Old 6th September 2007, 00:14   #61

Originally Posted by LLL View Post
About Passat - well, VW needs to get its act together. Instead of CBU, they should have manufactured the car here and priced it reasonably; even if it meant a delay of few years. Anyways, they really need to quickly launch models which cater to all segments to compete with likes to maruti, tata and hyundai. Else they will continue to stunt their own growth.
Passat is not CBU. Apparently its manufactured at Skoda's facility in Aurangabad.
Old 6th September 2007, 00:53   #62

Originally Posted by speedy View Post
you might be able to get a C class for 30lacs but the passat is bigger and better. you also get more luxury in terms of gadgetry features then the C class. unless you want to pay for the branding of a mercedes.
Well in that case, given the premium branding Skoda enjoys here, shouldn't the Superb outsell the C ? Now if the Superb could not do so, it beats me how the Passat will with such price tags.

IMO, it's high time Toyota builds the Camry here and prices it at par with the Accord. That should help bring down the bloated prices of the competition.

Really looking forward to MUL launching their D segmenter at Civic price levels
Old 6th September 2007, 03:45   #63

Originally Posted by speedy View Post
unless you want to pay for the branding of a mercedes.
Originally Posted by shuvc View Post
Well in that case, given the premium branding Skoda enjoys here, shouldn't the Superb outsell the C ? Now if the Superb could not do so, it beats me how the Passat will with such price tags.
you seemed to have missed the point shuvc. like i had mentioned earlier the skoda superb and the passat both are brilliant cars. people believe a mercedes is better as it is more known, and has been around for a longer time. it also has a little snob value to it which lacks in the skoda.
you would give a second glance to a mercedes but not to a skoda passing you by.
Old 6th September 2007, 11:41   #64

This article says that the Passat is CKD. Wonder how they more than double the price in India then for the lowest spec Passat then ? From 23K$ to 53K$.

Volkswagen launches Passat at Rs 22.35 lakh-New Launches-Indiatimes Wheels
Old 6th September 2007, 11:52   #65

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Not quite. The Passat has Xenons,Parking sensors,8 air bags(i think c-class has only 6) and a better gearbox-DSG.
I believe its also gonna have Electronic parking brakes.. Just a button u need to press.. and the brakes disengage as soon as u press the accelerator. That should be pretty useful.
Old 6th September 2007, 12:45   #66

That terrifies me... I'm sure it could lead to some careless cases of ramming the car in front.

Woops! I was really really sure the selector was in 'P'...

All the other gadgets; yes please!
Old 6th September 2007, 12:46   #67

also spadedevil, the Passat engages the handbrake on its own when the car is stopped and dis engages as you press accelerator or clutch.
Old 6th September 2007, 12:54   #68

if passat is 24.00, what price will they sell the A4 at?
Old 6th September 2007, 14:14   #69

Hey hey hey, I read in some auto journal that A4 is coming to take on Civic and Corolla, so as per (the stupid media guys) it should be 12-13 lakhs...

I was shocked when I met one naive person waiting to buy A4, instead of Civic because he believed that report and he was not ready to believe me when I told him that car would not cost less than 22-23 at least on Bangalore Roads...
Old 6th September 2007, 14:45   #70

That take on Corolla/Civic etc was A3 and not A4.
Old 6th September 2007, 20:50   #71

I think if you have seen the Skoda you have seen the VW passat, both are on the dito plate form.

Even the interior is almost the same. Nothing new.
Old 6th September 2007, 21:05   #72

at this pace its either suicid for VW or AUDI.
Old 6th September 2007, 21:26   #73
snoopy41

well now that it has been launched yesterday at
22-24 lakhs,,ex-showroom ,,mumbai,, what happens to the superb,,and what happens to the A4,,,
think the Volkswagon group have messed up their brand strategy completely,,

Old 6th September 2007, 22:03   #74

I heard Ichibaan has got the dealership for Volkswagen in Mumbai. Autograph and JMD were the other contenders but Ichibaan came in out of the blue.
Old 6th September 2007, 23:49   #75

Originally Posted by Monster_BHP View Post
I think if you have seen the Skoda you have seen the VW passat, both are on the dito plate form.

Even the interior is almost the same. Nothing new.
The Passat comes with a 3 spoke steering.