Old 18th July 2007, 21:39   #16

Which Porsche buyer will prefer Evo to a Carrera? That too in a brand concious Indian market? wet dreams I must say.
Old 18th July 2007, 21:45   #17

"Riding high on the success of its existing models in India, Japan’s leading luxury car maker - Mitsubishi Motor Corporation ..."

This and a lot of other stories are meant to fill up space. I've got sick and tired of newspaper reports on potential launches. One classic example are reports of Honda's small car startegy .... "Honda is considering launching it's permier hatchback @$$^ by the end of this year" They have no clue about what's really going on till it's actually launched ..
Old 18th July 2007, 22:30   #18

if it is for 50 lacs then it will be a total waste....

It will much better option to import it instead and you can save there...
Old 18th July 2007, 22:37   #19

50 Lacs for a Evo?? Are they mad?

take half of it and reject the other half.
We need to reject this complete then.
Old 18th July 2007, 23:25   #20

Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
An EVO is 35K here. If its imported as a CKD, then the price should be more like 20-25lacs and definitely not 50. If its imported as a CBU then even after factoring in the 120% or so duty, it should not exceed 35 lacs. HM has to be completely crazy to even think of pricing the EVO at 50 lacs.
Montero is also priced at around 33K USD in US, however it sells for 34L ex showroom in India. That translates to about 40L on Road.

If we go by that logic, HM might price EVO to be around 35L as well. If they price it lower than that, then there would be questions around Montero's pricing.
Old 18th July 2007, 23:36   #21

The Journo who wrote the article needs to go and have his head examined.
Old 18th July 2007, 23:41   #22

^^The indian spec montero is fully loaded and close to 40K in the US.
Old 19th July 2007, 00:10   #23

Wake up Mitsubishi India... you dont have to be optimistic for selling an evo for 50lacs and pit it against a porsche... you have to be retarded! Try selling the cedia first heh.

I wonder if the reporter even had a credible source or just some over enthusiastic manager who was happy to give numbers from the back of his head.
Old 19th July 2007, 07:51   #24

Has anyone considered that talk is of paying Rs50 Lac for a Evo IX while the rest of the world is getting ready for Evo X.

Hell Evo IX second hand prices will plummet in value once the new X is released. It would be cheaper to pay duty and import a 2nd hand Evo IX

Is Mitsubishi going to pawn off another old model to India IF this story has any real truth behind it. At one point, Mitsubishi want to bring in the latest Outlander, but pass off an old Evo?
Old 19th July 2007, 08:17   #25

50 LAcs !!! Crazy, I guess the journalist did not have anything else to do in his/her life than making up stories. Evos are good cars but OK till 20 - 25 Lacs.
Old 19th July 2007, 11:04   #26

Originally Posted by Raja View Post
Has anyone considered that talk is of paying Rs50 Lac for a Evo IX while the rest of the world is getting ready for Evo X.
You don't understand the marketing geniuses of HM. When EVOX goes into production, HM will buy up the EVO IX assembly line for scrap and then make old cars and sell them at a premium. This is what they have been doing with Mitsu SUV's. They got Pajero lines for scrap price and the cars made are sold for $100,000!
Old 19th July 2007, 11:25   #27

Ahh... well another stellar example of the brilliance of Mitsu India & HM! Needless to say, I agree with Arush, you have to be seriously retarded to think that you can compete with Porsche's on price with the EVO.

Don't you guys think, they really, really need to rethink everything about their strategy in India? Because right now, it looks like they don't know Jack S**t about what they are doing!
Old 19th July 2007, 12:40   #28

I checked and am told, that they have done a survey, and that the decision is to bring it CBU at a base price of 27/28 lacs[on road 30/31 lacs], but does not seem economical, since the survey shows a sale possibility of only max 500 units a year!
Old 19th July 2007, 15:53   #29

Originally Posted by csentil View Post
I doubt even a die hard Evo fan (like me) would be it for 50 lakhs. 25 lakhs would be the price for it and that is a stretch.
i agree 50L looks too greedy when compared to the 'right price' they sell it at in developed markets. but 25L ??? a lousy camry goes for those prices (lousy in comparison with an evo - no offense to be taken please). 25L is just too low, and you get very ordinary cars here, don't you think?

Last edited by skandyhere : 19th July 2007 at 15:54. Reason: sensibilities
Old 20th July 2007, 04:57   #30

oh ya.. i saw the 50L too in the paper.. well must be a typo error.. how much does the AUDI TT cost? i guess it's less than 50L!