Old 22nd January 2023, 08:41   #361

re: Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023

Originally Posted by OPMaurya View Post
This is not the review in discussion but if you haven't seen this review, the reviewer is 5'10"

https://Youtu.be/TpRTokuMNIM
@gsferrari
Here you go: https://www.zigwheels.com/news-featu...comfort/48560/
OPMaurya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd January 2023, 09:00   #362

Hello BHPians!,
My friend is seriously considering the Maruti Jimny AT, would you please help him in making a decision on whether or not he should go for it by sharing your opinions in this post below, all suggestions are invaluable and truly appreciated!

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-...uti-jimny.html
bijims is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd January 2023, 09:01   #363

Originally Posted by gsferrari View Post
Only Gypsy owners know about the weakness of the “mountain goat”. If you break the king pin bearing in a remote area, consider yourself completely and thoroughly screwed. Semi floating axles are not, IMO, robust enough for serious over landing. You can recover yourself from an OTR and still make it home by nightfall. What will you do out in the wilderness?
May I include the light clutch as well in your list 🤔 A little hard push of accelerator when struck and you never know..
Ton Ami is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd January 2023, 18:50   #364

Originally Posted by Vulken Auto View Post
Booked Bluish Black Zeta AT variant on 14, got confimation on same day. On 19 Jan received a call from Maruti Suzuki regional office for verification if dealer informed me about booking., after 2 hrs my dealer contacted me and assigned a relation ship manager. I submitted pan card , Adhar details over whatsapp. Next day QC team contacted me and sent a confirmation , my vehicle is to be delivered by April. After some time maruti regional office contacted me enquiring about all details and checking on dealer.
Lucky man! Clearly not all NEXA outlets are the same.

Booked the car on the 19th evening (online), listing Pasco Automobiles, MG Road as the preferred dealer.

No phone calls. Just a confirmation mail from the company.

Went to the the dealer y'day (21st late afternoon), and the sales person who has supposedly been assigned to this booking had no clue about it. The gent had to go to the back office to confirm the booking (which took a good 15 minutes too).

I asked him about the launch and he told me that they had no idea. And that he doesn't think the launch isn't going to happen anytime soon as the staff has not been trained on the product and there is no information of them being trained anytime soon.

I hope things don't continue in this vague-ish vein.
Himalayan_Ice is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd January 2023, 19:16   #365

Kudos to the engineers at Maruti Suzuki India, that the Jimny 5 door is getting launched from India first.
This seems clearly to be a make in India effort.
Old 22nd January 2023, 20:40   #366

Seen this Jimny TVC?

Here are some finer details gone into the making of the advertisement done by Lintas.

- Shot across the world, such as Spain and South Africa, the ad narrates stories of people who didn’t give up amid life’s hardships and tough terrains. The ad states that it is inspired by “True Stories”.

-There are stories that presented in this campaign to bring in this authenticity, as well as the extreme capability of the Jimny - “Jimny Inspired by #TrueStories”

- The first story is about the snowstorm called Filomena in Spain, where the Jimny came to the rescue and transported food and emergency supplies to drivers stranded in deep snow, making full use of the Jimny’s 4x4 capability.

- Second is about, a mother and her newborn daughter, Maria, who were released from the hospital, had no way to get home with her husband and two other children. Jimny was used to get her home safely in the middle of the snowstorm. Interestingly, the baby girl came to be known as the ‘Suzuki Baby’

-Another story is a about a couple who wanted to conquer the five peaks of Africa. The Jimny took them through 10 African countries to scale the continent’s five highest peaks. They covered 7,000 km in 8 months and the Jimny tackled everything that the African landscape threw at them.

- Also, a story is about how the Jimny helped scientists explore a poorly accessible archaeological site in Spain, known as ‘The Pit of Bones’. The rough roads presented a challenge best met by the rugged Jimny, which overcome muddy pits, rocky terrain, taking over 300 scientists through narrow passages. It helped them discover over 900,000-year-old specimens.

- Duration of campaign - It was about a month and a half and the briefing would have been about 15 days more. So, maybe about two months. Wanted to capture the snow, so shooting was done in Manali, in Rohtang. The Pit of Bones bit was shot somewhere in Rajasthan.

- As the usage of Jimny in India spreads, will have our own instances that can be shared to showcase the prowess of the Jimny.

- By the way we were very pleasantly surprised to see that there is a huge Jimny followers club in India. Are getting more than 1,000 bookings on average every day.

-The demand for Jimny would be so high that the initial projection of a three-month waiting period may be too low.

-Jimny campaign will be largely digital, but going forward we will have to create that imagery because the emotive stuff in the stories is more to do with the videos. So, videos in digital as well as on television is something that we will do.

- Jimny seems to have already established clearly in the minds of people as a brand. The brand positioning here is much clearer – authentic, off-roader lifestyle. Feel the task for brand positioning for Jimny is a little easier because people know about it. Therefore, just need to do that nudging part and sustain it.
After establishing the legacy, the authenticity, and the off-roading capabilities, the next level of the campaign will be to encourage people that nothing can stop the Jimny and that it will go beyond anything.

- Believe that this segment will become quite large, as revealed by the bookings for Jimny – as per initial estimates the bookings could reach 30,000. Think with the entry of Jimny, this segment is going to grow much larger.

Making of the five-door Jimny:

Both Suzuki and Maruti teams were involved. The basic platform was anyway available, but the challenge was to make the five-door version while retaining all the off-roading capabilities, etc. So, the effort was huge, of course. And that’s one of the reasons why it took so much time for us to bring the Jimny. We have been exporting the three-door Jimny since January 2021, and so far, have already exported 30,000 units of the three-door version.

The second challenge was localisation. A lot of components are specialised, but the terrain is different from the others. Since the testing part had to be done thoroughly, it took a lot of effort. We have invested over Rs 900 crore on R&D. I think the product has come out very well and will do very well in the market.

Source:

Last edited by volkman10 : 22nd January 2023 at 20:42.
volkman10 is offline   (45) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 00:03   #367

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
-Jimny campaign will be largely digital, but going forward we will have to create that imagery because the emotive stuff in the stories is more to do with the videos. So, videos in digital as well as on television is something that we will do.
What does this really mean? The buyers who booked the Jimny and the prospective buyers can't see the Jimny physically and there won't be any test drives, just like what they did for the Grand Vitara?

We are not buying some cellphones of 15000 INR in flash sale on Amazon, Flipkart. It's a car and price will be perhaps 1-1.5 million INR OTR. We need to physically see it, sit inside, feel the ergonomics, get test drives and then buy the car.

We, Indian automobile buyers are only responsible for this type of mindset/ strategy by the car OEMs. We are participating in this madness.

Last edited by RijuC : 23rd January 2023 at 00:04.
RijuC is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 00:24   #368

Originally Posted by RijuC View Post
What does this really mean? The buyers who booked the Jimny and the prospective buyers can't see the Jimny physically and there won't be any test drives, just like what they did for the Grand Vitara?

We are not buying some cellphones of 15000 INR in flash sale on Amazon, Flipkart. It's a car and price will be perhaps 1-1.5 million INR OTR. We need to physically see it, sit inside, feel the ergonomics, get test drives and then buy the car.
I believe that it was said in context of advertising campaign.
Stolidus500 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 00:39   #369

Originally Posted by Stolidus500 View Post
I believe that it was said in context of advertising campaign.
I had a very bad experience in September 2022 for Grand Vitara. The NEXA dealership insisted I need to take that car without even seeing or taking any TD. The Grand Vitara was way above my budget when the price was revealed and I cancelled it. I can't buy a commodity like car with a price tag of 19 lakhs without sitting inside or having a test drive. I did send emails to the people who were in the escalation matrix. But MSIL never bothered to reply.

I was surprised to see someone's post that Maruti Suzuki regional sales office enquiring about their Jimny bookings.
RijuC is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 11:59   #370

Originally Posted by wacso View Post
sell anything With the name Jimny on It
samurai/gypsy
Lovely little vehicles.
Im just wondering how to manage to get hold of one.
Till then I’ve got these.
Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023-a8ccaa690221403ba3b7e3d157405197.jpeg  

Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023-0bb7fbb322724d1296b90ac662d34086.jpeg  

shankar.balan is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 12:07   #371

Lovely little vehicles.
Im just wondering how to manage to get hold of one.
Till then I’ve got these.
Lovely collection. Can you please share where you acquired them from. Green looks hot. Does this have openable door?

Looking at actual images of car shared earlier in Kinetic Yellow, 3 door looks like a much better proportionate option as a 2nd/3rd car. Might have been cheaper to whatever 5 door will be revealed for.
I still have reservations if Jimny can be the only car for masses, then why bother about stretching it

Last edited by saurabh041086 : 23rd January 2023 at 12:28.
Old 23rd January 2023, 12:19   #372

Originally Posted by saurabh041086 View Post
Lovely collection. Can you please share where you acquired them from. Green looks hot.
I still have reservations if Jimny can be the only car for masses, then why bother about stretching it
I regularly buy scale models on Amazon.com, Amazon.co.uk, ScaleArts.in, Tinytown.com,
Karzanddolls.com etc. I got these Jimnys on ScaleArts.

There are plenty more of these Jimnys that I have - been collecting them for a while now. All 3
Door.

Waiting for the toy/ scale model of the 5 Door one as well whenever it becomes available.

To your other point, cars like Thar and Jimny whether 3 door or 5 door, only suit a certain sub-set of consumers. By nature these are always going to be slightly niche products. The 5 door versions at best, is an attempt to widen the overall mass market appeal, but in all honesty these vehicles typically will become the second car in a garage. Only in the case of rural users who live in the hilly regions or undeveloped areas which may be prone to extreme weather conditions and the problems caused by such, can these vehicles become a possible ‘primary/ sole vehicle’ .

In India, considering our extreme price sensitivity, there will always be Altos and S Pressos and similar little Kei Marutis buzzing around the high hills. Over time, more and more people may consider switching to Thars and Jimnys but this will be more from the used market than brand new.

Typically the maximum purchases of these vehicles brand new will be in Urban India and/ or financially better-off areas like the Plantation districts in the hills.
shankar.balan is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 12:25   #373

Maruti Suzuki's Jimny clocks ~ 10000 bookings in 10 days.

Last edited by volkman10 : 23rd January 2023 at 12:26.
volkman10 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 12:29   #374

Originally Posted by gsferrari View Post
Can you share a link to this review please?
Here it is: Scroll down for the Instagram video.

https://www.zigwheels.com/news-featu...comfort/48560/
Nithesh_M is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 13:15   #375

Originally Posted by Nithesh_M View Post
Here it is: Scroll down for the Instagram video.

https://www.zigwheels.com/news-featu...comfort/48560/
Not too encouraging for the Instagram aspect ratio human beings like me. I am a good 3" shorter than the gentleman in this review so there is still some hope. I prefer to remain pessimistic in these scenarios.

If you are in that school/college/university age where chasing the opposite sex is the primary occupation, this approach will make you the god of handling rejection.
gsferrari is offline   (3) Thanks