Old 13th January 2023, 21:51   #76

re: Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023

Have been waiting for over an year now for this launch and booked one today with the dealer. Paid 25k Got the copy of the receipt and SOB number front the dealer.

Later, got an sms from Maruti asking me to download the configuration summary. The link actually shows a Grand Vitara on someone else's name. Anyone else get such an sms? Does it say Jimny and your details there?
astrodex is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th January 2023, 22:29   #77

Maruti Suzuki's Jimny now appears for E - booking (₹25 k) from its NEXA portal.

T&C - Cancellation charges (Of Rs 500) on customer will be applicable for booking done from the date of Launch (after price reveal) of the vehicle.
Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023-capture.jpg

Last edited by volkman10 : 13th January 2023 at 22:32.
volkman10 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th January 2023, 22:29   #78

Originally Posted by astrodex View Post
Have been waiting for over an year now for this launch and booked one today with the dealer. Paid 25k Got the copy of the receipt and SOB number front the dealer.

Later, got an sms from Maruti asking me to download the configuration summary. The link actually shows a Grand Vitara on someone else's name. Anyone else get such an sms? Does it say Jimny and your details there?
Same here! I got two sms - one had a Baleno link the other had grand Vitara…
Ragul is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th January 2023, 22:56   #79

Ingress/egress in the rear is narrow. Also under thigh support is non existent.
Old 14th January 2023, 00:16   #80

A strong COTY 2023 contender here. If 5 door Thar and Gurkha launch too, this year is gonna be a (surprising) brawl between FTD, good looking cars which I don't think has happened before.
amol4184 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 14th January 2023, 00:17   #81

Did the online booking! Now the wait starts.
andafunda is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th January 2023, 01:14   #82

Saw the Jimny today at the expo and simply loved it. I must say it was attracting lots of crowd...but majority of them with vague comments like "it's too small like a toy car", "this is nothing compared to Thar", While I was smiling on their comments knowing that finally Maruti did fullfil the wish of Enthusiasts by bringing it to India.
So yes, I feel it will take some time for the "aam janta" to know Jimny's true potential.
I hope that Maruti prices this well.
Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023-1b337ac5dcb246f7bd2cc16b702809ee.jpeg  

Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023-bb20f7f74656457ab9516bb3339c5a8f.jpeg  

Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023-67b15466d2e44219bcfef6dcb4b8b9af.jpeg  

SubhoMoto is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 14th January 2023, 03:49   #83

Jimny seems to be a tight fit for XL plus people. There is lot compromise on otherwise good looking vehicle .
Check here
saisree is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th January 2023, 06:59   #84

Visited expo and had tagged a medium built friend with me. We both sat in rear and we were “just” fine. I still might go ahead with my booking. Jimny is best for a couple with 1 child for highway leading toward mountains.
Maruti should have given sliding doors at rear to match the width of seat to an Eeco. Width of Eeco and Jimny is exactly same (Kai car dimension without plastic wheel arcs).
Or better, Maruti should have widen full body 20-25%.
I see this as lost opportunity as the 5 door was designed for India and will not be sold in Japan anyway( the size restriction constraint country).
Whole of the world elsewhere would have enjoyed a widened 5 seater Jimny.
This would have made it proper primary car but it is again a second or third car.

Someone who wish to get an idea of rear seat, please sit in Tiago. Its more or less same. I and my friend sat in a Tiago just after Jimny for comparison.

Just my 2 cents.

Last edited by purohitanuj : 14th January 2023 at 07:01.
purohitanuj is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 14th January 2023, 10:29   #85

Brochure available in NEXA portal:

Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023-2.jpg

Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023-1.jpg

Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023-capture.jpg

Jimny Brochure.pdf

Last edited by volkman10 : 14th January 2023 at 10:39.
volkman10 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 14th January 2023, 11:30   #86

The other thread is closed. Someone was asking 21 or 25 K for booking. My dealer took 21 and issued this reciept.
Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023-b1d1990d49064732b20cf66560184568.jpeg  

Dr_MNC_SK is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th January 2023, 11:59   #87

While the launch day is May is what we have been told, is there a general guess as to what the price might be. It is a small car but understandably it is a niche product with the added cost of 4x4. So I'm guessing it won't be cheap. The problem I face is, I have booked a punch, and the tentative delivery date is mid Feb. I am really smitten by the Jimny. This is our second car and we did not want to spend a lot. We have already stretched out budget to 9.6L for the punch. The max we can go now is 12L. Does anyone know if the Zeta variant's on road price will be within 12L. Please do let me know if there is any info.
Old 14th January 2023, 12:35   #88

Originally Posted by firingpistonz View Post
We have already stretched out budget to 9.6L for the punch. The max we can go now is 12L. Does anyone know if the Zeta variant's on road price will be within 12L. Please do let me know if there is any info.
Jimny won't be getting any excise benefits because of the 1.5 L engine. My guess is that Zeta MT variant with all the 4X4 hardware should cost minimum around 13 L OTR. Add 1 lakh for the alpha variant. And 60-70 k premium for the automatic variants respectively.

Since you are going for the Punch, do consider Fronx as well. Better car in almost all respects, except the safety.
Old 14th January 2023, 12:38   #89

Originally Posted by purohitanuj View Post
Whole of the world elsewhere would have enjoyed a widened 5 seater Jimny.
Is there enough width to install 3 seats (for medium build people) in the second row?
Old 14th January 2023, 12:43   #90

Can someone please explain the recirculating ball type steering used in the Jimny? What are the positives and negatives of this type?

Is it a mechanical type, Hydraulic or Electronic Power Steering implementation in Jimny? Will this be too hard to operate for female drivers?