View Poll Results: Which is YOUR car of 2022?
Maruti Alto K10 10 0.44%
Citroen C3 52 2.30%
Maruti Baleno 16 0.71%
Toyota Glanza 6 0.27%
Maruti Brezza 44 1.94%
Tata Tiago EV 275 12.15%
Kia Carens 93 4.11%
Skoda Slavia 142 6.27%
Volkswagen Virtus 207 9.15%
Maruti Grand Vitara 170 7.51%
Toyota Urban Cruiser Hyryder 299 13.21%
Mahindra Scorpio-N 632 27.93%
Hyundai Tucson 148 6.54%
Jeep Meridian 13 0.57%
Toyota Hilux 20 0.88%
BYD Atto 3 20 0.88%
Audi Q3 2 0.09%
Mini Cooper SE 3 0.13%
Mercedes-Benz C-Class 22 0.97%
Volvo XC40 Recharge 11 0.49%
Kia EV6 78 3.45%
Voters: 2263. You may not vote on this poll

151,433 views Search this Thread
Old 9th December 2022, 19:20   #196

re: Team-BHP Car of the Year, 2022 | EDIT: It's the Scorpio-N

New member so I technically can't vote! But my heart goes out for the Maruti Grand Vitara. Updated interiors, a hybrid engine and BEAUTIFUL exterior design: whats not to like?

With over 44% of cars running on Indian roads carrying their badge, it's about time Maruti updated their style standards. Even though Maruti isn't Indian, I like to think the essence is desi!
Old 9th December 2022, 19:38   #197

Originally Posted by Dr.Car View Post
Could someone please help me out since I am unable to cast my vote in this poll. I first thought that being a newbie I might not be allowed to do it yet but today I received a message in my inbox providing me with the link to vote for the car and bike of the year but still when I click it, it shows that , “ You may not vote on this poll.”
Probably that was a mass message. You need to have a minimum of 25 posts on TBHP before you can vote, as far as I can remember the rules.
Neversaygbye is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th December 2022, 20:08   #198

It's a remarkable hybrid and I personally love it. However, unlike the Grand Vitara & Hyryder Hybrids, it is not a new car. Rather, its hybrid tech is added to the same familiar City.
Not an argument but then Tiago is also the same car and the hybrid tech is added to the existing car. At least, Honda has plonked the pure hybrid tech to the City.
Old 9th December 2022, 20:17   #199

Voted Kia Carens for it's value for money preposition among 6 seater car.
Fours months ago my hunt for 5+2 suv ended with Safari Dark edition. Had the option of Safari, XUV7OO, scorpio n, kia carens, innova crysta and jeep meridien in my bouquet, of which Safari was undisputed winner. During my car hunt, only car with which I could not find any deal breaker was Kia Carens. 21L OTR and you get all bells & whistles with comfort and convenience for bigger family. 3 Star crash rating may seem lower, but then many cars didn't even go for it.
My budget allowed me to go for black beast otherwise Carens top end at 21L OTR presents a solid preposition for anyone looking out for 6 seater on budget.
Also, my Tata Sales person bought Kia Carens couple of weeks back tells a lot about it's appeal to even people selling cars.

Also, I think people voting in poll should also mention whether they bought any kof the candidates in list. I bought safari dark this year

Last edited by negi15 : 9th December 2022 at 20:22. Reason: Didn't want back to back post
negi15 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th December 2022, 20:30   #200

My vote goes for Kia Carens. Finally a car with great styling, that meets a combination of requirements for an average middle class Indian family. Brilliantly packed 7 seater, comfortable suspension, modest engine, smooth gearbox and losded with features. Meets most of the requirements in packed city driving as well as great highway manners.
Old 9th December 2022, 20:53   #201

I am newbie and not allowed to vote yet :( but can comment so here goes.

My choice would be the Toyota Urban Cruiser Hyryder for introducing a real hybrid in a segment to many Indians can get to.

While EVs continue to grow and make excellent sense for shorter commutes, households with only one car and which like to road trip can select true hybrids thus getting the necessary "kitna deti hai" and at the same time contribute a little bit to avoiding mass extinction of humanity in the future.
Toyota over Maruti for the perceived (hopefully) reliability and customer experience that Toyota is known for.
Old 9th December 2022, 21:29   #202

Newbie, so can't vote, but my vote/heart does go to Baleno/Glanza. Their sheer top charting performance is a clear sign that they didn't mess up the formula(selling 20,945 units in Nov 2022 - Baleno).
Rather ironic how as of now its got only 8 votes(0.49%).

With the improvement in every aspect be it technology or drive, its a firm step in Maruti's dominion.
Old 9th December 2022, 21:52   #203

My vote goes for Tucson. All rounder performance with the reliability. I see that the maximum number of votes goes to the Scorpio. But I hear harrowing stories from my friend who purchased the Scorpio couple of months ago. There are still issues which the Dealership or the SMEs not able to figure out.
Old 9th December 2022, 22:24   #204

As GTO pointed out, this year was a tough one. I was in a bit of a dilemma between the VW Virtus and Mahindra Scorpio-N. VW has done a good job with the Virtus and has helped revive the sedan body style against the onslaught of crossovers. The 1.5TSI+DQ200 is a f-a-s-t car and would take a couple of cars priced twice as much by surprise on the open road. That said, the quality of materials and fit and finish is appalling to someone who isn't new to the brand. Even the Polo seems to be better put together than any of the MQBA0-IN cars. Apart from it's powertrain, sitting inside one hardly gave me a feeling of driving a German.

For Mahindra, it's a hattrick. Mahindra's ability to read the market and react to it has been commendable - something that Maruti was good at, but doesn't seem to bother anymore. It's products are very cleverly positioned such that there remains no direct competitors. That gives them the opportunity to compare it to products much higher in the price range, thus establishing the "value proposition". It's also a testament to manufacturers who claim that India isn't ready to shell out money for a good product. Scorpio N is in no way cheap (forget any comparisons to the T-Fort, that's bogus), infact the launch price of the Z8L D-AT 4wd is about a lakh more expensive than the launch price of the XUV700 AX7L D-AT AWD after missing out on a lot of tech. The fit and finish leaves a lot to be desired and has the most number of niggles per lakh for any new car. However all that doesn't seem to bother a lot of people (apparently about a lakh, including me) who are happy to queue up to get their hands on it - probably because they know there's nothing else like it at that price or probably they trust Mahindra to fix most niggles that comes their way or both. And for that the Scorpio N gets my vote.

Last edited by nerd1200 : 9th December 2022 at 22:27.
Old 10th December 2022, 00:02   #205

Hands down to Mahindra Scorpio-N. My love towards this meaty muscular looking SUV never ends even after seeing the car for over 2 decades. Every upgrade is fresh and now this is a stunning new avatar with peppy engine options, for the 4x4 variant on offer with diesel engine option.

Only car which dominates the body-on-frame style with strong built and full safer for all passengers with it's 5 star safety ratings.
Old 10th December 2022, 00:53   #206

Voted for Toyota Hyryder. Grand Vitara and Hyryder twins are the same car but since the hybrid engine comes from Toyota hence Hyryder it is.

In my opinion I think Toyota is doing the right thing by bringing in hybrids in our market instead of pure EV as our market is not ready for BEV. Hybrids are the best of both worlds and with Hyryder plus now Hycross they are taking us in the right direction. Yes Honda did that with City but they aren't serious in India anymore, are they? Infact if things don't change drastically then the next year's car of the year will be Hycross already. Only if they price it right.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 10th December 2022 at 11:19. Reason: A word
Old 10th December 2022, 01:28   #207

Voted for Mahindra Scorpio-N and for me it ticks all the boxes.

1. Can driver 5 people with their luggage.
2. Improved ride quality.
3. Reliable mHawk and mStallion Engines.
4. Is an Urban SUV and does not costs too much.
5. Capable 4WD and not an AWD.
6. Most important - The reviews and ownership threads across our Forum have been positive.
Old 10th December 2022, 01:44   #208

Tiago EV offers:
-the most affordable EV
-lowest running cost
-safer car (assuming ratings hold true for EV variant)
-features missing in comparable priced cars
-reliable & jerk free driving compared with AMTs, & DCTs
-premium cabin experience - white leather seats
-remote connectivity features like AC On/Off

I see Tiago making a Punch like impact in the 8-12 L space.

Tiago it is for me
Old 10th December 2022, 07:44   #209

Look at it this way. The 2023 COTY is going to be a straight fight between the 5D Thar vs 5D Jimny.

Enjoy the choice this year
itwasntme is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th December 2022, 09:38   #210

IMO the poll should have combined Grand Vitara and Hyryder as especially both these car are the same under the skin, manufactured at the same plant. Voted for the Grand Vitara.
tj123 is offline   (1) Thanks