Old 31st January 2023, 08:33   #106

Re: Next-gen BMW X1, now launched at 45.90 lakhs!

No other way to put this but I am gonna have to call this the BMW X0.5 and not X1 given the engine spec

A kodiaq looks so much value for money and a full 10 to 12 lacs cheaper that is very well kitted.

On the flipside I am wondering what made the BMW Execs opt for this spec and what their targets are. I mean they should very well know that this spec isn't going to cut it, so I am curious to know their target demography.
vjbox is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st January 2023, 11:44   #107

As expected, the new X1 is ugly! Also the 3 cylinder engine is a big turn off for this price tag. IMO Skoda Kodiaq is a better alternative to this.
BMW_Fan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st January 2023, 12:06   #108

It is not surprising to see the outrage in this forum, where most are petrolheads and care immensely about power figures. But the X1 is positioned at the Facebook and Instagram generation, where the looks (rather how it looks on Insta) is more important. For today's 30-35 year old who has arrived after a rapid climb up the corporate ladder or becoming a successful young entrepreneur, it is more important to own a very good looking luxury car and announce to the world through beautiful photos of self and significant other on social media. Yes there are a few enthusiasts I meet in this generation as well, but they seem few and far between.

For this crowd, the X1 will be the ideal offering, it looks good - big, shiny, has great road presence, and sophisticated looks. For them, who cares if it is a second slower to the ton, as long as the colors are designed to pop on Insta!

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 31st January 2023 at 12:11.
84.monsoon is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 31st January 2023, 19:59   #109

This is good looking car for sure. Petrol engine is really disaster, 3 cylinder engine in BMW, that too 1.5 liter, seriously? BMW going Maruti way? LOL! Mahindra Scorpio and XUV 700 provides much better, powerful petrol engine at less than half price. Not sure what is the strategy behind this.

Diesel comparatively looks better. Power should have been little more, but this looks ok on paper at least. Hopefully it will give better mileage as well in real world.

I am planning to buy pre-owned BMW in next 2-3 years. I really hope this diesel engine sells in good numbers so that I will get options after 2-3 years in the pre-owned market
aniketi is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 6th February 2023, 20:20   #110

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
Folks, I have created an analysis of the upcoming CAFE 2 norms and the implications for BMW, that may explain the rationale behind the apparently bizarre choice of engines and variants that BMW is putting out in the Indian market - e.g. Launching the X1 only in the 118d/118i guise and 3 series LCI only in LWB varints. This is on the 3 series LWB thread, cross-referencing here as it may be relevant to those looking at the new X1.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...ml#post5479969 (BMW 3 Series Gran Limousine facelift launched at Rs 57.90 lakh)
You are absolutely right, one can understand BMW being mostly known for its enthusiast brand image but the CAFE norms have impacted it's delicious , something which every manufacturer will have to live with and adjust in coming days, the permitted limit is 140 for BMW, the new X1 is around 130, they could have gone up by 7-8 points as well giving the diesel powertrain somewhere around 165+ bhp .. however if you are a sedate driver with penchant for the last gizmo and tech, this is a okay car for you
unicorn_nike is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th February 2023, 18:46   #111

https://www.autocar.co.uk/car-review/bmw/x1

Autocar UK sums it up beautifully: "A decent family crossover, but a poor BMW"

That too it was the X1 xDrive23i M Sport. Don't know what they would have written about the India-spec 20i & 18d.
itwasntme is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th February 2023, 19:11   #112

If you are chauffer driven, the small engine might not be a dealbreaker. At that price point, there's still quite a few who only use the back seat.

Maybe BMW wants to pivot to these customers rather than their self-driving clientele.
Old 7th February 2023, 20:10   #113

One reason I can think of BMW India going for non-RFT tyres on X1 U11 2023 is to reduce overall kerb weight of car. Since CAFE norms consider weight to emission ratio.

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
Autocar UK sums it up beautifully: "A decent family crossover, but a poor BMW"

That too it was the X1 xDrive23i M Sport. Don't know what they would have written about the India-spec 20i & 18d.
18i and 18d are sold in India.

BMW India even removed these identifier placed on boot so as not to make new owners feel inferior to previous gen X1 F48 carrying proudly 20i and 20d monikers.

Originally Posted by McLaren Rulez View Post
Maybe BMW wants to pivot to these customers rather than their self-driving clientele.
BMW proudly says Sheer Driving pleasure. If people want chauffer driven; they should opt for Mercedes-Benz.
el lobo 6061 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th February 2023, 00:14   #114

I owned F48 and was really impressed with all the features of this 3rd generation X1, massage seats was another pleasent surprise for me. I almost made my mind to book it but as soon as I saw the engine options, it did not take me even a minute to let it pass.

Previous petrol X1 was itself very lethargic to drive, this 136 PS engine will be somewhere close to my 11 year old verna.

I have a strong feeling that once they update the X3, they will bring a powerful petrol engine in X1 too. As BMW might be worried about X1 taking sales of X3 with all the features and powerful engine.
Anki_252hp is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th February 2023, 20:03   #115

I have gone ahead & booked the X1 2023 version, Space silver, M sport Diesel , i find the looks of the car extremely polished and sophisticated and the diesel engine has enough power to carry 4 folks easily , I'm not on roads to drag race or set lap records ,.especially Indian roads (including the highways ) so yeah the tech and refinement was good enough for me to go through with the booking, allocation would happen around April week 1
unicorn_nike is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 10th February 2023, 22:48   #116

I have driven 318i F30 multiple times here in the UAE, and had an E90 328i for a few years.

The 1.8l engine is not that bad as people think. It kinda lacks the top end but has enough low end performance and is more than enough for the average Indian roads.
lionheart_mm is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th February 2023, 23:04   #117

Just sat in the new X1 118d. It is miles ahead of the old X1 cabin. The ergonomics for a six-footer seem to be perfect. No other German in this category has this much space and comfort. 150ps and a DCT FWD from BMW would be a bummer for enthusiasts, but I think this will sell well. 60 lakhs OTR is a sweet deal for this "mini X5". It does look like an x3 from the outside, especially the lighter colors. Will have to TD the 118d.

360nm of torque and 150ps with a DCT transmission should perform well and the quoted 0-100kmph time is 8.9 seconds.
sandygordon is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th February 2023, 23:20   #118

Any news on the iX1 - EV version of the X1 ?
Old 27th March 2023, 15:56   #119

It seems the Deliveries have started. Anyone here, who has taken the delivery of the Diesel M Sport? May not be a sport, but still how is the real world driving experience. Do they still have 2022 models in Bangalore?
Old 28th March 2023, 22:24   #120

Have test drives or deliveries for the new X1 begun?
I’m haven’t yet seen any on the road. Not even an official review, or even the YouTuber reviews.
one-77 is offline   (1) Thanks