I took delivery of Hector Petrol Manual Smart Pro - Glaze Red on 31st March 2023. I have capture my buying experience in this post.
Background:
I had owned Fiat Punto Petrol for past 13+ years and I don’t have anything negative to write about it. Only downside was that it never gave me a chance to learn much on various parts of car as I never faced any issue.
I was planning on changing car after 10 year of use and following were my requirements.
- Large 5 Seater SUV with good build quality and safety
- Petrol engine due to my limited usage of under ~ 8000 KM/year. With limited usage in City.
- Large boot space as we go on long trip
- Decent Mileage
- Budge of around 25 Lakhs
I had kind of finalized Tata Harrier in early 2020 mainly for its build quality and looks. This car had met all my requirements except for Petrol engine. There was always talk of Tata launching Harrier with petrol option. At the same time due to Covid, my travels got reduced and I decided to wait for Harrier Petrol. This was also helped by Punto as I never had any issue with the car.
But Harrier petrol never came. I had already waited for close to 3 years and decided to wait until Auto Expo 2023. On Jan 13th we decided to look for other cars when we learnt that only Harrier EV was announced.
Shortlisting:
I had considered all SUV’s and compared them against my requirements, but major contenders are listed below,
- Toyota Hyrider: Only reason why we had even considered this car was it being a Toyota Hybrid car offering very great mileage. After sitting in backseat of car, my wife gave a verdict. My existing car had more space on back seat and boot. Also 3 members can’t sit comfortably in the backseat. Didn’t feel comfortable with build quality of the car either.
- Jeep Compass: Jeep was following on footstep of Fiat and had only 2 offerings. We were not sure this strategy will work in India. Also we were expecting better space.
- Tata Harrier: I was still considering going with Diesel since I liked this car. I tend to keep my vehicles for longer time and I live in Bangalore, I was worried about possibility of 10 year diesel ban. Still visited Tata Showroom on 14th Jan. No one spoke to us when we entered showroom. We went by ourself and started checking demo car which was one of the dirtiest demo car I have ever seen. No one spoke to us even after 10 minutes and when we tried to speak to someone, we were informed that they were busy. We decided to just leave and on the way out we saw new vehicle being prepared for delivery. I was shocked to see a dirty cover used on the car.
- XUV 700 : Excellent car from all perspective – Looks, engine, build quality. By now even initial issues with car were resolved. I would have purchased it, if it had shorter waiting period. I was not willing to wait for another 8 months.
- MG Hector: Since Fiat had shut their operation in India, I was not sure if I should go with MG and go through same issues. People talking about mileage of 4-6 KM made me think multiple times. We visited MG showroom on 14th Jan and found Facelift version of Hector. Following were the observations.
- Showroom people were welcoming and explained features in detail
- Family members liked the back seat comfort. 3 members can be easily accommodated in the back seat. Very good leg room with flat floor.
- Interiors looked premium with large infotainment system
- Biggest boot space
- Looks was OK, not that great (Very subjective)
- Build quality was good and car was feature packed
- Promised to get car by 2 months
- Facelift was not available for test drive
- Car was bit longer than I had planned
We decided to go with MG Hector as we didn’t had any better option. Also it was a facelift version, hence we were happy that we were not buying out dated model. Since we were worried about mileage of automatic variant, we decided to go with Manual and take a chance.
Buying Experience:
We had informed SA on 14th Jan that we will be booking car on 15th Jan. SA called me on 15th Jan and I fixed the timing for booking the car. Upon reaching showroom I came to know that SA is not in showroom and he had arranged another person for completing the booking formalities. I paid 50K and informed that I need car during last week of March, since I had plans for travel abroad till end of March. While booking, delivery time was specified as 2-2.5 months. I had also requested for test drive once facelift version is available and I had requested for petrol manual car for test drive.
I got a call within a week time from SA informing me that car is available if I am ready to take it now. I denied as I was not sure if I will be in India during that time. Also considering BS6 Phase2 readiness, I requested SA to plan for delivery on 2nd April. Requested SA for test drive again and was informed that manual petrol is not available for test drive and will be notified once it is available. Since car can’t fit into my current parking space, went ahead and built an enclosed parking for the car.
There was no communication from SA for more than a month and I came to know from various forum that prices of car has increased and MG stopped delivery of car. I requested SA to share updated price list and got the same (during delivery they quoted different price from the pricelist that they had shared and I was told that SA had shared wrong pricelist). I was planning to check with SA on allotment during early March and I got a call from Team leader asking if I am willing to take delivery during the month. I was told that by early 2nd week of March, they will know about allotment of car. There was no update from SA on my regular follow up and I started seeing many people updating in team bhp that they got allotted even though their booking date was after mine.
Finally on 14th March I decided to raise a complaint with MG on allotment of vehicle. I had called MG customer care and they took a complaint. They informed that they will look into issues as it should not have take 2 months for allotment of car. I had also complained that there is no update from dealership on status of allotment. Next day morning I got a call from MG team leader stating that car is allotted and they confirmed me that car will be delivered by end of March. They also requested if they can close the complaint that I had raised and I agreed. I was asked to pay remaining amount within 2-3 days. After multiple follow up and failing to arrange test drive, finally car was sent home for test drive. Suspension was on softer side and automatic side indicators were irritating, otherwise I was happy with the driving experience.
Even though they had included 3M Ceramic coating, Essential kit and Insurance in the amount that I need to pay. I only paid for Car initially and got a confirmation. I took quote from multiple Insurance providers (Old well know names and avoided quote from Digit or Acko) with all the add-on’s ( Nill Depreciation, Invoice cover, Engine and gearbox protection, Consumable add on, loss of key, tyre and rim protector, etc ) specified by dealer and they were 30% to 40% less than quote shared by dealer. Dealer couldn’t match the quote and I went with insurance on my own.
I had a discussion with dealers accessories team and finalized below accessories for the car. I was happy the way Vicky from accessories team was trying to suggest what is actually useful and not oversell.
- Rubber cabin and door mat
- Mud flap
- Bumper corner protector chrome
- Rear entry sill plate
- Screen guard
- ORVM chrome protector
I was not sure about foot step and decided to get it fixed later.
On 27th March, since there was no update from dealership again, I checked with team leader on the status of car. I got a callback stating car has reached dealership and they wanted me to confirm on delivery date. Since I was expected to travel abroad on 1st week of April, I requested them for registration on 30th March and delivery on 31st March. I had also requested for PDI, which I had to do it in hurry (Found one scratch near central console after taking car home) as most of the time was spent in reaching Yelahanka stock yard and waiting for car to be made ready for PDI. Car had run 6KM while doing PDI. Car PDI checklist from team-bhp was very helpful.
Delivery:
On the delivery day, car was clean and all accessories were installed. Car had run 30+KM while taking delivery. I was given a demo of car and walkthrough of MG iSmart App for which 1 year subscription was already enabled. I had requested for AMC of 5 years and dealer got it done within a week. Car was delivered without number plate and I had to visit dealership again to get it fixed. Complete process took one hour and we took car home and got pooja done on the same day.
Overall experience was not the best, but at least I got car on time. I had to follow up for everything and dealer has a scope for improving their communication. Even MG need to have a mechanism for us to check allocation and dispatch status online.
I had already purchased 70mai 500s dual dashcam with CPL filter, which I got it installed on next day. I couldn’t drive car for next week as I had to travel abroad. I will also post my driving experience as I have covered 800+ KM recently and will also talk a lot about mileage I have received on my trip.