanaguy19 View Post
Hi guys,

Would you recommend acquiring a 15+ year old Mercedes SLK. I know German cars are expensive to maintain, but having owned the wonderful Miata while in the US, the prospect of buying a small 2 door roadster has always tempted me.

First and foremost challenge is the spare parts and good service people. And it doesn't stop there. After 15 years, every year doing FC, insurance becomes troublesome. I loved my shogun and zen which were my first bike and car. Shogun, ended up cleaning everything, removed all fluids and kept it inside house as a showcase Zen had to give up with heavy heart.

If you are really crazy about that car and , the overhead may not look as a overhead.
Old 26th April 2018, 07:12   #116

Hi guys,

Luxury cars are not meant to be reliable. They are meant to satiate the "ego", "status", "class" of the original buyer. Apologies, if I sound blunt. The first buyer retains the car for a few years (3-5) before moving on to the "next level". These cars come packed to the teeth with various gizmos, 100s of sensors, that are bound to fail over a period of time. So, understandably, the older the car the higher the chances of these sensors failing, especially in our country's varied driving conditions.

You might have to live with a few failed sensors because the costs of replacement and the downtime might be higher. The maintenance costs will be much higher than your purchase cost. Bear in mind that if you want an elephant, you can't grudge about it eating and drinking a lot. And if it ends up being a white elephant, it can make you sick too.

However, if you understand that it's going to be a bit harder on your pocket than you imagined and you are game, it will provide you with it's novelty and bring a smile on your face every time you are driving it.

A friend of mine had a W124 and a W126 and would swear by them. He sold them recently because they spent more time at the workshop than on the road and he just couldn't manage the frequent visits and the costs involved in maintaining them.

Last edited by discoverwild : 26th April 2018 at 07:17. Reason: Added the last paragraph.
Old 26th April 2018, 10:28   #117

Hi guys,

Nothing like getting the Mercedes dealer to give it a thorough checkup. Check that the roof works properly and the seals work. Check for rust. Otherwise, mechanicals are fairly bulletprooff
ajmat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th May 2018, 22:31   #118

Guys.

I have just bought a Mercedes CLA 200d sport and it is time to make a decision to go with the AMC pack, Extended warranty and road side assistance services.

It will cost me approximately INR 3 Lacs for three years of compact plus maintenance pack, extended warranty for 4th and fifth year and road side assistance for fourth and fifth year. I want to understand from you if it is worth spending 2 lacs up front on the maintenance packs for 3 years and 60k km ?

I think I will go with the other two which is just 1 lakh for coverage upto 5 years. What is the average maintenance costs for a CLA ? I need to make a decision soon so any help will be highly appreciated.

Last edited by ampere : 4th May 2018 at 23:02.
Old 5th May 2018, 07:21   #119

Originally Posted by throttle3010 View Post
Guys.

I have just bought a Mercedes CLA 200d sport and it is time to make a decision to go with the AMC pack, Extended warranty and road side assistance services.

Go for the full extended warranty.

As regards the service packs it totally depends on your average mileage per year. If you are doing anything less than 7-8 k per year then the service packs are expensive.
Old 5th May 2018, 08:14   #120

Originally Posted by throttle3010 View Post
Guys.

It will cost me approximately INR 3 Lacs for three years of compact plus maintenance pack, extended warranty for 4th and fifth year and road side assistance for fourth and fifth year. I want to understand from you if it is worth spending 2 lacs up front on the maintenance packs for 3 years and 60k km ?

I think I will go with the other two which is just 1 lakh for coverage upto 5 years. What is the average maintenance costs for a CLA ? I need to make a decision soon so any help will be highly appreciated.

Definitely buy the extended warranty and roadside assistance cover. Was under the impression that roadside assistance was covered till 3 years from date of purchase?

Would ballpark around Rs 40-50k per service with regular brake pad/disc replacement, wipers, oil, filters etc.