Old 26th June 2007, 14:46   #1

Mitsubishi unveils its new Montero

Source : Mitsubishi unveils its new Montero-Automobiles-Auto-News By Industry-News-The Economic Times

Japanese auto major Mitsubishi and Hindustan Motors on Monday unveiled a new version of the sports utility vehicle (SUV) Montero in India and said it will be available as a completely imported unit here.

"The all new Montero brings to India leading edge SUV technology and features. This car will replace the existing model which was till recently being marketed in India," said Shinichi Kurihara, general manager of Mitsubishi.

Mitsubishi has tried out the new features that were integrated in the car in the Dakar rally earlier this year, where they won for the seventh time in a row, Shinichi told a press conference here.

"All learning on performance, durability and safety from Mitsubishi's continuous win in the Dakar car rally has been incorporated in the new Montero."

The new model is packed with a 3.2 litre turbo charged engine that generates a torque of 383 Newton meter. The engine has a five-speed gearbox and a four-wheel drive system controlled by a microprocessor.

The SUV is available in only one version and is priced at Rs 3.4 million ($83,500). The company plans to sell 30-40 units per month compared to 250 units that they sold last year, after the car was launched in August.

Safety features in the car have also been upgraded. Side and curtain air bags have been added to the existing front and driver seat air bags.

"Montero still remains one of our most selling cars worldwide. Since its inception in 1982, we have sold about 2.5 million units worldwide. We are hopeful about the Indian market as well," said Kurihara.
Old 26th June 2007, 14:48   #2

The price is 34L, I guess. Can somebody please confirm?
Old 26th June 2007, 14:57   #3

Nope 36L onroad is the older one. the newer one I was told by HM will be close to 40L.

Mitsubishi Montero India

Last edited by Vid6639 : 26th June 2007 at 14:59.
Old 26th June 2007, 15:02   #4
NIP

40Lakhs !? mods i think we can close this thread !
Old 26th June 2007, 15:07   #5

Whoa Rockford Fosgate 12 speaker system for 5.1ch sound along with DVD. A subwoofer neatly placed in the back and an external Amp.

LED lamps everywhere for illumination.

And the offorading goodies. The gadgets are amazing.

Old 26th June 2007, 16:15   #6

Though the price disparity between US and India has been discussed many times I could not avoid venting my feeling out here esp after seeing the $83500 for the montero.

Whats happening.. we are paying the price of a Merc S Class for a Montero out here..
Old 26th June 2007, 16:28   #7

Looking at the specs and features, the car seems worth 35lacs, believe you me.
Old 26th June 2007, 16:29   #8

Fantastic on HM for rejuvenating a car so fast....they only relaunched the Montero last year. A record of sorts eh?

For those who want to see pictures and a discussion : Linky ((Spy Pics) Next Generation Mitsubishi Montero?).

"The all new Montero brings to India leading edge SUV technology and features.
Absolute hogwash! Car makers ought to me sued for such statements...its not all new. Its the old Montero with a new front / read end and interiors.

Have they got the common-rail on this thing yet? EDIT : Just checked this link and it does state a common-rail 160BHP with 380NM of torque.

Yup, I think its worth 35 lakhs. Best SUV in India.

Last edited by GTO : 26th June 2007 at 16:32.
Old 26th June 2007, 16:31   #9

Yup this one does have a commain rail direct injection system.
Old 26th June 2007, 16:38   #10

The car has been rejuvenated well with a lot of features. The dealers here are very much going blah blah about it.
Couldn't get to see the car and they say it may take a month or so before it reaches here.
According to the brochures, the interior looks and feels brilliant.

It is priced at 34L Ex showroom. That makes the owners of the last gen Montero feel bad. Because, they also paid the same amount for lesser equipped vehicle.
Old 26th June 2007, 17:26   #11

You said it! I had a look at the features and its got everything. Talk about fully-loaded.
Old 26th June 2007, 17:54   #12

If you go to Mitsubishi motors US website, Montero is available for less than USD 35K. I understand the import duty of more than 100% but onroad price of 40L in India is close to 100K USD. This is either a major case of highway robbery or I am missing something.
Old 26th June 2007, 19:04   #13

Originally Posted by hondadude View Post
If you go to Mitsubishi motors US website, Montero is available for less than USD 35K. I understand the import duty of more than 100% but onroad price of 40L in India is close to 100K USD. This is either a major case of highway robbery or I am missing something.
You're not missing anything, It Is Highway Robbery. Sadly consumers are willing to pay that price so they get away with it. If buyers vote with their feet and not buy it, prices will come down until either buyers start buying or sellers will pull out of the market. Basic Economics.

Unfortunately there are enough buyers willing to pay the high price. This puts it out of reach for us mere mortals.
Old 26th June 2007, 19:37   #14

Originally Posted by hondadude
This is either a major case of highway robbery or I am missing something.
hondadude, look no further. We have a potential customer for the Montero right here.

Yup, I think its worth 35 lakhs. Best SUV in India.
Old 26th June 2007, 19:44   #15

Originally Posted by hondadude View Post
Welcome to India sir!