Old 16th January 2023, 14:38   #181

re: Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023

After seeing more pictures and videos, the 5-door Jimny has grown on me. Now the 3-door looks a bit short . I have to give Suzuki compliments for that. And one more compliment in order is that they did not compromise much on the angles, inspite of maintaining the same ground clearance.

Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023-screenshot-20230116-100002.png
carthick1000 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th January 2023, 15:09   #182

Originally Posted by AbidIqbalShaik View Post
1. The 5-door Jimny, even if it costs INR 18,00,000 on road for the top-end automatic variant, will offer exceptional value for money.
Sorry to disagree, but 18L On Road for Jimny is never VFM. A Gypsy in 2019 costed 7.75L on road. All that the Jimny receives is a new body and some extra gizmos. Anything above 15L is overpriced.

You will have the practicality of 5 doors, space of an Ignis, ride comfort of a WagonR and a proper 4x4 gearbox.

And for us in Kerala, the idea of getting a Jimny is to keep it stock and save ourself from the MVD. All we need is a 205/70-R15 AT tyre.

Originally Posted by wacso View Post
I don't know how much Will be, but i'm pretty sure this is way more than 300mm
You have your diff breathers down at the height of the differential. So the official figure might be 300, just flush the diff oil after the deep water wading

Last edited by libranof1987 : 16th January 2023 at 16:08. Reason: Merging back-to-back posts. Kindly use the Quote+/Edit functionality to quote multiple posts.
raj4466 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 16th January 2023, 15:29   #183

Manual transmission:

Are throws expected to be longer than K15B Brezza? From the length of stick it feels like Gypsy, it is going to be longer, hence wanted to check if anybody has driven the 3 Door manual Jimny.

Last edited by saurabh041086 : 16th January 2023 at 15:41.
Old 16th January 2023, 16:37   #184

Originally Posted by raj4466 View Post
Sorry to disagree, but 18L On Road for Jimny is never VFM. Anything above 15L is overpriced.
You will have the practicality of 5 doors, space of an Ignis, ride comfort of a WagonR and a proper 4x4 gearbox.
100% agree. I love jimny and will probably buy it this year but no way in hell it's worth 15 lakh let alone 18. Whatever it may offer, solid axles, 4x4, no way I am paying Grand Vitara, Thar, Scorpio-N money for 1.5 NA engined cute little off-roader.
Stolidus500 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 16th January 2023, 17:08   #185

Originally Posted by Stolidus500 View Post
100% agree. I love jimny and will probably buy it this year but no way in hell it's worth 15 lakh let alone 18. Whatever it may offer, solid axles, 4x4, no way I am paying Grand Vitara, Thar, Scorpio-N money for 1.5 NA engined cute little off-roader.
Don't let 1.5L NA and 4 speed GB fool you. That is a well mated combo. If people were waiting for a year in Europe and other parts of the world for this little one, it is capable. To be honest, if they price the base variant above 9.99L I will be surprised.

Why did Mahindra price the Thar 4x2 @ 9.99? Just to take on the Jimny.
raj4466 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th January 2023, 18:01   #186

Today I visited the dealership to collect the booking receipt documents. The SA informed they are expecting training dates by 3rd week of January. Expected price range 10-14 L ex-showroom.

Customers who did pre-booking will get the chance of finalizing variant and colour shade after the price reveal.

They got approx 50 bookings so far.

All these information are just verbal discussions.

Last edited by RijuC : 16th January 2023 at 18:03.
RijuC is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th January 2023, 18:49   #187

Anything above 15L is overpriced.
:. All we need is a 205/70-R15 AT tyre.
So the official figure might be 300, just flush the diff oil after the deep water wading
Yes absolutely this vehicle top spec ought not to be priced at any more than max 15 lac on road KA state.
If the stock tyre is 195/80/15 size maybe better to look at this size 215/70/15 as per the pic of the 3 door Jimny which I took in the Suzuki Dubai showroom in Bur Dubai or Deira in 2018.
As with any off road vehicle it will be sensible to change engine and diff oils every year.
Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023-a41767e7ce6f47e1a37ad8d1bcba80bb.jpeg  

Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023-5b856d85d4414bb4ba4ae34303622bb4.jpeg  

Last edited by shankar.balan : 16th January 2023 at 18:54.
shankar.balan is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th January 2023, 18:51   #188

Don't let 1.5L NA and 4 speed GB fool you. That is a well mated combo. If people were waiting for a year in Europe and other parts of the world for this little one, it is capable.
I didn't say anything bad about the engine or the gearbox, Manual variant does 0-100 in 12 seconds, that's good enough for me. What I meant was I am not okay with paying 15 or 18 lakhs for this engine and car like a gentleman in a post above tried to justify.
If it comes around 10-12, I am in queue no question.
Old 16th January 2023, 19:24   #189

Maruti Suzuki Jimny garners 5,000 bookings and Maruti Suzuki Fronx at 1,500.

Bookings for both models started on January 12th.

expecting the Maruti Suzuki Jimny price to be in the range of Rs 9 lakh to Rs 13 lakh (ex-showroom). The SUV is available in Zeta and Alpha variants.
expecting the Maruti Suzuki Fronx price in India to be between Rs 6.50 lakh and Rs 11 lakh (ex-showroom).

Last edited by volkman10 : 16th January 2023 at 19:41.
volkman10 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th January 2023, 19:36   #190

Yes absolutely this vehicle top spec ought not to be priced at any more than max 15 lac on road KA state.
If the stock tyre is 195/80/15 size maybe better to look at this size 215/70/15 as per the pic of the 3 door Jimny which I took in the Suzuki Dubai showroom in Bur Dubai or Deira in 2018.
As with any off road vehicle it will be sensible to change engine and diff oils every year.
215 is the tire size Many people is installing on them, and It runs good

This video compares the stock bridgestone dueler With the yokohama geolandar MT

wacso is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th January 2023, 21:42   #191

When do we expect to have a proper team-bhp review, as well as other media reviews. Sooner the better will be for those who have joined the queue.
Old 17th January 2023, 08:34   #192

Maruti Jimny booking amount has been increased to Rs 25,000

Jimny now commands the highest booking amount for any Maruti car on sale today.

Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023-20230117_083234.jpg

Source : Rushlane
Old 17th January 2023, 08:47   #193

Originally Posted by summos View Post
When do we expect to have a proper team-bhp review, as well as other media reviews. Sooner the better will be for those who have joined the queue.
Some random thoughts came into my head.

In introducing this Maruti Suzuki Jimny in 2023 to the Indian market, it marks 38 years since Maruti last introduced a proper lightweight fully functional 4x4 vehicle in India, the last being the Gypsy which is a really old design with origins dating from around 1968.

In another way of looking at it, barring a miniscule number of enthusiasts and rallyists and farm/ estate users, very few private buyers really ventured out and bought these in the past. This indicates that from a ‘lifestyle’ perspective, it is only now, 38 years on, that a larger number of mass market consumers are getting interested and involved in such vehicles and capabilities.

Along the way, we have to acknowledge the role of Mahindra in opening up this segment, with the first gen and now All New Thar.

In reference to the TeamBHP review, I wish that such a review can be done by real pucca 4x4 experts such as;

1. Dhanush S of Wayanaad/ Chennai.
2. Dr. Tejas Kothari of Mumbai.

Along with the best possible photographers from TBHP covering the review with stills, videos, drones and all.

Maybe this suggested shoot-out can become a pre-quel to another more comprehensive shoot-out between this diminutive Jimny, the All New Thar 4x4 (the variant which has both MLD and BLD), the Force Gurkha 4x4x4 and the Jeep Wrangler Unlimited and the Jeep Wrangler Rubicon, in what may literally be the ‘first of its kind’ such shoot-out in the World! That will indeed be exciting. And coming from TBHP it will hold ZERO Bias which is really what we all want!

And I sincerely hope we can get this off the ground before some useless half-witted reviews pop up on YouTube and elsewhere, done by the ill-researched, view-greedy, un-talented, and unqualified persons and aimed at the unsuspecting, uninitiated gullibles amongst the consumer world. Frankly I would not even want to see the Auto Mag reviews because they are bound to be biased or of relatively lower standard, focussing on silly things like gizmos etc instead of the real core of the subject matter.

This time let TBHP be 1st. It will anyway be the best.

@GTO
@Dhanushs
@Tejas

Hope you are reading this and will delight us!

Last edited by shankar.balan : 17th January 2023 at 09:08.
shankar.balan is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 17th January 2023, 08:50   #194

What could be the reason behind highest booking amount of 25k for the Jimny?

More committed booking? So that Maruti Suzuki can plan the production and supply chain for Jimny and can avoid unsold inventory, because it won't be a large selling mass market vehicle?
Old 17th January 2023, 08:54   #195

Originally Posted by RijuC View Post
What could be the reason behind highest booking amount of 25k for the Jimny?

More committed booking? So that Maruti Suzuki can plan the production and supply chain for Jimny and can avoid unsold inventory, because it won't be a large selling mass market vehicle?
Looks like that is the intent. They would probably like to keep the numbers genuine so they can use that to not only plan production but also use it for their pricing strategy.
Traveler is offline   (1) Thanks